SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #861  
Old 12-27-2009, 02:26 PM
gtallan gtallan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 43
I've been using this plugin with Playon (and an HD200) for a few months now, almost entirely for Netflix, and it's been almost perfect. But, the two times we've tried to watch a movie >2 hours long, it's flaked out, just over the 2 hour mark. I don't think anything is running out of disk space, on either the Playon machine or the SageTV server. I sent a support message to Playon (which i should have done long ago), but I wonder if anyone has had the same problem.
  #862  
Old 12-27-2009, 03:16 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Hey EvilPenguin, Happy Holidays. I just wanted you to know that sageTV support officially acknowledged the aspect ratio bug and support for dynamic sub-menus for TV seasons on Netflix and Hulu. I have a good feeling about their motivation to help you out as best as they can; since it doesnt make sense for them to do the same thing you did from scratch.

BTW, you probably already know this, but did you know that if you have playon installed on any PC on your LAN and dont even have a sageTV server.. just an HD-200 in standalone mode, you still have full access to Hulu, Netflix, etc. This is why I think that sageTV developers will develop software which is very PlayOn friendly.

My trial period no PlayOn expired a couple of days ago. I dont think I have ever registered and added a serial number to a shareware product as quick as I did with Playon. I did it so quick that my wife didnt even see the playon trial period expired error message (she was in the restroom at the time) before starting our Netflix movie. I now understand why someone said in an earlier post that this money was the best money they spent (I vaguely remember a comment like that).

Anyway, keep up the good work, this is definitely the hottest adddon for sageTV now in IMO the number of downloads since you released this addon speak for itself.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
  #863  
Old 12-27-2009, 03:56 PM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by MavRic View Post
Anyody have PlayOn installed on Win2k3 server?
I have it installed on WHS and it runs fine. The steps I took were.
  1. Upgrade the OS (Security patches, IE update, etc)
  2. Uninstall Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration (Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Add/Remove Windows Components -> Uncheck Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration)
  3. Login to each site in the Internet Explorer browser.
  4. Install/Configure PlayOn
And it works without a hitch.
  #864  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:04 PM
Olias's Avatar
Olias Olias is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by MavRic View Post
Anyody have PlayOn installed on Win2k3 server?
I just installed it on my W2k3/SageTV server today.
The web link you refer to may seem complicated, but just follow it step for step and you should be OK.

I'm getting all the feeds showing up on my HD200s, but am having an issue with Netflix movies. Watch It Instantly works fine on the server while viewing via Silverlight in IE8, but is not working yet through Sage.

In Sage, I can pick a movie from my queue to watch but it never gets past the "Acquiring content license" screen.

The Sage timeline shows I'm at the end of a seventeen second clip and never continues to the actual movie.

This issue also crops up when running SageTv on the server or on an extender.
Time for some more troubleshooting...
  #865  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:10 PM
73cuda 73cuda is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
I just got this setup and also setup Hulu and Netflix accounts and when I select any of the displayed videos in STV they play fine, the videos I queued show up but when I select any of the videos I queued at hulu, STV displays "The requested video not found on server".

I can select any of the queued videos on hulu.com and they play online fine.

What do I need to do to get my queued videos to play in STV ?
  #866  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:04 AM
hobbs73 hobbs73 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olias View Post
I just installed it on my W2k3/SageTV server today.
The web link you refer to may seem complicated, but just follow it step for step and you should be OK.

I'm getting all the feeds showing up on my HD200s, but am having an issue with Netflix movies. Watch It Instantly works fine on the server while viewing via Silverlight in IE8, but is not working yet through Sage.

In Sage, I can pick a movie from my queue to watch but it never gets past the "Acquiring content license" screen.
Olias,
I am having this EXACT same problem with my WHS setup. Netflix plays fine through IE8 on my server box, but I have no success with PLAYBACK of any netflix content via HD200's. All other playon services work properly.

When attempting Netflix playback, I was getting the "Aquiring content license" screen, followed by the following Netflix error: 8101-102-4003. Now I only get the 8101-102-4003 error repeatably. I have unintalled/reinstalled playon and silverlight. I also checked for STV updates, etc. All result in the same error.

Any help would be great. My playon trial runs out on 4 Jan, and I'm not going to purchase if netflix doesn't work.

Here's my configuration:
WHS SP2, IE8 with Enhanced Security Configuration OFF
Playon v2.59.3614.60
SageTV v6.6.2.218
Java 1.6.0
SageMC STV v6.3.9a
STV 2009120901
Playon plugin v1.6

Thanks!
  #867  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:10 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbs73 View Post
Olias,
I am having this EXACT same problem with my WHS setup. Netflix plays fine through IE8 on my server box, but I have no success with PLAYBACK of any netflix content via HD200's. All other playon services work properly.

