SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Network Encoders and corrupted recordings?? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65563)

phelme 06-12-2018 03:47 PM

Network Encoders and corrupted recordings??
 
So I still am using a Windows XP box as a network encoder for a DirecTV receiver (running SageTV v7). It works fine, but... a while back after something changed, it was either the upgrade to SageTV v9 or Windows 10 on the server, can't remember which, my recordings started getting corrupted from the network encoder. Looked like packets were getting dropped and this would manifest itself through audio drops and video garbage. It appears almost like an analog glitch.

How I fixed it as the time was to change the recording quality to VBR for that "tuner." I think this was successful because this effectively reduced the amount of data being set over the gigabit wired network in the house, by having the HD-PVR2 do the compressing in the file itself. I was reminded of this just recently because I tried to set the recording quality back to full CBR "Best" and that corruption came back on that tuner. Currently I'm experimenting with a different method by changing the Intel Pro/1000 Ethernet cards on both machines to use 9k jumbo frames and that seems to work.

Something broke somewhere with one of the mentioned updates, because this use to work just fine a couple years ago. I think it was Windows 10, but like I said I'm not sure. Did anything change with v9 that could have caused this?

Anyways, the recent I'm typing all this is I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this?

lewispm 06-25-2018 07:01 PM

I'm using a Win10 server and USB encoders and I got audio drops and video garbage last fall. Haven't seen it lately. I posted a few times about it to try to troubleshoot, but never figured it out, outside of maybe a bad hard drive.

Mine didn't look analog, mine looked digital. Lots of pixelation and squares on the screen with dropped audio.

Sounds different than yours, but are you sure yours is network encoder related?

phelme 07-09-2018 01:31 PM

Since I changed both the server and network encoder PC's to use jumbo frames on their NICs I haven't had the issue again. Fingers crossed it'll continue to work. :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.