SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Issues with IR blaster and DirecTV Receiver (D10-200)... help! (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16922)

01blacksnake 03-21-2006 12:03 PM

Issues with IR blaster and DirecTV Receiver (D10-200)... help!
 
I've set things up according to this thread/post:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...0&postcount=10

The problem is that, even though I've had the computer learn the codes for 0-9, the success rate isn't very good.

Sometimes a channel change command of 504 will be sucessfull, other times it will not.

Either the first, second or third number will not register one time, and will be okay the next. I've tried to play with the delay and that hasn't helped.

I'm wondering if the length in HIP has anything to do with it, or if there's something else going on. Would it be better to import codes from a CCF file?

I've got WinXP Pro SP2, MCE Transceiver/IR blaster, and am using SageTV 4.0.

Thanks for the insight.

mike1961 03-21-2006 01:14 PM

Hello - to start, take my advice - go serial if you can and forget the IR. I have four D10-100 direct TV boxes (which are similar to the 10-200. Serial is easier to set up, faster and far more reliable. I have not had a problem changing channels yet. It's so much more reliable. Also, I figured that since I have four 10-100 boxes right next to each other on my file server, I didn't want to have to "shield off" each box from IR interference when changing channels. The serial cable is so easy to use (and make) and works like a charm. I posted a diagram on another thread how I created the cable. It's really easy. You can either buy an adapter or just make your own cable by getting a db9 female RS232 cable (for around $3-5) and then just get an RJ22 jack (they sell about 10 of them for a buck). Then just run 3 of the wires to the RJ 22 and you'll need a crimper and probably a multimeter. If you don't want to build your own cable you can get an adapter.

If I had a good diagram when I was doing this a few weeks back, I would not have wasted so much time trying to figure out how to build the cable.

Here's my diagram:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...0&d=1141627126

Here's the thread (edited):

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...ighlight=cable

The only caveat is that I know for a fact that it works with the D10-100. I'm pretty sure it will work with the other D10's. You just plug the RJ22 in the back of the box where it says "Low Speed Data Port" or Home or something like that. Go serial and you'll never want to do IR again.

Mike

01blacksnake 03-21-2006 02:29 PM

Thanks for the info! I might just do that, then.

Now, Is there a write up somewhere as to how to setup SageTV to use this to change the channel?

mike1961 03-21-2006 04:14 PM

It's easy - when you add the source it asks you how you want to set up the STB and you just select DirectTVSerial (or something like that) and then select the com port.

Mike


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.