SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2003, 04:06 PM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Is there a work around for multiple line up xmltv in the UK?

Hi

I have two tuner cards, one runs from antenna, BBC1, BBC2, ITV and Channel 4. The other is connected via composite to the cable box (ntl). channels 1 thru to x.

Due to the channel number differences, there are some common channels but with different numbers. I need to run multiple line ups of epg data, so that i can allocate specific channels to a perticular tuner.

The problem is that the new xmltv plugin does not work for some reason with uk epg xml data, I have had a look at them, but not being a programmer i cannot see why? Unitil I find some way of doing this I have one redundant tuner.... and hence wasted money...

What I want to know is:-

1.) Would anyone be willing to look at the plugin and possibly fix this? (I attach a epg data file for anyone to look at, should you wish to investigate.)

2.) Does anyone in the UK or Elsewere have a work around?

3.) Does anyone else in the UK or elsewhere have this problem?

4.) Will Sage 2 have multiple xml epg line ups as native core to the program?

5.) Anyother ideas, would be most appreciated!...

Please anythoughts and Ideas would be great, and received with many thanks.

Thanks in advance

Dan
Attached Files
File Type: zip epgdata.zip (206.6 KB, 6121 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2003, 10:41 AM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Come on, anyone....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2003, 09:03 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
You expect a reply after 6 hours on a Friday night?

And all you say is that "the new xmltv plugin does not work"?

A bit more info on what exactly is going wrong would be useful, such as:

Which XMLTV plug-in are you trying to use -- for multiple line-ups you should be using the one from this Thread

Did you put the 3 .class files from this zipfile into the xmltv subdir of your SageTv directory (eg c:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\xmltv)?

Have you put your various XML files in the SageTV directory named "1.xml" "2.xml" etc, containing different channel selections (you will need to use the --configure and --config-file FILE options to create 2 different config files containing the channels for your 2 lineups, then use the --config-file FILE option when generating XML data to create the different files)

Did you restart Sage after updating the plugin?

Have you reconfigured your sources?

When you reconfigured your sources did you get a selection of lineups including "Lineup in 1.xml" "lineup in 2.xml", etc. (If not, either the plugin name in the properties file is incorrect, or the plugin files cannot be found)

If so, when you selected the lineup, did you get the channels that are listed in the appropriate XML file?

Finally are you getting program listings for these channels?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2003, 12:42 PM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Hi,

Thanks for the reply, it was actually quite a bit longer than six hours but anyway!

With the new plugin, I get the list saying chose you xml file 1.xml, 2.xml etc. were it falls down is when i get to the screen that says line up is being downloaded, it stays there indefinately, i have left it till it timed out, several times, I have been trying to get this plugin to work for about 3 weeks now.

The old xml plugin works like a dream, and sails thru.

I am trying to use the plugin you link to, downloaded from the same page.

Yeah I did put all three class files into the directory, the correct directory, then i did put 1.xml, 2.xml, etc in the sagetv directory

I then tried restarting sagetv, then my computer neither worked.

I tried reconfiging my sources, deleting them first, that did not work so i deleted sage properties and wiz files.

I have read else were it is a problem with the xml uk data, so i tried tv_grab_it, that does not work either.

I know i am getting listings cos when i convert back to the old plugin, i renamed 1.xml to epgdata.xml, to prove it, the same with 2.xml.

What i would like to try is if someone could post a copy of there 1.xml, 2.xml, in a zip file from the U.S. so i can confirm it is/is not uk data.

I am now absolutely stuck, i tried everything everyone else has tried on the forum as well, i have searched and search, but have no joy!

Anyway, Thanks again for the help, keep the ideas comming.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2003, 04:51 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
So the plugin is loading, but apparantly has problems reading the XML files...

I cannot see anything wrong in the code at a first look...

Have you tried stripping down the XML files so that it just gives the channel information, ie deleting everything from the first <programme to the last </programme>, and then recofiguring the source...

This will help narrow down the problem to either being in the way the channel definition is read or in the way the program definitions are read...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2003, 01:26 AM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
I will try that when i get back from work tonight.

Do you use this plugin? if so could you post me a copy of the xml data, that you are using, then i can see if that works....

Cheers

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2003, 04:20 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
no, just being helpful

I am having other problems with RT data using the standard plugin (only getting last line of description), I am writing my own XML grabber for belgium, so I am curious about other XMLTV problems...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2003, 09:57 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
To be able to test the plugin and the data outside of Sage, I have attached a plugin tester which works with multiple line-ups...

