SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:45 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Hi,

Glad it's working out. So far I'm finding the series/episode data to be the most valuable. Maybe you could ask about update frequency on the DG forums?

I'm just starting to write something else that will change my DVD Profiler data to MPAA ratings so that I can use Parental Control on films. Sometimes being in the UK and using US-centric software sucks

Regards,

Nick.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-27-2008, 11:45 AM
mrcandu's Avatar
mrcandu mrcandu is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 79
Hi,
Sorry if I have missed something, but could someone please provide some instructions and/or upload all required files to get this Digiguide XMLTV solution working.

I currently have Digiguide installed + the 2 un-RAR'd files supplied by Nick_W in the Digiguide folder + .NET 2 installed on the machine.
If I click on the DG2XML.exe, a command prompt pops up for half a second with a message about connecting to localhost then closes... it doesn't look like it's creating any XMLTV files?

I was hoping to get this working with Stephan's XMLTV importer.
Am I missing some files from the original plugin's Author? Maybe I do need .NET3?

I am very much looking forward to getting this solution working!
Thanks in advance.

Mat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
Hi,

Could you all please try the attached files. The strings.dat file needs to replace the one you have already copied to your DigiGuide folder. The exe can be run from where ever you want.

You will need .NET 3.5. The file is a RAR file, but I had to rename it ZIP as you can't upload RAR files.

Please let me know how you get on.

Regards,

Nick.
__________________
Server/Client: 1.6GHz Intel Atom 330 | 2048MB DDR2 | Iomega 2TB eSata Hard Drive | Nvidia Ion | HDHomeRun DVB-T2 | Hauppauge NOVA-TD Stick x 2| Windows 10 | SageTV v9.0.12 | Java 1.7.0_79
Clients: HD100 | HD200 | HD300 | MI Box
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:40 PM
John@TunerUK John@TunerUK is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 251
The 2 files you've downloaded are just a slight mod, not the actual digiguide extractor. The download you need is on post No 17 of this thread. That's on page 1.
When you install that, you get a readme in the 'Four Cubed' folder in program files, containing all the info you should need
__________________
Antec Sonata III, Abit AN-M2HD, AMD 4200+, Thermalright SI-128 Cooler, 2GB OCZ DDR2, 2x500Gb + 1x1Tb Samsung Spinpoint SATA II, Hauppauge Nova-T500, Technotrend 3200-S2 with CI, Oasis II CAM. Windows XP Home SP3, Logitech Harmony 525. Logitech DiNovo Edge
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:11 PM
bead16 bead16 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Excellent work on this, it does the job, and is exactly what i was looking for, well almost...

I was hoping to be able to use this with Vista MC (I know, I know!) but listings are coming out an hour later than they should be. I was wondering if it would be possible to add a time offset argument so I could correct this?

If you would be willing to post the source for the newer version I would happily make the changes myself.

Thanks again for a glimmer of hope in getting listing for some of the more obscure channels on my HTPC

Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:23 PM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
See

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/down...do=file&id=222

Last edited by Nick_W; 04-29-2008 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-27-2008, 11:35 PM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by bead16 View Post
Excellent work on this, it does the job, and is exactly what i was looking for, well almost...

I was hoping to be able to use this with Vista MC (I know, I know!) but listings are coming out an hour later than they should be. I was wondering if it would be possible to add a time offset argument so I could correct this?

If you would be willing to post the source for the newer version I would happily make the changes myself.

Thanks again for a glimmer of hope in getting listing for some of the more obscure channels on my HTPC

Chris.
Time offset argument added. Please get the new version from the download section.

Regards,

Nick_W
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-28-2008, 02:45 AM
bead16 bead16 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Wow, that's what I call service!

Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-28-2008, 02:48 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by bead16 View Post
Wow, that's what I call service!

Thanks very much.
No problem, now all we have to do is persuade you to leave the dark side

Cheers,

Nick.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-28-2008, 10:20 AM
mrcandu's Avatar
mrcandu mrcandu is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by John@TunerUK View Post
The 2 files you've downloaded are just a slight mod, not the actual digiguide extractor. The download you need is on post No 17 of this thread. That's on page 1.
When you install that, you get a readme in the 'Four Cubed' folder in program files, containing all the info you should need
Thanks very much, all is now working perfectly with the mod
__________________
Server/Client: 1.6GHz Intel Atom 330 | 2048MB DDR2 | Iomega 2TB eSata Hard Drive | Nvidia Ion | HDHomeRun DVB-T2 | Hauppauge NOVA-TD Stick x 2| Windows 10 | SageTV v9.0.12 | Java 1.7.0_79
Clients: HD100 | HD200 | HD300 | MI Box
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-28-2008, 11:27 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Superb alternative guide. Works very well so far and well worth the yearly subs.

