SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #741  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:38 PM
jpimlott jpimlott is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lathrop CA
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to jpimlott
Smile very strange video with playon running

I am using sagetv 662 with current default STVs and the current playon. I am running in server mode and use it as a client as well to a 1080i monitor. The pc is a new Intel I7 920 and 2 gigs of ram working with winxp pro. If i start playon then I can not go full screen in sagtv. If it is partial screen about 75 % of the sceen then it is fine. When i drag it larger than that sagetv goes black until is it made smaller. If I stop the playon server software then full screen or near full screen works great again. At first i thought is was sagetv all the time but ran it the playon issue by accident. I tried emailing playon but the said the sagetv is not a supported client.
Thanks
John
  #742  
Old 11-30-2009, 04:18 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by TZen View Post
Please forgive a newbie, but I'm getting stuck in the installation process, with the troubleshooting issue: "Symptom #1: No videos are appearing when you select a menu item." I've installed up to version STV 2009112501. I'm using the extender HD100 (although it's not working on the PC, either. I just don't know how to "revert back to a clean SageTV3.xml." I've searched the forums and read the first 18 pages of posts on this topic, but I'm still not sure what it means. Do I simply directly go into C:Program files/sagetv/sagetv and delete something? I tried going through Setup/detailed setup/advanced/load new sage application package/clicked yes, again extracted v1.6. Still nothing. I'm sorry for what may seem like a ridiculous question, but I really want for it to work. Can anyone help?
I've been trying to figure this out for a week or two. I'm sure it would only take a few minutes for one of you that understand the programming better to walk through it with me on the phone. I'd be happy to pay some for the help (paypal?), or if you'd rather, I could donate to your choice of charity. I can tell it would be awesome if the program were working (if I could get it to quit telling me there are "no videos found." Will someone help me get unstuck, either by phone or through this forum?
  #743  
Old 11-30-2009, 04:39 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
@TZen

Check out stuff in this order:

1) STV updated (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...4&d=1258745321see this picture for how to check)
2) Also in the advanced menu, make sure that the SageTV Application Package is exactly SageTV3.xml.
2) UPnP2Podcast.exe is in
Code:
C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.exe
3)Check the folder
Code:
C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\OnlineVideos\
And make sure you have a lot of files named like...

CustomOnlineVideoLinks_UPnP2Podcast_Hulu.properties

Last edited by evilpenguin; 11-30-2009 at 04:46 PM.
  #744  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:11 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thank-you for your help:

In regards to your suggestions -
1) The STV is updated (as in the picture) to 2009112501 & when I click update, it states that "no update is available."
2) The sageTV Application is exactly SageTV3.xml
3) I found the UPnP2Podcast.exe and double clicked it, confirmed that I wanted to run it, and saw a "dos" window pop up briefly.
4) Under the Online Videos folder, I do have a lot of headings like CustomOnlineVideoLinks_UPnP2Podcast_Hulu.properties, but they instead are like this "CustomOnlineVideoUI/Text_PnP2Podcast_Hulu.properties. Of note, there is a Tempfeed_client.xml and a TempFeed_00085c53c73c.xml but no plain Tempfeed.xml file.
  #745  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:37 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Can you post a screenshot of that folder so I know exactly what you're talking about?

(On windows, press the "prt scr" button, and then open Paint and press ctrl+v)
  #746  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:05 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
For some reason, when I try to print the screen, I get a black, low res. bmp, however, I was able to copy them to Word - please see attached.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Files in Online Videos.doc (59.0 KB, 278 views)
  #747  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:15 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
That looks fine, so if for instance, you go to "Online Services -> ABC -> Lost", it'll pop up the window that say's "The video list is downloading", and then you'll get an screen that say something like "No Videos"?

