SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Two problems since V6.0.19 upgrade (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22405)

Falcon64 12-30-2006 11:19 AM

Two problems since V6.0.19 upgrade
 
2 Attachment(s)
Upgraded from v4 earlier this week. Since then, I've got two problems. First, when watching live video on an AverMedia 180 or any shows recorded with this card in the earlier Sage version, display has artifacts as seen in Sage1.jpg.

Second, I have a widescreen display that is frequently rotated so that the resolution is 1200x1920. In v4, the content was displayed normally just as it was when the monitor was at 1920x1200. Since the upgrade, the Sage windows rotates appears normal, and the content is in the proper orientation (people rightside up), but the aspect ratio is 9x16, not 16x9. Changing the aspect ratio setting does not correct this. You can see what I'm referring to in Sage2.jpg.

I've got an nVidia 6600Gt, 93.71 drivers, latest purevideo installed, not sure what else might be relevant to hopefully figure this out.

Thanks,
Henry

Falcon64 01-05-2007 08:41 PM

Still no luck from support, what a bummer. No acknowledgment of the artifact issue I'm having, and I was told when I change the aspect ratio of my display by rotating it, I have to update the SageTV config as it doesn't know the aspect ratio has changed. I know of no place in Sage setup that has anything to do with monitor resolution, and when I asked for more clarification on how to do what they told me, the reply was "I'm not really sure, that's what the developer who looked into this said."

With version 4 and 5, if I set 16x9 it displayed the content 16x9 no matter what the monitor resolution was. Also not problem with artifacts in previous versions.

Any ideas?

ke6guj 01-05-2007 08:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Falcon64
I know of no place in Sage setup that has anything to do with monitor resolution, and when I asked for more clarification on how to do what they told me, the reply was "I'm not really sure, that's what the developer who looked into this said."

In the Stock Sage user interface for V6, you go to Setup>Multimedia>Display Aspect Ratio Settings. There you can pick one of the default settings or else use left/right to adjust the circle to be round.

Were you changing that, or adjusting the Aspect Ratio Settings that control each Aspect Ratio Mode?

GKusnick 01-05-2007 08:54 PM

However since there is no built-in option for 9x16, you'll probably need to edit the videoframe/display_aspect_ratio property in your properties file.

ke6guj 01-05-2007 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GKusnick
However since there is no built-in option for 9x16, you'll probably need to edit the videoframe/display_aspect_ratio property in your properties file.

You could edit the .properties file and set videoframe/display_aspect_ratio=.563 with Sage shut down for a 9x16 monitor. But with the ability to manually adjust the circle to be round, he should not need to specify the property in the .properties file. Just shrink it down til its round, shoud end up around .563 for a 9x16 monitor.

GKusnick 01-05-2007 09:07 PM

You're right; I forgot that you can tweak the circle directly.

Never mind.

Falcon64 01-05-2007 09:31 PM

Thank you
 
Thanks, that must have been what they were talking about. So I can now manually force the new version to do what the previous versions did automatically.

Is there a setting in the properties file that would force Sage to disregard monitor resolution? I rarely view at full screen, typically I use a 16x9 ratio window.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.