SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2006, 08:56 AM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
MP3 Playback on MVP with Version 6.0.19.1

I'm having problems playing back MP3s on my MVPs. Everything works fine on the placeshifter clients,from the client on the Sage Linux server, and from the Windows Client. I get the following message a few seconds after I try to plan a MP3 on an MVP:

There was a Playback Error in playback. Details: sage.PlaybackException


This error started last night when I did a clean upgrade to 6.0.19.1 following the instructions (I used Gentoo 2006.1 as the base). The only thing I copied from my version 5 setup was the Wiz.bin file to keep my recordings.

I've tried the following without success:
  • Stop sage and remove the clients properties files and restart sage
  • Unplug MVP for 30 mins and then restart
  • Trying to play in the "Browse Media" option (still doesn't work)
  • Trying various MP3s (all MP3s are standard non VBR 128bps MP3s)
  • Removing all MP3s in the music directory and forcing a media refresh. Then adding them back into the folder and forcing another media refresh.

Attached is the server debug log. It doesn't seem to give much information (look for PlaybackException in the log).

Has anyone else experenced this issue? Any ideas? The WAF is dropping everytime a do an upgrade and something like this happens!

UPDATE: It looks like the root exception is :

VIDEO FRAME EXCEPTION THROWN:java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no Mpeg2Transcoder in java.library.path

I have no idea why its trying to transcode an MP3 for a MVP. Shouldn't the MVP be able to handle this without transcoding? I just tried installing from scratch and not even using my Wiz.bin file - same issue. Anyone upgrade to the Linux version 6 without issues?
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_1.txt (103.1 KB, 311 views)

Last edited by bbfelts; 12-30-2006 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:16 AM
ntisdale ntisdale is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
I am experiencing exactly the same error with version a new install of version 6.0.19.1.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

Neil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:26 PM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
It looks like this is a SageTV linux specific issue (I suspected so). I installed the Windows SageTV Trial (latest version) and MP3 play back works fine. It looks like Sage does create a mpeg transcoder even if its an MP3. Attached is what the debug log from the windows version looks like when you play an MP3.

It looks like the key to this is figuring out why Sage can't create an Mpeg2Transcoder - the windows version does this as well but its successful.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Windows_debug.txt (10.6 KB, 299 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:55 AM
ntisdale ntisdale is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
From what I've read the linux and windows versions use the same java code so possibly this could be caused by the particular version of java used by the linux install? What are the different versions of java you're using between the linux and windows versions of sage? Have you submitted a bug report?

Neil
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:52 AM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
I have not submitted a bug report - I was under the impression that the Linux version of SageTV didn't have any support other than this forum. I was also still waiting to see if others had the same issue.


On Linux I have been using 1.5.0.06 (the version the sagesetup.sh script installs). I'm not sure what version was on Windows - I'll have to check when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:04 AM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
still wouldn't hurt to send them a bug report so their updates in the future can address the issue...

/jer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:30 AM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
Bug Report Submitted.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:00 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
As a work around for now you can copy an old version of libMpeg2Transcoder.so, I will post an updated version soon.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:28 AM
ntisdale ntisdale is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Excellent! Just one question...Where do I get a old copy of libMpeg2Transcoder.so? Build 6.0.19.1 was the first Linux copy of Sage I installed so I don't have any of the old server.tar.gz files to grab it from.

Cheers
Neil
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2007, 07:02 PM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
I can't find a libMpeg2Transcoder.so file anywhere on my backup of version 5. Is this something that was only in the 6 betas? Guess I'll have to wait for the official fix.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:42 PM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
I have uploaded a test version of the file libMpeg2Transcoder.so.

It should be part of the next release of the server.tar.gz

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:58 PM
ntisdale ntisdale is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
You're a genius Demo...all is working well

Many thanks
Neil
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:34 PM
bbfelts bbfelts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 7
Works great! Thanks for the file!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:40 PM
joat joat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
It worked...

That lib fixed my MVP also. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.