SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Clients Development (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Fork of SageTV MiniClient for Android TV (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66405)

sic0048 06-06-2022 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tvmaster2 (Post 634153)
Time to look for alternatives next vacation :)

It's certainly not the cheapest solution out there, but I don't think you can go wrong with the Nvidia Shield TV. It is a lot more powerful than any of the "stick" streamers and it is really easy to add other programs like a VPN client which can make accessing your home easier.

egeller 06-18-2022 11:25 AM

Java 11 related I think
 
2 Attachment(s)
Since the JDK and Docker update for Java 11, related to fixing IMDB, I am seeing some apparent font corruption problem in certain parts of the UI. This is only on the mini-client on FireTV. There is no problem on the HDx000 client or the windows client. I run two servers and am seeing the problem on both servers in the Edit Metadata screen. On one server, I am seeing a problem in the Malore recording. Strangely, I do not see it on the other server.

I am running Java 11. I have stopped SageTV, deleted the files in the fontcache directory and restarted. That did not work.

On the Edit Metadata screen the right half of the screen has font corruption.

On the Malore Recording screen (not sure what else to call it) the top line, in yellow, with the recording title, is messed up.

Any thoughts or advice of what else I can try?

Apologies for the wonky look of the photos. I did not know how else to capture the screen and my TV is one of those curved ones.

jusjoken 06-18-2022 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by egeller (Post 634221)
Since the JDK and Docker update for Java 11, related to fixing IMDB, I am seeing some apparent font corruption problem in certain parts of the UI. This is only on the mini-client on FireTV. There is no problem on the HDx000 client or the windows client. I run two servers and am seeing the problem on both servers in the Edit Metadata screen. On one server, I am seeing a problem in the Malore recording. Strangely, I do not see it on the other server.

I am running Java 11. I have stopped SageTV, deleted the files in the fontcache directory and restarted. That did not work.

On the Edit Metadata screen the right half of the screen has font corruption.

On the Malore Recording screen (not sure what else to call it) the top line, in yellow, with the recording title, is messed up.

Any thoughts or advice of what else I can try?

Apologies for the wonky look of the photos. I did not know how else to capture the screen and my TV is one of those curved ones.

here is a thread where Narflex posted some ways to resolve placeshifter font/display issues...

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55574

K

egeller 06-18-2022 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jusjoken (Post 634223)
here is a thread where Narflex posted some ways to resolve placeshifter font/display issues...

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55574

K

Thanks, that helped. All the discussion pointed to it being a client-side problem.

Fixing it involved going to the FireTV settings | Applications | Manage Installed Applications | Sage TV Android Client | Clear Cache.

(NOT Clear Data)

llbrott 08-20-2022 09:44 AM

I am having the same troubles as hb4 had in post #1065.

That is, when I press FF, the timeline skips forward 30-seconds, then quickly jumps back to the original time. The RW works most of the time.

I have gone into the miniclient's setup and used the keystroke debug features. When I press the buttons on the remote, I get either:
COMMAND: Skip Fwd/Page Right - 8_
media_fast_forward-NORM-90

COMMAND: Skip Bkwd/Page Left - 9_
media_rewind-NORM-89

All my miniclient's settings are default except for:
Default Player: IJK
Streaming Mode: Dynamic
Memory Cache: 128MB

My system is:
Miniclient version 1.13.0

Fire TV Stick 4K
Fire OS 6.2.9.1 (NS6291/4110)
Fire TV Home Version 6380025.1

Samsung TV UN32M4500BF

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

phelme 08-26-2022 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by llbrott (Post 634543)
I am having the same troubles as hb4 had in post #1065.

That is, when I press FF, the timeline skips forward 30-seconds, then quickly jumps back to the original time. The RW works most of the time.

same problem here. I can put up with it, but it drives the wife crazy.

it seems to behave better for me if I use the remote's (of the Firestick or Google TV) digipad (i.e., right arrow) to do a FF as opposed to the Miniclient GUI overlay.

by any chance are you using the Comskip plugins?

llbrott 08-27-2022 06:57 PM

I only have two plugins: java heap monitor, and a signal strength monitor.