When attempting Netflix playback, I was getting the "Aquiring content license" screen, followed by the following Netflix error: 8101-102-4003. Now I only get the 8101-102-4003 error repeatably. I have unintalled/reinstalled playon and silverlight. I also checked for STV updates, etc. All result in the same error.

Any help would be great. My playon trial runs out on 4 Jan, and I'm not going to purchase if netflix doesn't work.

Here's my configuration:
WHS SP2, IE8 with Enhanced Security Configuration OFF
Playon v2.59.3614.60
SageTV v6.6.2.218
Java 1.6.0
SageMC STV v6.3.9a
STV 2009120901
Playon plugin v1.6

Thanks!
Don't know what to suggest, but I do have this plugin working on my WHS set up just fine. Works for Hulu, Netflix and Amazon VOD. I am at work and cannot check my software versions, but everything looks similar with the exception that I use the standart STV, not SageMC. I doubt that is the issue since there are lots of people using SageMC.

Just wanted to say that is can work with WHS.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
  #868  
Old 12-30-2009, 11:02 AM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
I also have playon working with WHS on my HD200's for Netflix/Hulu. Only difference is that I use IE7. I can't remember what program suggested uninstalling IE8 when I couldn't get it to work, it might have been PlayOn but this is my Home Automation server as well so I've got a bunch of different things installed on there.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
  #869  
Old 12-30-2009, 12:07 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 439
Also, try running the playon program on another machine. My WHS box is fairly slow, so I never tried running it there. I just run playon from my workstation and my HD200 works directly via the drive mapping and also via SageTV with the 1.6 Playon (works better via this method, skip forward and back work!!) -Bill
__________________
Home DVR: SageTV v9.2.2(64)
Dell T-40, 24GB RAM, Win10 Pro, 2 x 6TB WD Blue, QNAP TR004. 1 Quad HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 1 @ STP-HD200's, 1 @ HD300, 1 @ Nvidia Shield , 1 @ Nvidia Shield new round, 70", 55" & 40" Sony's

RV DVR: SageTV v9.2.2, NUC8i5BEK 16GB, SS980Pro NVMe, Mibox, 2 Dual HDHR 5TB Passport, Winegard BatWing, 40", 32", 28" Sony's, Max Transit
  #870  
Old 12-31-2009, 11:29 AM
hobbs73 hobbs73 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbs73 View Post
Olias,
Netflix plays fine through IE8 on my server box, but I have no success with PLAYBACK of any netflix content via HD200's. All other playon services work properly.

Here's my configuration:
WHS SP2, IE8 with Enhanced Security Configuration OFF
Playon v2.59.3614.60
SageTV v6.6.2.218
Java 1.6.0
SageMC STV v6.3.9a
STV 2009120901
Playon plugin v1.6

Thanks!
Thanks to all who responded. Here's where I am:
I don't know why I didn't try this earlier, but I tried accessing playon directly via the HD200 (not in extender mode), and netflix content played no problem! HD200 interface did not include all the nice metadata like within Sage, but I had no problems with playback.

I then tried playback through Sage again. All I get is the "Acquiring content license" screen, as before, that never goes away. I wonder if that screen and the 8101 error screen I was getting before are essentially the same indication. Does that make any sense?? Why playback behave differently between Sage Extender mode, and the straight HD200??

I'm convinced my problem is with Netflix, and the process it uses to activate/register the hardware being used to stream their content. I'm just not sure where to go from here.
  #871  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:09 PM
Olias's Avatar
Olias Olias is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 177
You're better off than I am at this point. I tried Netflix on the HD200 in standalone mode and still get no video. No error messages, I pick a movie from my queue and the screen goes blank.

I just tried browsing to the Playon upnp service from my son's new Xbox 360 and I can play a Netflix movie without a problem.

I'd really rather not downgrade IE to v7 as prevoiusly suggested, but I don't know what else to try.
  #872  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:26 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,344
If you are able to play the Netflix movie on the Playon Server with windows explorer, I'm not sure why that would work and Sage would fail. So I don't think down grading your IE is going to change anything. If it doesn't play in the IE on the Playon Server, then that is a different story.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
  #873  
Old 01-01-2010, 10:55 AM
rileydogmi rileydogmi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Netflix DRM SOLVED!

