SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Updating Existing Recordings to a UNC Path (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48997)

ptzink 06-05-2010 01:36 PM

Updating Existing Recordings to a UNC Path
 
I am full of them today. :) So I am finally upgrading from a stand alone server configuration to a server/client config. I am having issues with comskip not functioning on the client and have discovered this is because my recording directories are local and not UNC paths. So here is what I did:
1. Shut down server UI and service
2. Backed up sage.properties and wiz.bin on server
3. Restarted SageTV service and UI on server
4. Changed the recording directories from local paths (eg. d:\TV Shows) to UNC paths (eg. \\sagetv\TV Shows) per the sticky here.
5. Shut down UI and service on server
6. Edited sage.properties file to advanced_video_file_recovery=true
7. Restarted SageTV service and UI on server
After all this, Sage still says the old recordings are located on "d:\TV Shows\*.mpg". The instructions in the FAQ sticky are a little unclear since they assume you are moving your old recordings to a new directory rather than just updating to a UNC path and leaving the recordings where they are. I would really like to update the old/archived recording paths so I can retain comskip playback. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Opus4 06-05-2010 09:40 PM

Please read that FAQ again, especially the note at the end that points you to the next FAQ.

- Andy

ptzink 06-05-2010 10:46 PM

Thanks Opus, I read that post after. However, it assumes (at least the way I read it) that you are moving the files to a different directory. In my setup, I didn't want to move the files, just change from "d:\TV Shows" to "\\sagetv\TV Shows" which are the exact same location.
I think I am going to go a different route to get comskip to work. I was having major video artifacts/choppiness when watching live tv on the client when using UNC paths for recording directories. When I switched my recording directories back to local paths (eg. d:\TV Shows), it resolved the playback problems. So on the client, I have just mapped the exact same network drive letters as the local paths on the server. Seems like a bit of a hack, but it is working well. If you have any other suggestions, let me know.
Thanks!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.