SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2008, 05:28 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Utility to extract first X bytes from file

I have a problem file that I need to provide the first 50 to 60K bytes to Sage support. The problem file is over 6 gig as is. I had been using a free hex editor to extract the first 50 to 60K. It appears that a file size limitation on the free version prevents me from using this method. I am looking for a utility such as the unix like head program that will run on Windows XP or Vista. I have spent a lot of time seaching for it and it does appear to be part of a unix utility package. However, every lead that looks good has failed for one reason or another. Can anyone point me to such a utility? I would prefer a simple head.exe type executable but will look at anything at this point.
TIA
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:12 AM
cslatt's Avatar
cslatt cslatt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 239
Head for win32 in included in these utilities:
http://www.tedfelix.com/SupaSoft/wuup.htm

If you want just head.exe, I've zipped it up and put it up here for you:
http://mizook.com/temp/head.zip

Last edited by cslatt; 03-04-2008 at 08:15 AM. Reason: Added link to just head.zip
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:03 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Thanks cslatt, I finally got it to work, but it appears to be for text files only. I am looking for a version that works with binary files. The byte count is usually specified with the -c option.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:55 AM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
You could try using WinRAR to archive the file. It has the ability to archive a single large file to multiple pieces of a size that you set. Afterwards send them only the first piece.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2008, 10:05 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Winzip has the same feature, but it needs all of the pieces to unzip the file correctly. Does WinRAR have the same restriction? Have you been able to extract the first piece?
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2008, 10:37 AM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I believe WinRAR can extract even if all the pieces are not present. I'm pretty sure that I saw this method recomended by Opus in the past.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:36 PM
RobJ RobJ is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 95
Can you use VideoRedo, and give them just the first minute or 10 seconds?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:47 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
I believe WinRAR can extract even if all the pieces are not present. I'm pretty sure that I saw this method recomended by Opus in the past.

Scott
I attempted to use WinRAR which took 2 hours to compress and split the file. I then copied just the first part to a new directory and attemped to uncompress it. I got a message that it needed part2. I see no sign that it was able to extract the first part only error messages about the required volume is absent and the file is corrupt.

RobJ,
I do think I can use a video editor because they may modify the file. The file is known to have PTS errors, that is why support wants to see it.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:13 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Here's a tool Support sent me a while back:

http://download.sage.tv/users/qian/FileCutter.zip
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:24 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Thank You Greg, just what I was looking for. I had asked support for such a utility but was referred to the head program instead.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage 6.1.9 and 6.2 beta KEEP LOCKING UP kambo SageTV Linux 6 11-18-2007 08:11 PM
Question about the Sage Copy File Api's BobPhoenix SageTV Studio 1 06-10-2007 12:29 PM
Black screen and no audio on Client shatter SageTV Software 7 02-21-2007 08:41 PM
small Hauppague remote doesn't work right on new computer weyker Hardware Support 1 04-08-2006 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.