SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Customizations (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Plugin: PlayOn in Online Services (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon VOD, etc.) (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44446)

evilpenguin 09-27-2009 07:13 PM

Plugin: PlayOn in Online Services (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon VOD, etc.)
 
5 Attachment(s)
I'm having Andy lock down this thread in favor of the v7 version. Please don't repost old issues in new thread, i'm aware of them and i'll get to them when I have the time.


Description

This plug-in takes the videos that PlayOn makes available over UPnP (Hulu, Netflix, etc.) and lets you view them from within Sage's Online Services on a PC or Extender.


Known Issues:
  • @SageTV - TV shows aren't working via Netflix.. Handling this will require the ability to specify dynamic sub folders from within the podcast feed. Feature request has already been submitted and Sage sees the benefit, but its not trivial to implements so it'll prolly be a while for this one.
  • @SageTV - Sometimes .flv's in %TEMP% aren't getting deleted. This occurs when you power down your extender while watching any progressively downloading online services video. Bug has already been submitted to Sage and it'll probably be fixed in the next beta cycle. If you've got a small OS drive and this is a huge problem, see this post for a workaround.
  • @SageTV - Special characters (',/&) sometimes aren't being displayed properly. While UPnP2Podcast is outputting UTF-8 properly, its getting lost when Sage writes the info file back to the tempFeed.xml. I'll ask Sage about this when they get a chance to look at the dynamic subcategories issue.
  • @SageTV - Timebar doesn't advance when playing back the videos. Bug has been submitted to Sage and they say its an easy fix so we'll probably see it in the next beta cycle.

Requirements:
Installation:
  1. From detailed settings (Detailed Setup -> Advanced -> Check for STV Update), update yourself to the lastest default STV (2009120901 or later). The updates don't all install at once so you may need to do this 5+ times.
  2. Download the plug-in and unzip it into "C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV"
  3. DONE! Navigate to the Online Services menu and start enjoying your new content!

Release History
Troubleshooting:
  • Don't see any of the new menus (Hulu, Netflix, ABC, NBC, etc.) - Either your STV isn't fully updated or the feed files are in the wrong folder.
  • When you select a show (ABC->Better Off Ted) it finds no episodes - The most likely cause of this is my tool being unable to communicate with PlayON. First, check to see if the PlayON Service is started, then try disabling firewalls to see if that helps. If neither of those work, please post UPnP2Podcast.log on this thread and I can take a look.
  • When you select a video it goes to a blank screen - Try just pressing play, sometimes videos (especially hulu) just start paused.

Once you've double checked that you followed all of the install steps correctly, check out the 2nd post for debugging information.

64-Bit Windows Users:

First of all, why the hell are you using a 64-bit OS? Secondly, you'll run into some problems with Netflix by default. See this post for the fix.

Non-US Users:

Some services like Hulu and Netflix either don't work or have limited functionality from outside of the US. I have no expereince with this myself, but this post recommends a good , non-free, VPN service that can use to get around that.

WHS Users:

From PlayON FAQ:
Quote:

PlayOn for Windows Home Server and Windows Server 2003
PlayOn generally works great on WHS and Windows Server 2003. You may, however, need to disable "Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration". See below for specific instructions.
Disabling "Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration"

1. Click Start > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs.
2. Click Add/Remove Windows Components.
3. After a few seconds a window will pop-up. Click the check mark next to Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration (to make it unchecked). If you'd like to only disable it for Administrators or only for Users you can click Details and do so.
4. Press Next, let it finish, and it's complete. Verify that it's disabled by opening Internet Explorer. You should see a message: "Caution: Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration is not enabled".
Warnings, Known Issues, Misc.:
  • A few people have found that they are missing a few .dll files required for PlayOn. If nothing is working for you check this post.
  • Amazon VOD requires that you first play a video through IE on the PlayON server.
  • Simonen found a nice UPnP server file browser you can use to explore whats available in PlayOn.

Bug List:
  • @SageTV - Sometimes .flv's in %TEMP% aren't getting deleted. This occurs when you power down your extender while watching any progressively downloading online services video. Bug has already been submitted to Sage and it'll probably be fixed in the next beta cycle. If you've got a small OS drive and this is a huge problem, see this post for a workaround.
  • @SageTV - TV shows aren't working via Netflix.. Handling this will require the ability to specify dynamic sub folders from within the podcast feed. Feature request has already been submitted and Sage sees the benefit, but its not trivial to implements so it'll prolly be a while for this one.
  • @SageTV - Special characters (',/&) sometimes aren't being displayed properly. While UPnP2Podcast is outputting UTF-8 properly, its getting lost when Sage writes the info file back to the tempFeed.xml. I'll ask Sage about this when they get a chance to look at the dynamic subcategories issue.
  • @SageTV - Timebar doesn't advance when playing back the videos. Bug has been submitted to Sage and they say its an easy fix so we'll probably see it in the next beta cycle.