I worked with PlayOn support to troubleshoot the Netflix DRM issue. This below solved the problem (from PlayOn support):

Is your PC an XP 64-bit OS? If so, the Netflix player encounters a DRM error when run as a system service. Pleaese run
PlayOn under the following mode to work around it:

1) Stop the PlayOn Server in PlayOn Settings
2) Press the Ctl button on your keyboard while clicking the Start Button in PlayOn Settings
3) Try again to play the video through PlayOn while running in this "User Run" mode

So, for those running 64 bit OS's, do the above and it works like a charm.

Yes!
  #874  
Old 01-02-2010, 02:12 AM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Thanks for finding that out, i'll add that info to the first post
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
  #875  
Old 01-02-2010, 02:49 AM
Bikeman Bikeman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Olis,

Try pressing the play button on the remote a second time.

Jeff
  #876  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:14 AM
belleboyd's Avatar
belleboyd belleboyd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 106
I have your plugin running EP... and it's fabulous. I just wanted to see the folder structure of the PLAYON server to try and understand how it works per this from the install instructions:

"Simonen found a nice UPnP sever file browser you can use to explore whats available in PlayOn."

I can't install this .. because I seem to be missing a .dll. I don't always get a response from some of the selections, and wanted to see what was going on before I posted any further questions.

Am I missing something else? (which is probable..)

Thanks for your help. And thanks for this piece of work. It's really awesome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
This plug-in is ridiculously depreciated and has been replaced by this one...

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44446
Quote:
Originally Posted by belleboyd View Post
Trying to learn the Custom Video stuff .. and when I went to install this I got an error that "libglib-2.0-0.dll" was missing. I don't want to just install this dll from some unknown site .. can anyone point me to a safe download ?
Thanks!
  #877  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:23 AM
Olias's Avatar
Olias Olias is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikeman View Post
Olis,

Try pressing the play button on the remote a second time.

Jeff
Bingo! That did the trick for standalone mode. But I still can't Watch It Instantly in extender mode (consistantly receive a 8101-102-4003 error).

I did find a how-to on the net on installing WMP 11 on Server 2008 (the OS doesn't support it by default). So I gave that a try before I saw your tip on double starting. Not sure if that helped or not.
  #878  
Old 01-02-2010, 02:06 PM
russellnewman russellnewman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Hulu Instant Queue > Are there limits to the number of items that can be read?

When I look at my Hulu Instant Queue on the website, I show 49 items, but only 30 of them are showing up in the "User Queue" for this plug-in. Is there a limit to how many items/shows the plug-in can bring over?

Is this a limit on the plug-in or on the PlayOn server?
  #879  
Old 01-02-2010, 04:03 PM
ohpleaseno ohpleaseno is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 464
I've never really wrapped my head around what I can do with this plugin beyond viewing Hulu.

If I have installed Playon Plugins on my server, they don't automatically come up with this plugin, correct? For instance, I want to view content from PBS on my HD-200. What exactly would I need to do?

Sorry for the almost remedial question, but I'm just not getting all the possibilities with this plugin. I'm sure it's more than I'm using it for.
__________________
Server: WHS with 11TB of storage
Clients:1) HD-200 to a Samsung 32" Slimfit CRT HDTV 2) HD-200 to a Pioneer 26" X1 LCD
Tuners: 1) HD-Homerun 2) Avermedia USB ATSC
Twitter: ohpleaseno
  #880  
Old 01-02-2010, 05:52 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohpleaseno View Post
I've never really wrapped my head around what I can do with this plugin beyond viewing Hulu.

If I have installed Playon Plugins on my server, they don't automatically come up with this plugin, correct? For instance, I want to view content from PBS on my HD-200. What exactly would I need to do?

Sorry for the almost remedial question, but I'm just not getting all the possibilities with this plugin. I'm sure it's more than I'm using it for.
You must manually create the different UPnP file entries. So it really takes a lot of work getting the feeds to show up in SageTV. If you search this thread, there are some general instructions on how to do it. But it isn't easy which is why there are so few new feeds.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Closed Thread

Tags
amazon vod, hulu, internet video streaming, netflix, online content, online services, online videos, playon


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 - Playon - Netflix & Hulu import file issues - FIXED! Crunch SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 30 06-23-2010 01:24 PM
Using Playon Hulu Plugin For SageTV ? squeed SageTV Customizations 5 06-04-2010 09:42 AM
PlayOn on HD200 Amazon VOD (Unbox) Works! Brent SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 15 04-23-2009 07:05 AM
Hulu: Possible to Use XBMC Hulu Plugin to create SageTV Plugin? Brent SageTV Customizations 8 02-24-2009 04:16 PM
SageTV and online content - hulu, netflix ... Hari_Seldon General Discussion 65 11-17-2008 05:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.