SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Server is Dead! (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60500)

david1234 07-03-2013 03:34 PM

Server is Dead!
 
This weekend I shut off power to fix the attic fan, and forgot to power down my server. Now it won't boot up, and my backup is less than useable.

Tonight I'll swap out the power supply with a spare and hope that everything works.

rgroves 07-03-2013 07:55 PM

Can you give us some more details. Does it power on, but doesn't boot? Does it start to boot, but bluescreens? Keep us informed...

david1234 07-03-2013 09:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgroves (Post 553906)
Can you give us some more details. Does it power on, but doesn't boot? Does it start to boot, but bluescreens? Keep us informed...

Well, it probably wasn't the power supply, although I'm not 100% sure that my spare supply was working either. I really need to buy a power supply tester. :bang:

I'll figure it out since I want to reuse the hardware, but Sage is getting an upgrade. The old server was only a core-duo running winxp with 2GB, and was getting pretty bogged down running on winxp, so I'm pulling disks to grab recordings and upgrading to sage to run on my current core2quad with 6GB windows7 workstation.

Once I've got everything running, I'm going to move myself to a nice new workstation... hello i7 :D

mrbee 07-05-2013 08:30 AM

i7 will work a lot better and faster upgraded a year ago

SHS 07-05-2013 11:29 AM

This my SageTV Media Server
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-D3H
AMD A10-5800K Trinity 3.8GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1866 8GB (F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1
Hauppauge Colossus 2x
Hauppauge HD-PVR 2 Gaming Edition 2x
Corsair CMPSU-450VX

The CPU I got is kind of overkill I should have just goting lower powerd 65w A10-5700 but if going do new one right I think I get A10-6700 65w

i7 is over kill as sever that more for gaming but an Intel Core i3-3225 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 55W I think would be a better way go if I was after Intel setup as a server.
If was going for Intel Game and funs where there I shot for Core i7-3770K with AMD HD 7870 or 7950

david1234 07-07-2013 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHS (Post 553949)
i7 is over kill as sever that more for gaming but an Intel Core i3-3225 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 55W I think would be a better way go if I was after Intel setup as a server.
If was going for Intel Game and funs where there I shot for Core i7-3770K with AMD HD 7870 or 7950

The i7 isn't for sage. The i7 is going to be my new workstation :D I write code every day, and I need a very fast box for builds. Maybe need isn't the right word, but I want it.

I've got sage up and running on my current workstation, which is an old core2quad. It's fast but not the most efficient or cool chip. It was relatively quick to get sage installed and up and running with the config files from backups. Now I just need to buy a big drive to copy all of my recordings over, since I don't have enough sata ports available for all my 500Gb recording drives.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.