Compiling Perl Scripts: (Devs only)
All my code comes pre-compiled and ready to rock, but if you feel the urge to tinker with it yourself, compiling perl scripts into standalone executables is easily accomplished using PAR::Packer.

LINUX: (Tested using Ubuntu 9.10 in VMware Player)
From a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.10 open a terminal and run these commands...
Code:

>sudo apt-get libperl-dev
>sudo apt-get subversion
>sudo CPAN PAR:Packer
>sudo CPAN MD5
>sudo CPAN SKONNO/Net-UPnP-1.4.2.tar.gz
>svn checkout http://upnp2podcast.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ upnp2podcast-read-only
>sudo cp -r ./upnp2podcast/upnp2podcast/UPNP.pm/* /usr/local/share/perl/5.10.0/Net/.
>./upnp2podcast/upnp2podcast/build_OUTs.pl ./upnp2podcast/upnp2podcast/UPnP2Podcast.pl

Windows:
  1. Download and install ActivePerl 5.10.
  2. Open Perl Package Manager
  3. Add Bribes repository
  4. Find PAR-Packer and install
  5. Open a Command Prompt and run this command...
    Code:

    pp -c -M PerlIO.pm -o ./script.exe ./script.pl
Screenshots:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...1&d=1254099477

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...1&d=1254100176

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...1&d=1254099477

evilpenguin 09-27-2009 07:13 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Debugging Issues:

Symptom #1: No videos are appearing when you select a menu item.
  1. Try navigating to ABC->Lost, let it try and generate the video list.
  2. Look in ...\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\OnlineVideos\ and see if there is a file named tempFeed.xml
  3. Open up tempFeed.xml and check to see if there are any <item></item> tags that contain long URL's to .mpg files.
    Code:

        <item>
          <title>Apollo, Apollo</title>
          <description>Season 3 Episode 16 - With Jack's 50th birthday looming, he questions his happiness. Liz's ex-boyfriend Dennis "The Beeper King" decides to come clean to Liz about an addiction, stirring up drama between Liz and Jenna.</description>
          <pubDate>2009-03-26</pubDate>
          <itunes:subtitle>Season 3 Episode 16 - With Jack's 50th birthday looming, he questions his happiness. Liz's ex-boyfriend Dennis "The Beeper King" decides to come clean to Liz about an addiction, stirring up drama between Liz and Jenna.</itunes:subtitle>
          <itunes:duration>0:21:32</itunes:duration>
          <enclosure url="http://10.0.1.2:63478/hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7/1-hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7.mpg" length="991408000" type="video/mpeg2" />
          <media:content duration="1292" medium="video" fileSize="991408000" url="http://10.0.1.2:63478/hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7/1-hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7.mpg" type="video/mpeg2">
          <media:title>Apollo, Apollo</media:title>
            <media:description>Season 3 Episode 16 - With Jack's 50th birthday looming, he questions his happiness. Liz's ex-boyfriend Dennis "The Beeper King" decides to come clean to Liz about an addiction, stirring up drama between Liz and Jenna.</media:description>
            <media:thumbnail url="http://10.0.1.2:63478/hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7/1-hulu-43cc0389-bb62-4fd2-afc4-c2345f1141b7.mpg?albumArt=true"/>
          </media:content>
        </item>

  • If no tempFeed.xml file exists then it probably means the import wasn't successful. First of all, make sure you extracted the installer zip to the correct folder (Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\). Then revert back to a clean SageTV3.xml and apply all of the available STV updates and then try importing again. Once you've done that redo this test.
  • If tempFeed.xml exists but is an empty file or contains no <item></item> tags please move onto Symptom #2.
Symptom #2: tempFeed.xml is an empty file or contains no items.
  1. Open up a command prompt
  2. Navigate to "C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV"
  3. Run this exact command...
    Code:

