SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV EPG Service (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   How do you map QAM channels to the program guide? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31792)

cineburk 03-26-2008 10:27 AM

How do you map QAM channels to the program guide?
 
I finally got setup with my Hauppage 1800, and the analog channels are looking great.

I've scanned and found my QAM channels, and have them listed with a different channel listing in the guide. But I can't figure out how to make the channels appear with the program information.

For example, I see that ABC is 94-1, but I can't get 94-1 to appear as channel 7 (my analog ABC), or get the ABC program guide info to appear for channel 94-1.

I've tried the three different "mapping" options, but nothing seems to work.

Is there an easy way to do this?

Djc208 03-26-2008 10:41 AM

First you want to map the QAM channels to their digital equivalent through your cable company. That way the shows will more likely be properly HD tagged (Sage will try to record the HD version before the SD). The PDF manual explains this, that's a good way to start as it is kind of confusing. I don't remember the specifics as it's been a while since I had to do it.

There's basically two ways to do this in Sage:
One maps the program guide info to the existing channel number. It will show up as 94-1 but all the data will be from 7 (or whatever the digital number is).

The second is to map the physical channel to the data, so 94-1 will display as the digital channel number with it's program info.

I've done both and I don't know if there's a benefit to either method.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.