SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Australia/New Zealand (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   DVB-T what tuners to use in NZ (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56504)

sandyj 07-15-2011 05:23 AM

DVB-T what tuners to use in NZ
 
I am wondering what tuners people are using that works with sagetv v7.19 can they please list what version OS, 64bit or 32bit and if running multiple tuners. Only interested in what works in New Zealand and is reliable especially now we don't have any support from sage.
I would like to run up to 4 HD tuners in the same system currently running 4 firedtv DVB-S boxes which run without any issue but they have just start broadcasting the DVB-T standard in my area.

JREkiwi 07-15-2011 02:32 PM

I'm running multiple Hauppauge HVR-2200/2210, same card with different external inputs. 2 tuners per PCIe card. I know people using them on XP, Vista, Win7(32).

They have drivers for Win7(64) but I personally don't know anyone using that, although the next time I do anything OS wise on my system I'll be going to Win7(64)

Hope that helps

John

sandyj 07-16-2011 12:21 AM

Thanks John good to know what works here in NZ

DylanHall 07-17-2011 02:46 PM

I'm using a Hauppauge Nova-TD-500 dual DVB-T receiver (http://nicegear.co.nz/dvb-cards/haup...tv-nova-t-500/)

I've also used an ASUS USB My Cinema stick.

The Hauppauge works very well :)

The ASUS also works well but has the problem that the weight of the aerial cable tends to pull it out of the USB socket. I ended up buying two ASUS sticks and a USB hub, then cable tying the whole lot to a lump of wood to keep it in place.

It may be worth noting that I've only used the above with Linux so I'm not sure about the quality of their windows drivers.

Dylan

sandyj 07-18-2011 04:31 AM

Looks like Hauppauge cards seem to work pretty well I will order some in and check them out will let you know what I find. The dual cards look interesting I also saw there was a dual USB tuner as well not sure if anyone has tried them. I will check the compatibility list before doing anything but the different versions of sage sometimes break this.

Do different cards affect the time it takes to tune in the station I notice that none of the satellite tuners seem to change channel as fast as the TV does is there anyway around that.

DylanHall 07-19-2011 06:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sandyj (Post 509411)
Do different cards affect the time it takes to tune in the station I notice that none of the satellite tuners seem to change channel as fast as the TV does is there anyway around that.

The two types of card I've used had similar tuning times. The problem I had was if playback started too soon after tuning a channel I found it would stutter a couple times during the first couple minutes after tuning the channel. I ended up changing a setting on my HD200/300's so they would wait 3 seconds before playing anything. This fixed the stuttering but made the channel change speed pretty terrible.

sandyj 07-20-2011 03:27 AM

channel changes speed
 
Yes just what I thought just good to see it's the same for others just in case it was something I was doing or not doing.

pdessart 07-20-2011 04:21 PM

I've been very happy with a pair of HD-Homeruns under SageTV v6. Haven't upgraded to v7 yet, but I've heard of no problems with the HDHR under v7. They saved my bacon when I found that my PC was overheating in my TV cabinet. I moved the computer into my garage (no antenna feed there) and just left the HDHRs where they were. BTW, I have tried various USB tuners and had problems, but the HDHRs just plug in and work.

sandyj 07-24-2011 02:50 AM

Does sage control these over the network ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdessart (Post 509824)
I've been very happy with a pair of HD-Homeruns under SageTV v6. Haven't upgraded to v7 yet, but I've heard of no problems with the HDHR under v7. They saved my bacon when I found that my PC was overheating in my TV cabinet. I moved the computer into my garage (no antenna feed there) and just left the HDHRs where they were. BTW, I have tried various USB tuners and had problems, but the HDHRs just plug in and work.


sandyj 08-31-2012 06:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdessart (Post 509824)
I've been very happy with a pair of HD-Homeruns under SageTV v6. Haven't upgraded to v7 yet, but I've heard of no problems with the HDHR under v7. They saved my bacon when I found that my PC was overheating in my TV cabinet. I moved the computer into my garage (no antenna feed there) and just left the HDHRs where they were. BTW, I have tried various USB tuners and had problems, but the HDHRs just plug in and work.

Just bought some HDHomeruns duals and am running them under windows 7 64 bit for the server just thought I would post this in case others were wandering what to use. I have 2 units giving me a total of 4 tuners I have not had any issues using them. Thanks pdessart for suggesting using these as I had not heard of this company before.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.