    UPnP2Podcast.exe "PlayOn:Hulu:+2" debug
  • If the output looks like this then you're able to connect/navigate the PlayON server from that machine. Therefore your tempFeed.xml should be getting made correctly. Please verify that you're using the most recent version of PlayOn.
  • If it hangs or fails to find the "UPnP Device" move onto Symptom #3.
Symptom #3: UPnP2Podcast fails to connect to the PlayOn server
  1. Open Up you're playOn Settings and verify that the server is currently running.
  2. Open up the windows firewall settings and completely disable it.
  3. Shut down any anti-virus software you may have.
  4. Re-run the test from Symptom #2.
  • If it succeeds this time then the problem is either with your Firewall or Anti-Virus. Check the PlayOn forums for information about how to set those up properly for PlayON.
  • If it still doesn't work... well, i'm not sure yet :)
Symptom #4: Can see the videos but they fail when you try to play them back
  1. Try navigating to ABC->Lost, let it generate the video list.
  2. Look in ...\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\OnlineVideos\ and and open tempFeed.xml.
  3. Copy one of the long .mpg links and attempt to open it in a web browser.

Same PC as the PlayON Server
  • If it still doesn't work please verify that you have the latest version of PlayOn installed and also try installing Windows Media Player 11.

Extender or Different PC than PlayOn server
  • Verify that you have the latest version of PlayOn installed and also try installing Windows Media Player 11 on the PlayOn server machine.
  • Turn off the Firewall on both the PlayOn server and, if applicable, the client PC.
  • Try playing back the video again.

LehighBri 09-27-2009 07:29 PM

Amazing amazing job. And I love how you pre-populated the custom properties files with most of the useful content that could be played via PlayOn. People are going to love this plugin... especially since all of this content is playable on extenders!

Slipshod 09-27-2009 07:34 PM

Have you seen this chicken? He rocks.

matt91 09-27-2009 07:43 PM

thanks for the work EP. How come this won't work in SageMC? I thought it just reverted to the stock STV for the online services?

Matt

evilpenguin 09-27-2009 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt91 (Post 383107)
thanks for the work EP. How come this won't work in SageMC? I thought it just reverted to the stock STV for the online services?

Matt

It does, but it reverts directly to SageTV3.xml which doesn't have any imports applied to it.

SageMC Users:
  1. Follow the instructions and get the plug-in working in the default STV
  2. Figure out what the name of the modified default STV you're using is (check the SageTV Settings->Advanced).
  3. On the server, copy the modified STV file, and overwrite SageTV3.xml with it.
  4. Load up SageMC again, and everything should work.

ybrew 09-27-2009 08:11 PM

Awesome.

Thank you very much!

Mitch G 09-27-2009 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 383108)
It does, but it reverts directly to SageTV3.xml which doesn't have any imports applied to it.

... now that I think about it, a quick work around would be to load SageTV3.xml on the SageTV Server, import the STVi, open up Studio, and then save it as SageTV3.xml. That would work :goodjob:

I actually run the standard Sage interface on my server and only run SageMC on my extenders.
Does that mean if I just go and install this add-on on my server, everything will work just fine?


Mitch

Zippster 09-27-2009 08:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mitch G (Post 383113)
I actually run the standard Sage interface on my server and only run SageMC on my extenders.
Does that mean if I just go and install this add-on on my server, everything will work just fine?


Mitch

I do the same, I just installed this without doing the load and save method as described for extenders, all EP's menus etc are there, just "no videos found" when I click on something. :confused:

evilpenguin 09-27-2009 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mitch G (Post 383113)
I actually run the standard Sage interface on my server and only run SageMC on my extenders.
Does that mean if I just go and install this add-on on my server, everything will work just fine?


Mitch

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zippster (Post 383117)
I do the same, I just installed this without doing the load and save method as described for extenders, all EP's menus etc are there, just "no videos found" when I click on something. :confused:

You need to overwrite SageTV3.xml file with a version that contains the import. I've updated the first post with instructions.

Zippster 09-27-2009 09:17 PM

Yes sir, I overwrote it now and videos are there. Will play with it some more tonight and see how it all goes.

Great work and Thanks! :thumb:

wado1971 09-27-2009 09:20 PM

Lets recap

9-21-09 "Need help testing something for playon"

9-27-09 - Penguin delivers two of the most desired contents to SageTV in one very nice looking stvi.

Great job!

shardinite 09-27-2009 10:45 PM

EP, is it wrong I luv you? :p

Nick_W 09-28-2009 12:29 AM

I'm soooooo jealous.

UK User :(

jaminben 09-28-2009 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick_W (Post 383132)
I'm soooooo jealous.

UK User :(

Yep, I'm with you Nick.....