I had two weeks to decide whether to return the Firestick, and I just returned it today. Instead, I ordered a very basic Windows laptop to run SageTV on the bedroom TV.

I purchased SageTV way back in 2011, and this is my second post to the forums. That shows how trouble-free it's been all these years. I will stick with what I know and use Windows.

sic0048 08-29-2022 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by egeller (Post 634224)
Thanks, that helped. All the discussion pointed to it being a client-side problem.

Fixing it involved going to the FireTV settings | Applications | Manage Installed Applications | Sage TV Android Client | Clear Cache.

(NOT Clear Data)

You can "force Close" the app and it seems to correct the issue as well. I find that the app routinely has corrupted images when you don't exit it, but rather skip to another app. When you go back into the SageTV app, it's usually corrupted.

cerickso88 09-18-2022 07:06 AM

Android mini client
 
I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.

I have HDHomeRun that does record closed captions. I am hoping to get the Android mini client (on my nVidia Shields) to support playing back CC.

Is this something that is in the plan? I know that lots of us (myself included) have been asking for a few years now.

Thanks

KryptoNyte 09-18-2022 10:58 AM

I'm primarily using HD300's for watching TV on my home network, but I hopped back into my Firestick 4kMAX this morning (on the LAN) to test the CC with Exoplayer. I'm running SageTV server V9.2.2.929 and uninstalled the miniclient from the Firestick and installed the latest version.

I opened the miniclient on the Firestick and attempted to play a program recorded from the HDHR. It just starts the video then crashes almost immediately saying 'max number of retries reached.' It seems nothing I can do will allow the miniclient on Firestick to play native mpeg2 video files from the HDHR. So I went back into the primary settings in the launch screen and forced it to transcode - now it plays, but there are no closed captions.

The Firestick does appear to play native mpeg2 using ijkplayer [EDIT: okay I was wrong on this, I guess the latest miniclient won't play mpeg2 with either exoplayer of ijkplayer]

nyplayer 09-18-2022 09:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 634675)
I'm primarily using HD300's for watching TV on my home network, but I hopped back into my Firestick 4kMAX this morning (on the LAN) to test the CC with Exoplayer. I'm running SageTV server V9.2.2.929 and uninstalled the miniclient from the Firestick and installed the latest version.

I opened the miniclient on the Firestick and attempted to play a program recorded from the HDHR. It just starts the video then crashes almost immediately saying 'max number of retries reached.' It seems nothing I can do will allow the miniclient on Firestick to play native mpeg2 video files from the HDHR. So I went back into the primary settings in the launch screen and forced it to transcode - now it plays, but there are no closed captions.

The Firestick does appear to play native mpeg2 using ijkplayer [EDIT: okay I was wrong on this, I guess the latest miniclient won't play mpeg2 with either exoplayer of ijkplayer]

My FireTV 4K max plays mpeg2 nicely using EXOPLAYER ... but I am using OPENDCT to control my HDHR tuners.

jvl711 09-28-2022 07:00 PM

New release 1.14.0
 
Hi all,

There is a new release of the Android Client out. It is a minor release and is mainly an update to the latest version of ExoPlayer. It is live in Google Play Store, and should be live in Amazon app store soon.

Just a quick plug.... If you like the work I am doing please think about supporting me on Patreon.

emveepee 09-29-2022 05:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cerickso88 (Post 634671)
I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.

Actually the NextPVR backend runs on Windows, Linux (x64, arm7 and aarch64), macOS and Docker. I am just about to release an update to my Android client uidroid which like the Sage Android mini player uses ExoPlayer and the update adds the CEA 608 CC's back which ExoPlayer removed from the default.

Martin

nyplayer 09-30-2022 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cerickso88 (Post 634671)
I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.

I have HDHomeRun that does record closed captions. I am hoping to get the Android mini client (on my nVidia Shields) to support playing back CC.

Is this something that is in the plan? I know that lots of us (myself included) have been asking for a few years now.

Thanks

What I do is I run Comskip on all recordings which can also extract CC into subtitles. Subtitles are fully supported.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.