SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   The SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   TiVo Stream - anyone using one? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66460)

tvmaster2 08-06-2020 04:54 PM

TiVo Stream - anyone using one?
 
TiVo has decided to get in on the streaming services gadget game, and now has a streaming device like Roku, Apple TV, Firestick, etc., called 'TiVo Stream'
Points for originality.
Anywho - anyone using one? I think they run the standard, Android TV software, which would possibly make them good for running the SageTV Miniclient on?
Could be nice....and only $50 at them moment, not to mention TiVo's excellent interface.

Worldling 10-11-2020 08:04 AM

I haven't heard of Tivo Stream. I only know chromecast since that is the only stream I am using.

tomatodave 12-13-2020 08:27 AM

I bought a Tivo stream a few months ago for all of the streaming capabilities. I initially had no thoughts of using it for SageTV. But I loaded it on the Tivo stream and it works well for the most part. It does seem to just crash on rare occasions, gut starts right back up. I found that this crash usually happened on initial startup and waiting a couple of minutes reduced the frequency.
The remote really does work well after getting used to it.
The miniclient on the Tivo stream in my opinion performs far better than it does on the Firestick.

tvmaster2 12-13-2020 08:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomatodave (Post 628288)
I bought a Tivo stream a few months ago for all of the streaming capabilities. I initially had no thoughts of using it for SageTV. But I loaded it on the Tivo stream and it works well for the most part. It does seem to just crash on rare occasions, gut starts right back up. I found that this crash usually happened on initial startup and waiting a couple of minutes reduced the frequency.
The remote really does work well after getting used to it.
The miniclient on the Tivo stream in my opinion performs far better than it does on the Firestick.

Yeah, if the remote borrows anything from the regular TiVo remote (one of the very best), that would go a long way to making it a better, Sage experience.

wayner 12-13-2020 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tvmaster2 (Post 628289)
Yeah, if the remote borrows anything from the regular TiVo remote (one of the very best), that would go a long way to making it a better, Sage experience.

Agreed - this seems to have the best remote of any AndroidTV device by an order of magnitude.

tvmaster2 12-13-2020 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 628292)
Agreed - this seems to have the best remote of any AndroidTV device by an order of magnitude.

And on sale at the moment: https://www.tivo.com/products/stream...SAAEgKgqvD_BwE

thopkin1 01-07-2021 07:43 PM

I picked up a tivo stream 4k about a week ago. Very happy with it so far. Best remote of any streaming device I've used. Sage mini-client works really well.

tvmaster2 01-07-2021 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thopkin1 (Post 628660)
I picked up a tivo stream 4k about a week ago. Very happy with it so far. Best remote of any streaming device I've used. Sage mini-client works really well.

Great, thanks. Other apps too - Amazon, Netflix, MotorTrend, etc.?

wayner 01-07-2021 08:50 PM

This is an AndroidTV box so it should have the exact same apps as the other AndroidTV boxes like the Shield, Chromecast w GoogleTV, MiBox, etc. That shouldn't be any different between the various boxes able to run SageTV.

tvmaster2 01-08-2021 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thopkin1 (Post 628660)
I picked up a tivo stream 4k about a week ago. Very happy with it so far. Best remote of any streaming device I've used. Sage mini-client works really well.

Forgot to ask - do you have any regular, TiVo dvrís in the house? Have they integrated yet?

jhkoenig 01-08-2021 06:06 PM

It seems that the remote is RF, rather than IR? Is there a way to use an IR remote? I use a Logitech remote to control everything, and adding a second remote is out of the (WAF) question.

thopkin1 01-09-2021 03:58 PM

wayner is right, a ton of apps from Google play. Other apps can be side loaded.

No, I don't have tivo DVRs. I don't think it integrates with TiVo devices but it may.

No IR that I'm aware of, but, I'll check to see if HDMI-Cec works.

btrcp2000 01-10-2021 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jhkoenig (Post 628686)
It seems that the remote is RF, rather than IR? Is there a way to use an IR remote? I use a Logitech remote to control everything, and adding a second remote is out of the (WAF) question.

looks like people use bluetooth keyboards with it. this is how i use my harmony remotes to control my nvidia shields. You have to add a "windows computer" as a device in harmony, then it will pair the hub with the streaming device via bluetooth. Then, add the computer (which doesn't actually exist, you're just telling the hub there's a keyboard to talk to) to your Activity that controls the Tivo Stream. From there, you can customize keyboard commands to whatever commands logitech has for the tivo stream. Bit of a learning curve, but you should be able to control a lot of things.

thopkin1 01-10-2021 08:56 PM

I checked today, HDMI-Cec works. Meaning if your TV supports it, the TV will pass the command made via IR to the TiVo stream.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.