:(

tmiranda 09-28-2009 05:26 AM

EP - If you ever need a place to live I have an extra bedroom and place at the dinner table.

gplasky 09-28-2009 07:11 AM

Good work and nice job. I threw this on in 5 minutes before leaving for work this morning and it just worked for the default STV. Just simply amazing. Thanks for this.

Gerry

razrsharpe 09-28-2009 07:18 AM

man... looks like im going to have buy a PlayOn license now :) looks good EP, thanks :)

gibsonpa 09-28-2009 07:21 AM

Just to be sure I am clear....

This 1 plug-in eliminates the need to have upnp2podcast.exe run periodically and put XML files on a webserver for the CustomOnline property files to reference. I have that working very well...but want to be sure I understand this plug-in correctly.

Mitch G 09-28-2009 07:27 AM

Correct.
Plus it creates feeds for things other than just your queues (e.g. newly added movies in Hulu, or a list of all movies in Netfilx watch instantly).


Mitch

PLUCKYHD 09-28-2009 07:46 AM

I bow to your greatness...

As my old buddy Garth and Wayne would say

We're not worthy,We're not worthy!!! :nod: :nod:

:thumb:

Taddeusz 09-28-2009 07:54 AM

This rocks! Thank you very much EP! Now I only need one web server running on my machine.

Brent 09-28-2009 07:54 AM

Awesome work! I'm now using this in SageMC and have tested it on my HD200s and client PCs and it works great.


One tiny little spelling mistake I noticed under Movie Trailers - the title is spelled "tailers" instead of Trailers. But everything looks and works great.

mattdcknsn 09-28-2009 08:20 AM

Just curious, would there be any problems running this on the HD-100? Not sure how many people still use this, but THANKS if I can get it to work it will be great.

Brent 09-28-2009 08:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mattdcknsn (Post 383164)
Just curious, would there be any problems running this on the HD-100? Not sure how many people still use this, but THANKS if I can get it to work it will be great.

Try it and report back - Its my understanding that it works just fine on the HD100. Someone even posted that it works (albeit slowly) on the old MediaMVP!

mattdcknsn 09-28-2009 08:42 AM

I was planning on it tonight, but I just wanted to know if I was wasting my time. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brent (Post 383169)
Try it and report back - Its my understanding that it works just fine on the HD100. Someone even posted that it works (albeit slowly) on the old MediaMVP!


pjpjpjpj 09-28-2009 08:45 AM

Very excited to try this. I suspect that PlayOn will suddenly see a large spike in their sales. They ought to send SageTV, and all the developers involved in this plug-in, some nice fruit baskets. ;)

One question –does PlayOn tax your server much to have it and SageTV running simultaneously? More specifically, will it cause issues with those of us running old dinosaur servers and only watching on HD extenders?

My server has enough beef to play SD video via SageTV (but not HD), so it obviously can encode SD while still running Sage. But I’m wondering if PlayOn has any extra requirements (processor speed and RAM) beyond SageTV’s player, that will strain my old machine.

Beefcake550 09-28-2009 08:46 AM

Can't wait to try this out tonight!

Great Work!

Brent 09-28-2009 08:49 AM

PlayOn Miminum Requirement
It is transcoding so I'd consider those minimums bare-min.

FYI: there's a $10 off offer for PlayOn through 9/30 so download your trial today or tomorrow and buy by 9/30 if you're interested.

bialio 09-28-2009 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brent (Post 383169)
Try it and report back - Its my understanding that it works just fine on the HD100. Someone even posted that it works (albeit slowly) on the old MediaMVP!

I have used the original / complex method on my HD100 with out any issues - works great there.

btl.

bialio 09-28-2009 09:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj (Post 383171)
Very excited to try this. I suspect that PlayOn will suddenly see a large spike in their sales. They ought to send SageTV, and all the developers involved in this plug-in, some nice fruit baskets. ;)

One question –does PlayOn tax your server much to have it and SageTV running simultaneously? More specifically, will it cause issues with those of us running old dinosaur servers and only watching on HD extenders?

My server has enough beef to play SD video via SageTV (but not HD), so it obviously can encode SD while still running Sage. But I’m wondering if PlayOn has any extra requirements (processor speed and RAM) beyond SageTV’s player, that will strain my old machine.

It does suck down more than a little CPU power.

On what is now my playon server, I'm running an E6850 C2D 3.0 Ghz at stock speed, with 4.0 GB mem. With playon transcoding it hits about 55% This is split out at 80% on one core, and the other core hovers around 30%. I'm assuming Playon does the transcode on a single core.