Many thanks
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:33 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
So, if I move from the Neilm importer and RT, what's the impact? I guess all the channel ids will change, program ids etc.? All watched info will be useless?

How many hours work do you reckon?

I assume it's good for multiple lineups?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-30-2008, 01:44 PM
enterpryse enterpryse is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to enterpryse Send a message via Skype™ to enterpryse
I'm having a devil of a job trying to tie up the programme guide numbers with those in Sage when trying to use Stephans import tool and the DGXMLT grabber.

Has anyone got a fool proof method? every time I try the channel numbers don't make any sense with those that I programmed.

I'm using 2 freeview tuners and 1 satellite and digiguide

HELP
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-30-2008, 02:45 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by enterpryse View Post
I'm having a devil of a job trying to tie up the programme guide numbers with those in Sage when trying to use Stephans import tool and the DGXMLT grabber.

Has anyone got a fool proof method? every time I try the channel numbers don't make any sense with those that I programmed.

I'm using 2 freeview tuners and 1 satellite and digiguide

HELP
I'm not sure if this will help or is even the correct way to do it but here goes.

Firstly I scan the DVB-T and DVB-S channels ending up with two .frq files within the sage directory named something similar to the type of TV tuner you have.

Example of a DVB-T tuner .frq file name - Hauppauge WinTV MOD7700 DVB-T Capture (Dev2 Path1)-0-DVB-T.frq
Example of a DVB-S tuner .frq file name - Hauppauge WinTV 88x TS Capture-0-DVB-S.frq

Close Sage.

Edit the .frq files (notepad will do) to how you want your channel lineup with ascending numbers (Channel numbers in bold) :-

DVB-T example (channel lineup 1)

CH:1 onid:9018 tsid:4103 sid:4167 frq:810000000 band:8 ctrl:1 #:BBC-ONE
CH:2 onid:9018 tsid:4103 sid:4231 frq:810000000 band:8 ctrl:1 #:BBC-TWO
CH:3 onid:9018 tsid:8193 sid:8257 frq:786000000 band:8 ctrl:1 #:ITV1
CH:4 onid:9018 tsid:8193 sid:8384 frq:786000000 band:8 ctrl:1 #:Channel-4
CH:5 onid:9018 tsid:12290 sid:12866 frq:730000000 band:8 ctrl:1 #:Five

DVB-S example (channel lineup 2)

CH:40 onid:2 tsid:2050 sid:6940 frq:10847000 rate:22000 mod:20 pol:2 fec_rate_in:6 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:BBC-HD
CH:41 onid:2 tsid:2301 sid:52002 frq:11222000 rate:27500 pol:1 fec_rate_in:2 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:Zone-Reality-X
CH:42 onid:2 tsid:2311 sid:52105 frq:11261170 rate:27500 mod:20 pol:1 fec_rate_in:2 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:Zone-Horror
CH:43 onid:2 tsid:2304 sid:50903 frq:11343000 rate:27500 mod:20 pol:2 fec_rate_in:2 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:ZoneRomantica
CH:44 onid:2 tsid:2311 sid:52102 frq:11261170 rate:27500 mod:20 pol:1 fec_rate_in:2 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:Zone-Reality-+1
CH:45 onid:2 tsid:2042 sid:8330 frq:10729000 rate:22000 mod:20 pol:2 fec_rate_in:6 sat:0 ctrl:1 #:Film4-+1

Keep these .frq files in a safe place (not in the sage folder as they will get deleted later if left in the Sage folder).


Now using RT or Digiguide grab your XMLTV data. Start XMLTV Importer and goto the channel editor tab or if this is the first time setting up XMLTV Importer continue through the wizard until you reach the channel editor.

Create two XMLTV lineups one for each DVB source.

lineups.jpg

Enter the channels tab and you will see all your xmltv data listed (TV Channels).

channels1.jpg

Now open your .frq files and number each channel within the channel editor exactly the same as the .frq files. So BBC One in the DVB-T .frq file is 1, therefore BBC One in the XMLTV Channel editor should also be 1.

Continue this for all your channels for both the DVB-S & DVB-T .frq files.

Now we dont want the DVB-S channels trying to read data from channel lineup 1 as this is DVB-T only, so change the channel lineup to 2 via the drop down box. Continue this for all channels located on the alternative card.

channels2.jpg

Once done you can import your data again if you like but it should be ok to just close the programme unless this is a first time setup then you will need to then continue the wizard.

Now start Sage and remove all the existing tuners which you had previously added.

Once removed restart Sage again and upon restart you should be presented with a screen asking you to select your tuners. Select any tuner (I start from the top and work down) and add it, select XMLTV lineup for channel guide and then make sure you pick the correct xmltv lineup for that particular tuner. Once it has downloaded the data you will then be asked to scan for channels, do not scan for channels, select NO.