Unpack the tester files in any directory (say c:\plugintest);
Put the xml data files in this same directory
Put the xmltv plugin .class files in a xmltv subdir (eg c:\plugintest\xmltv)
and then run with:
"Java PluginTester" in the plugintest files directory
You will get some exception error messages if some of the <number>.xml files do not exist.

Of course you can test the plugin currently active in Sage if the 'tester files directory' is the SageTV directory!

I *think* the problem is related to named channel IDs in the description... The plug-in seems to be looking for a format like:
channelnumber channelname
and then using that channel number for the line-up.. There are a *lot* of assumptions made about the format of the data, but very little checking...

so, the following channel section seems to work, but it means manually editting the XML file(s)

<channel id="carlton.com">
<display-name>3 itv1</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="channel4.com">
<display-name>4 channel4</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc1.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name>1 bbc1</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc2.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name>2 bbc2</display-name>
</channel>
Attached Files
File Type: zip plugintester_multi.zip (6.8 KB, 791 views)

Last edited by nielm; 11-25-2003 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2003, 01:54 PM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Hey

I have tried what you said earlier by just removing the program info, that did not work,

I tried the plugin tester i got this:-

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: plugintester (wrong n
ame: PluginTester)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)


I tried two formats of xml data the sirst is this:-

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE tv SYSTEM "xmltv.dtd">

<tv source-info-url="http://guidatv.libero.it/" source-data-url="http://guidatv.libero.it/canali.phtml" generator-info-name="XMLTV" generator-info-url="http://membled.com/work/apps/xmltv/">
<channel id="carlton.com">
<display-name>3 itv1</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="channel4.com">
<display-name>4 channel4</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc1.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name>1 bbc1</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc2.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name>2 bbc2</display-name>
</channel>




The Second is this:-

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE tv SYSTEM "xmltv.dtd">

<tv source-info-url="http://www.radiotimes.beeb.com/" source-info-name="Radio Times" generator-info-name="XMLTV" generator-info-url="http://membled.com/work/apps/xmltv/">
<channel id="801.radiotimes.beeb.com">
<display-name lang="en">UK History</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="921.radiotimes.beeb.com">
<display-name lang="en">Ftn</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="923.radiotimes.beeb.com">
<display-name lang="en">UK Bright Ideas</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="carlton.com">
<display-name lang="en">ITV1 London</display-name>
<display-name>3</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="channel4.com">
<display-name lang="en">Channel 4</display-name>
<display-name>4</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="channel5.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">Five</display-name>
<display-name>5</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="choice.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">BBC3</display-name>
<display-name>BBC Choice</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="itv2.itv.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">ITV2</display-name>
<display-name>ITV2</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="knowledge.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">BBC4</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="news-24.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">BBC News 24</display-name>
<display-name>BBC News 24</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc1.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">BBC1</display-name>
<display-name>1</display-name>
</channel>
<channel id="south-east.bbc2.bbc.co.uk">
<display-name lang="en">BBC2</display-name>
<display-name>2</display-name>
</channel>

Both of these got stuck at the downloading line up screen, i wonder if there is a problem with the plugin.

Cheers

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-25-2003, 02:07 PM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Oh I just found the output file

Cheers

Dan
Attached Files
File Type: txt testepgdb.txt (1.2 KB, 653 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:08 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: plugintester (wrong name: PluginTester)

This error message is telling you it cannot find the class named "plugintester" -- this is because the name is case-sensitive, it should be
java PluginTester

For a file that works, you should see:
Quote:
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 1.xml
in addChannel shortname=London longname="3 ITV1 London" id: 3eb
in addChannel shortname=4 longname="4 Channel 4" id: 3ec
in addChannel shortname=BBC1 longname="1 BBC1" id: 3e9
in addChannel shortname=BBC2 longname="1 BBC2" id: 3e9
in setLineup
Test complete, result was 'true'.
Num Channels: 4
Num Shows: 1965
Num Airings: 1965
For a file that is not compatible with the plugin, you should see an exception message after:
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 1.xml
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki

Last edited by nielm; 11-26-2003 at 04:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-26-2003, 12:35 PM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Hi, thanks i thought the previous output was strange...

Anyway this is what i get now.

Hello. Starting PluginTester.

Getting providers...

Got provider ID=1; Lineup in 1.xml

Got provider ID=2; Lineup in 2.xml

Got provider ID=3; Lineup in 3.xml

Got provider ID=4; Lineup in 4.xml

Got provider ID=3; Lineup in 5.xml

Getting providers...