Personal preference applies here, but I'd not feel comfortable with this on the Sage Server unless I had a Quad core there......

btl.

matt91 09-28-2009 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bialio (Post 383175)
I have used the original / complex method on my HD100 with out any issues - works great there.

btl.

And I only have a MVP in the basement where my server lives - works great there too (both using simonen's method & EP's new plugin).

corwiniii 09-28-2009 09:04 AM

Wow - this is awesome! I've been waiting for this for a long time. I will try tonight to get this working on my HD100. Seeing the recent progress I went ahead and bought a playon license for $19.99 when that coupon was still valid in anticipation it might be quickly resolved. Thanks to all who contributed to make it happen!

matt91 09-28-2009 09:10 AM

My wife was happy to have Hulu (more so since her friend, who *really* loves Hulu, has to watch it on her little 15" laptop screen). However, she wasn't thrilled about having to run the little batch file to update the queue links if she changed something.

And, again, thanks simonen & EP for getting the process initial process running and to EP to getting it integrated into Sage.

I'm at work, so I can't test it, but does the order of the items in this property determine their display order on the screen?
Code:

{From the file CustomOnlineVideoLinks.properties}

CustomSources=xPodcastAmazonVOD,xPodcastESPN,xPodcastCNN,xPodcastMovies,
xPodcastNBCTVShows,xPodcastABCTVShows,xPodcastFoxTVShows,xPodcastUSATVShows,
xPodcastComCenTVShows,xPodcastAnimeTVShows,xPodcastCBSTVShows,xPodcastHulu

I'd like to reorder the list a bit.

Zippster 09-28-2009 09:48 AM

Working on my HD100 no problems, cant wait to tweak it and customize some of the links and add some more Playon plugins.

As far as CPU....yes playon does eat it up, my server is a dual opteron 2.0 and uses up 59% for one instance running.

HuMan321 09-28-2009 09:54 AM

Will this work if Playon is installed on another PC than the Sage Server?

If so, where are the settings to point it there?
Thanks,

nyplayer 09-28-2009 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HuMan321 (Post 383192)
Will this work if Playon is installed on another PC than the Sage Server?

If so, where are the settings to point it there?
Thanks,

I have playon running on a another PC other than the Sage Server and it works perfectly no need to change any settings.

Mitch G 09-28-2009 09:57 AM

FWIW, I'm running this with HD100s networked over gig-E (well one of them is using a MOCA box) to my server where sage server, playon server and squeezecenter are all running.
This is a Core2duo processor running at 1.8GHz (iirc - I built it about a year and a half ago so I'm not sure).
It works (mostly) fine.

Hulu is fine. Absolutely no problems.

Netflix, though, shows jerky playback on some movies. For example, Bottle Rocket has this just discernible jerkiness in the playback which is annoying while Unforgiven doesn't.
I'm running with the transcoding setting set to auto and so will try some of the other settings.


Mitch

wrems 09-28-2009 10:05 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I have tried to set this up and have run into some glitches, hopefully someone can help me:D

Currently, I have upgraded to the latest default STV, as per the instructions above. I also installed the most recent version of PlayOn and setup my user information for Netflix and Hulu. I downloaded, unzipped and then imported UPnP2Podcast.

This is where I begin to have problems. When I go to my online services menu (Iím in the default STV not SageMC) and try to launch any of the Netflix or Hulu content I get errors. Both Netlflix and Hulu queues are being displayed properly from within Sage. It is when I go play them I run into issues.

Attached are the screen caps/errors I receive when trying to play from either queue.

Any ideas of how I can get this to work properly? What am I doing wrong?

HuMan321 09-28-2009 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wrems (Post 383196)
I have tried to set this up and have run into some glitches, hopefully someone can help me:D

Currently, I have upgraded to the latest default STV, as per the instructions above. I also installed the most recent version of PlayOn and setup my user information for Netflix and Hulu. I downloaded, unzipped and then imported UPnP2Podcast.

This is where I begin to have problems. When I go to my online services menu (Iím in the default STV not SageMC) and try to launch any of the Netflix or Hulu content I get errors. Both Netlflix and Hulu queues are being displayed properly from within Sage. It is when I go play them I run into issues.

Attached are the screen caps/errors I receive when trying to play from either queue.

Any ideas of how I can get this to work properly? What am I doing wrong?

On your hulu error try the suggestion from Matt on the Playon machine. This stopped me cold until I got the proper dll file loaded.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...t=44382&page=5


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.