Try doing that and then post the UPnP2Podcast.log from C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.log.
  #748  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:20 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
EP - Your description of the problem is exactly correct. Here is the log:

Welcome to UPnP2Podcast v1.6!
+ Path: C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV
+ Parameters
- (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2)
+ Search String: PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2
- Looking for UPnP Server: PlayOn
! Error! Couldn't find UPnP Device: (PlayOn)
<----------------- Feed ------------------>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:itunes="http://www.itunes.com/dtds/podcast-1.0.dtd"
xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>UPnP2Podcast v1.6 PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2</description>
<language>en-us</language>
<itunes:summary>No Videos Found</itunes:summary>
<itunes:subtitle>No Videos Found</itunes:subtitle>
<item>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</description>
<pubDate>1981-09-15</pubDate>
<itunes:subtitle>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</itunes:subtitle>
<itunes:duration>00:46:35</itunes:duration>
<enclosure url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" length="1668940000" type="video/mpeg2" />
<media:content duration="2795" medium="video" fileSize="1668940000" url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" type="video/mpeg2">
<media:title>No Videos Found</media:title>
<media:description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</media:description>
<media:thumbnail url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.jpg"/>
</media:content>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>


Note that I do have the latest version of Playon installed on the computer (and it's registered).
  #749  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:37 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Are you certain that the PlayOn service is started?
  #750  
Old 11-30-2009, 08:55 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Under the Playon settings box, there is a green box that says "running." Also, the box is checked to "automatically run server when playon starts." Further, it works on my Wii, although the quality is poor and the selection isn't as good as your program.
  #751  
Old 11-30-2009, 09:00 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Try opening up a command prompt and running this command manually...

Code:
"C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.exe" "PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2"
Edit: Also, is SageTV running as a service and, if so, does it log in as a real user?
  #752  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:15 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
These are the results:

C:\>C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.exe" "PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:
^Lost$:+2
'C:\Program' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\>"C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.exe" "PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L
:^Lost$:+2"
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:itunes="http://www.itunes.com/dtds/podcast-1.0.dtd"
xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>UPnP2Podcast v1.6 PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2</descript
ion>
<language>en-us</language>
<itunes:summary>No Videos Found</itunes:summary>
<itunes:subtitle>No Videos Found</itunes:subtitle>
<item>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Episod
es:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed thi
s could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message
is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</description>
<pubDate>1981-09-15</pubDate>
<itunes:subtitle>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:TV Ep
isodes:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed
this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This mes
sage is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</itunes:subtitle>
<itunes:duration>00:46:35</itunes:duration>
<enclosure url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" length="1668940000" type="video
/mpeg2" />
<media:content duration="2795" medium="video" fileSize="1668940000" url="h
ttp://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" type="video/mpeg2">
<media:title>No Videos Found</media:title>
<media:description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:T
V Episodes:L:^Lost$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and rem
oved this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This
message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</media:description>
<media:thumbnail url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.jpg"/>
</media:content>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>

I'm not sure how to tell if sage is running as a service and logging in as a real user. When I look under detailed setup/server, it says that SageTV server is "enabled." Does that answer the question?

Thanks again for your help with this troubleshooting,
John
  #753  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:45 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Don't worry about the service stuff if that command didn't even work.

I'll be honest, at this point completely i'm stumped, i'll PM you if I think of anything else

Last edited by evilpenguin; 11-30-2009 at 10:48 PM.
  #754  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:37 PM
TZen TZen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Okay. I really appreciate your trying to help. Do you think it would be helpful to completely uninstall sage and playon and start over? Alternatively, we have a parental control filter on our computer - could that be interfering?

Thanks again for your help,

John
  #755  
Old 12-01-2009, 05:15 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,653
Quick question - I was wondering if there is a version of the plug-in that matches the SageMC look and feel? I've loaded it up successfully (thanks, very nice!) but it only matches the STV... is there another version for SageMC?
  #756  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:10 PM
OneThomas OneThomas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 102
I had a problem a couple weeks ago and it turned out that Hulu has decided the IP address I was connecting through was out of the States. PlayOn suppor helped me figure it out. See what you get with this link from the machine that is running PlayOn. If you get the Non-US warning - follow the links to submit a ticket to Hulu.
>
> http://www.hulu.com/embed/PVGr7NzW82reKuAw50NO0Q
>
  #757  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:13 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sflamm View Post
Quick question - I was wondering if there is a version of the plug-in that matches the SageMC look and feel? I've loaded it up successfully (thanks, very nice!) but it only matches the STV... is there another version for SageMC?
SageMC just calls up the default STV for the Online Videos. So there is no SageMC-specific screen for it.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
  #758  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:27 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
SageMC just calls up the default STV for the Online Videos. So there is no SageMC-specific screen for it.
Understood. I was wondering if someone would make or had made a SageMC screen for it -- so it matches the SageMC's look and feel. It is a weird transition from one look and feel to another totally different look and feel.
  #759  
Old 12-02-2009, 09:44 PM
theguru theguru is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 102
I'm having a problem and going through all 38 pages of this didn't help.

