SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   I Love SageTV (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47719)

bialio 04-07-2010 11:56 AM

I Love SageTV
 
I was looking at my recordings schedule for Tuesday primetime, and it reminded me why I love SageTV so much.

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/h...yrecording.jpg

razrsharpe 04-07-2010 01:25 PM

i just got all confused and was like Glee didn't record last nite... and then i was like..... mmm wait that's next week :D

mayamaniac 04-07-2010 04:48 PM

That's a lot of tuners.

Is there a reason why SageTV uses the HD-PVR to record American Idol and Glee instead of using the free HDHR? Seems it would better to get the ATSC version since its slightly better quality.

bialio 04-07-2010 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mayamaniac (Post 416532)
That's a lot of tuners.

Is there a reason why SageTV uses the HD-PVR to record American Idol and Glee instead of using the free HDHR? Seems it would better to get the ATSC version since its slightly better quality.

There is indeed a reason - somehow Sage has lost the ability to consistently tune into FOX on the HDHR - in QAM channels it's 107-2 here in Dallas, but when Sage tries to tune there it ends up on 107-4 more often than not - which is Universal Sports NBC....

So I have it disabled on the HDHR for now until that's straightened out.

Fuzzy 04-07-2010 11:28 PM

I also saw problems, specifically with universal sports, instead intercepting NBC her ein teh LA area. not sure where the problem lies, but there's got to be SOMETHING that is causing it. Regardless, I finally got around to swapping out my now useless UHF antenna for a $25 VHF/UHF one, and have put my HDHomeRun back on pure, clean OTA... it is sooo much smoother than QAM.. tuning is faster, quality is better, and it is definately a more reliable signal than the too hot then too cold signal I was getting from Charter.

freedml 04-12-2010 09:36 AM

now you just need enough time to watch everything you're recording ;)

bialio 02-25-2011 05:29 PM

I Still Love SageTV
 
When I started this thread, it was because of an awesome recording schedule where I had 6 or 7 tuners scheduled one night. That was cool.

I recently "had" (read that wanted to) upgrade some of the components on my Server - and I'm getting old(er) and pulling the computer after everyone has gone to bed and burning the midnight oil just isn't appealing anymore. SO:

1) Install SageTV Server on a spare PC
2) Point new server at my HDHomerun tuners
3) Schedule manual recordings for everything that was going to record that night.
- up to this point it's about 15 minutes of my time -
4) Took the main Server down at about 4:00 in the afternoon - got to leisurely upgrade the various components. The house still had basic TV service (the extenders found the temp server just fine) and I didn't miss any recordings.
5) That night, around midnight, everything was done. Put the main server back into service.

I Love SageTV.

btl.

freedml 02-25-2011 06:58 PM

If you were able to integrate the recordings from the temporary server into the main server, how did you do it?

Fuzzy 02-26-2011 11:08 AM

Should be able to just copy them over. Sage7 keeps the metadata in the file now, and should integrate it upon import.

bialio 02-26-2011 11:31 AM

Yep, all that was required was putting the recordings in a path that the served is aware of , recording or import, and after the next library scan they were there. They get archived by default when this happens.

btl.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.