Updating Guide for providerLineup in 1.xml

java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: -1
at org.apache.xerces.framework.XMLParser.parse(XMLParser.java:1111)
at xmltv.XMLTVImportPlugin.updateGuide(XMLTVImportPlugin.java:82)
at PluginTester.main(PluginTester.java:28)
Test complete, result was 'false'.
Num Channels: 0
Num Shows: 0
Num Airings: 0
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 2.xml

java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: -1
at org.apache.xerces.framework.XMLParser.parse(XMLParser.java:1111)
at xmltv.XMLTVImportPlugin.updateGuide(XMLTVImportPlugin.java:82)
at PluginTester.main(PluginTester.java:28)
Test complete, result was 'false'.
Num Channels: 0
Num Shows: 0
Num Airings: 0
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 3.xml

java.io.FileNotFoundException: 3.xml (The system cannot find the file specified)

at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at xmltv.XMLTVImportPlugin.updateGuide(XMLTVImportPlugin.java:82)
at PluginTester.main(PluginTester.java:28)
Test complete, result was 'false'.
Num Channels: 0
Num Shows: 0
Num Airings: 0
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 4.xml

java.io.FileNotFoundException: 4.xml (The system cannot find the file specified)

at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at xmltv.XMLTVImportPlugin.updateGuide(XMLTVImportPlugin.java:82)
at PluginTester.main(PluginTester.java:28)
Test complete, result was 'false'.
Num Channels: 0
Num Shows: 0
Num Airings: 0
Updating Guide for providerLineup in 5.xml

java.io.FileNotFoundException: 3.xml (The system cannot find the file specified)

at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(Unknown Source)
at xmltv.XMLTVImportPlugin.updateGuide(XMLTVImportPlugin.java:82)
at PluginTester.main(PluginTester.java:28)
Test complete, result was 'false'.
Num Channels: 0
Num Shows: 0
Num Airings: 0

As you said, it would not find the some listings that are not present 3, 4 & 5.

What do you make of this? What is the index string, is that the channel names?

I am going to try running this in the sage folder.

Cheers again

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-15-2004, 10:12 AM
fullofnrg fullofnrg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK, Northwest
Posts: 18
Hi,
I also have the same problem. Did you ever find a solution?
Thanks

Neal
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-15-2004, 12:28 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
I think the attached file is the new plugin verison I made and mailed to Dan, which he said worked...
Attached Files
File Type: zip xmltv_multi_nielm.zip (13.0 KB, 1635 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-16-2004, 03:36 AM
fullofnrg fullofnrg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK, Northwest
Posts: 18
Hi Neil,
Thanks. That worked!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-16-2004, 04:27 AM
danward79's Avatar
danward79 danward79 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brighton & Hove, Sussex UK
Posts: 251
Hi Neil & Neal

The Plugin did work sorry i did not see this earlier

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:39 PM
xred's Avatar
xred xred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
I think the attached file is the new plugin verison I made and mailed to Dan, which he said worked...
Is this plugin still tested / working with v4? Several users who are using the MyTheatre plugin (and probably the users who want a PPV plugin...) could really use this.

I would like to be able to get EPG data for my local cable provider (tuner 1) and for my satellite DVB-S network tuners (2 & 3). Currently I use the built in EPG to get data for both providers, but the PPV data is missing for the sat provider.

Thanks to some great work by members of the MyTheatre support forum, we can now output the EPG data from Mytheatre out to XMLTV format. All thats left is for me to import that data into Sage, but if I understand correnctly I will lose the EPG data for my local cable since I am now using the XMLTV plugin and not the built in EPG grabber.

Bottom line, will this Plugin let me combine the data I get from the XMLTV grabber (local cable) and the data I provide in an XMLTV file from the Mytheatre tool?

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-13-2005, 02:30 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Still running as well with V4 as with V2.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2006, 03:18 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Updated my plugin to remove any dependancy on xerces.jar -- please remove xerces.jar from SageTV/JARs and Java/jre_1_6_0/lib/ext

This should allow you to use Java V6 without breaking the xml exporting functions of my webserver.

No other changes were made, and the src is included (so anyone who wants to see what I changed to remove xerces dependancy can compare this version with the previous, above)
Attached Files
File Type: zip xmltv_multi_nielm.zip (15.1 KB, 656 views)
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:08 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Excellent stuff, my RSS feeds are back.
Looking good so far.

Thanks as ever nielm, what would we do without you?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.