I'm getting this when I run the UPNP test command:

<rss version="2.0" xmlns:itunes="http://www.itunes.com/dtds/podcast-1.0.dtd"
xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
<title>Hulu</title>
<description>UPnP2Podcast v1.6 PlayOn:Hulu:+2 debug</description>
<language>en-us</language>
<itunes:summary>Hulu</itunes:summary>
<itunes:subtitle>Hulu</itunes:subtitle>
<item>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</description>
<pubDate>1981-09-15</pubDate>
<itunes:subtitle>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</itunes:subtitle>
<itunes:duration>00:46:35</itunes:duration>
<enclosure url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" length="1668940000" type="video/mpeg2" />
<media:content duration="2795" medium="video" fileSize="1668940000" url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" type="video/mpeg2">
<media:title>No Videos Found</media:title>
<media:description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:Hulu:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</media:description>
<media:thumbnail url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.jpg"/>
</media:content>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>

Everything works fine on SyFy, NBC, Fx, Comody Central, and a few others, but Food Network and ABC show me no video files.

Here is my tempFeed_client.xml file:

<rss version="2.0" xmlns:itunes="http://www.itunes.com/dtds/podcast-1.0.dtd"
xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>UPnP2Podcast v1.6 PlayOn:FoodNetwork:^Diners..Drives.ins.and.Dives$:+2</description>
<language>en-us</language>
<itunes:summary>No Videos Found</itunes:summary>
<itunes:subtitle>No Videos Found</itunes:subtitle>
<item>
<title>No Videos Found</title>
<description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:FoodNetwork:^Diners..Drives.ins.and.Dives$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</description>
<pubDate>1981-09-15</pubDate>
<itunes:subtitle>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:FoodNetwork:^Diners..Drives.ins.and.Dives$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</itunes:subtitle>
<itunes:duration>00:46:35</itunes:duration>
<enclosure url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" length="1668940000" type="video/mpeg2" />
<media:content duration="2795" medium="video" fileSize="1668940000" url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.mpg" type="video/mpeg2">
<media:title>No Videos Found</media:title>
<media:description>No videos found for UPnP search string (PlayOn:FoodNetwork:^Diners..Drives.ins.and.Dives$:+2). Since online videos are constantly being added and removed this could mean that there are just no videos available at this time. (This message is from the UPnP2Podcast Plug-in)</media:description>
<media:thumbnail url="http://127.0.0.1/fake.jpg"/>
</media:content>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>

I can watch the shows that some up fine, but of course my wife wants Food Network.

Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: txt UPnP2Podcast.txt (33.1 KB, 255 views)

Last edited by theguru; 12-02-2009 at 09:48 PM. Reason: Add file.
  #760  
Old 12-02-2009, 09:47 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Every time you try to generate a video list from a PlayON source (please use ABC->Better Off Ted) UPnP2Podcast generates a log file right next to the .exe.
Code:
C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\UPnP2Podcast.log
Please include it with *any* bug reports, otherwise i'll have no idea what's going on!

In addition, it's also helpful to know specifically which shows you tried to watch so I can test it out on my machine.

Edit: Here's some additional Info I'll need to know also...
  • Is PlayON installed on the same PC as Sage Server?
  • Do you have Firewall/VPN/Anti-Virus running?
  • Can you watch PlayON on another client (Xbox, HD200, etc)?
  • What version of windows are you running?

Last edited by evilpenguin; 04-21-2010 at 06:30 PM.
Closed Thread

Tags
amazon vod, hulu, internet video streaming, netflix, online content, online services, online videos, playon


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 - Playon - Netflix & Hulu import file issues - FIXED! Crunch SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 30 06-23-2010 01:24 PM
Using Playon Hulu Plugin For SageTV ? squeed SageTV Customizations 5 06-04-2010 09:42 AM
PlayOn on HD200 Amazon VOD (Unbox) Works! Brent SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 15 04-23-2009 07:05 AM
Hulu: Possible to Use XBMC Hulu Plugin to create SageTV Plugin? Brent SageTV Customizations 8 02-24-2009 04:16 PM
SageTV and online content - hulu, netflix ... Hari_Seldon General Discussion 65 11-17-2008 05:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.