Once you have added all your tuners with the correct lineup for each, click done with channel setup, return to the main menu and quit sage again.

Copy and paste your .frq files into the Sage directory.

Restart Sage and goto your channel guide, hopefully you will start to see the guide data. It can sometimes take a while for it all to show up.

If you have multiple tuners you will need to add each tuner in the first instance in order to get a correct file name/.frq for that particular card. You do not need to scan each card, only copy and paste the whole text from the two master .frq files into each tuners .frq. Do not mix the tuning text into each .frq, keep DVB-T seperate from DVB-S.

If the channels change or thier are new ones you want to add, shut down Sage and all clients. Copy your whole Sage folder somewhere safe, restart Sage and rescan your DVT-T/DVB-S or both if required. Copy the .frq for the card/cards you just scanned and keep that safe. Paste the original Sage folder which you just copied back and overwrite all files. This will restore your original Sage setup without the new channels but allow you to modify them with the newly created .frq file/files which you kept safe. You will also need to give any new channels a new number in both the .frq and XMLTV Importer channel editor also remembering to select the correct channel lineup within the Importer.

I generaly dont scan for channels on the box with the tuners in as I like to keep the Sage install as clean as possible, but this isnt always ideal if you dont have a spare pc.


One last tip, keep your digiguide or RT data organized the way you want your channel setup to be.

DigiGuide.jpg


Its a bit long winded but once you've done it two or ten times its very easy to setup from scratch, easily within 30-45 mins.


Hope this helps

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 05-03-2008 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-30-2008, 03:05 PM
enterpryse enterpryse is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to enterpryse Send a message via Skype™ to enterpryse
Thanks Ben I'll try this asap.

Part of my problrm may be that Sage seems to over write the frq files

Cheers

Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:04 AM
enterpryse enterpryse is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to enterpryse Send a message via Skype™ to enterpryse
Naa, this still isn't working.

The programme downloads seem to be working using the grabber and import tool but when I delete the sources (in Sage) not all the programmes are available when I re-introduce the sources, and, the channel numbers aren't what I programmed them to be with the import tool.

This is driving me crazy - HELP
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:22 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
I know this is proberly not what you want to do but it maybe easier to uninstall sage but keep your .frq files with the channel setup you want and then reinstall sage. If you do this you could also keep a backup of your sage install just incase it doesnt work out.

When you reinstall sage and it gets to the point in setup where it asks you to select your tuners just skip it not selecting any. Finish the setup and reinstall the xmltv import tool and setup the channels the same as the .frq's, restart sage and select xmltv lineup but dont scan for channels. Exit sage and copy/paste your .frq files into sage folder and restart sage. All should then be ok.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 05-03-2008 at 04:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-03-2008, 11:20 AM
enterpryse enterpryse is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to enterpryse Send a message via Skype™ to enterpryse
Thanks jaminben. This has improved things a great deal. I can live with it for now but will be dreading any changes later.

Stuart

Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-03-2008, 01:12 PM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
Ben

You should write up post #53 as its own thread and get it marked sticky on the UK group. Its a really good guide to sorting out DVB tuning


cheers

Tim
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:56 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewston View Post
Ben

You should write up post #53 as its own thread and get it marked sticky on the UK group. Its a really good guide to sorting out DVB tuning
I think theirs proberly many guides on the Sage forums somewhere so I wont add it as a sticky but I have modified the guide and added a couple of pics.

I'm just glad its helped some folks out

Regards

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-08-2008, 08:32 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Its a bit long winded but once you've done it two or ten times its very easy to setup from scratch, easily within 30-45 mins.
This is why I now use a Sky HD box. Compared to Sage's UI it's utterly shit, but it does just work. After 2 1/2 years of fighting with Sage I decided I valued that more than Sage's functionality.
__________________
Server:
Sage 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, Terratec Cinergy 2400i, Technotrend S2-3200

Client:
Sage Client 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, GeForce 6150, ForceWare 93.71, nForce 8.26, PureVideo 1.02-223, SageMC 6.3.2c
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XMLTVImportPlugin: Demideus Demideus SageTV EPG Service 152 03-13-2018 06:39 AM
Updated XMLTV How To rsagetv99 SageTV EPG Service 37 07-25-2012 12:00 PM
Can't remove XMLTV lineup jhendrix SageTV EPG Service 0 06-15-2007 01:28 PM
XMLTV dual source on same card Black Sky SageTV EPG Service 1 04-10-2006 08:27 AM
Please wait while the channel lineup is downloaded for XMLTV Lineup gafrol SageTV EPG Service 1 01-06-2006 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.