SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV Canada

Notices

SageTV Canada SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from Canada - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in Canada.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2010, 12:23 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Canadian Channel Logo Pack Transparent

The entire set of Canadian Channel Logos have been converted to transparent see thread for details,

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/down...do=file&id=388

BELL EAST
BELL WEST
TELUS TV CALGARY
TELUS TV SAT BC AB
BELL TV CABLE TORONTO
SHAW CALGARY DIGITAL
SHAW DIRECT EAST (Starchoice)
SHAW DIRECT WEST (Starchoice)
SHAW NANAIMO DIGITAL
SHAW VANCOUVER DIGITAL
SHAW VICTORIA DIGITAL
SHAW EDMONTON DIGITAL
SHAW SASKATOON DIGITAL
SHAW WINNEPEG DIGITAL
SHAW KELOWNA DIGITAL
SHAW PRINCEGEORGE DIGITAL
ROGERS TORONTO DIGITAL
ROGERS KITCHENER GRAND RIVER DIGITAL
ROGERS BRAMPTON DIGITAL
ROGERS MISS REXDALE DIGITAL
ROGERS OTTAWA DIGITAL
COGECO OAKVILLE DIGITAL
VIDEOTRON MONTREAL
VIDEOTRON QUEBEC CITY DIGITAL



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2010, 10:26 AM
michelkenny michelkenny is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
Sweet, can't wait to try it out when I go home! Thanks for all your hard work!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2010, 01:18 PM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 401
Sweet!!

Have you found a way to count the downloads yet? I would be curious how many Canadians are using Sage.
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2010, 02:05 PM
Lester Jacobs Lester Jacobs is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 498
Since the logo pack is only available to those running SageTV 7 then the download count may be artificially low at this point in any case. There may be a number of users like myself who are still on SageTV 6 and thus cannot access the logo pack.

Perhaps it would be useful, if it's not too much work, to provide the logo pack in a format accessible to SageTV 6 owners as well.

Cheers
Lester
__________________
Lester Jacobs
Web: http://www.digicasa.com
"The shortest answer is doing."
English Proverb. Collected in: George Herbert, Jacula Prudentum (1651).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2010, 03:45 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
The link in the first post takes you to the old download area and has a download link for v6 users, I'd never forget about you v6 guys ;o)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2010, 03:52 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by vividweb View Post
Sweet!!

Have you found a way to count the downloads yet? I would be curious how many Canadians are using Sage.
I moved the files to google code,


http://code.google.com/p/jorton

Works ok and has a built in download counter.

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2010, 07:35 AM
Lester Jacobs Lester Jacobs is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorton View Post
The link in the first post takes you to the old download area and has a download link for v6 users, I'd never forget about you v6 guys ;o)
Thanks

Cheers
Lester
__________________
Lester Jacobs
Web: http://www.digicasa.com
"The shortest answer is doing."
English Proverb. Collected in: George Herbert, Jacula Prudentum (1651).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2010, 05:35 PM
TwistedMelon TwistedMelon is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 554
Just FYI if you want to clean up some of the items in your compilation.

The logo for Comedy Network is incorrect. You've used the US Comedy Central logo.

All the logos appear to be 8bit (256 colours) which means there's only a single colour register used for the transparency. That's not going to look very good when you need to put the images on different coloured backgrounds.

A lot of the logos have simply had their backgrounds removed with the magic-wand or similar masking tool in an image editor, leaving behind tell-tale white or other colour artifacts. Ideally you start with high quality vector art files.

There are a lot of logos that have transparent areas where they shouldn't, such as the NBC Peacock - the body of the peacock should be white otherwise it won't show up well on mixed coloured backgrounds.

Here's where you can get high quality logos for most TV networks:

wikipedia.org - they have a ton in SVG - just search for the network name
brandsoftheworld.com - lots of logos - ai & eps usually

Lastly, search Google for "network name logo eps" or "network name vector logo"

I can't tell you how many logos I've previously gotten from places like Satlogos only to toss them because they were sub-par.

Take the vector images, load them into Illustrator or other vector app if you need to make edits, and then copy/paste into Photoshop or other bitmap image editor to create your 32bit PNG (24 bits of colour with 8bit alpha channel).

Lastly, run the PNG files through optiPNG and/or PNG Crush (or PNG crusher) to minimize file size where possible.
__________________
Bruno
Twisted Melon Inc.
While you're clicking, check out my Mini Theater custom build.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2010, 11:03 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Thanks for the feedback TwistedMelon (Bruno)

I wish I had talked with you prior to starting this whole thing it would have saved me some work. I think I might have gone about the whole process in the most difficult way possible by creating a set of logos on black backgrounds and then removing the black after rather than just using the original transparent logos as the source for the transparent set... lesson learned.

This whole thing started out for me as a way to contribute to the Sagetv scene as I'm not a programmer and I can't make cool STV's like Ortus/Phoenix/MyMovies so this seemed to be a good project.

I did use Wikipedia and Google for any images that I could but there are still a lot of logos that are just not in high quality like you pointed out especially the international or radio station logos. Didn't know about the Brands site though.

I have corrected the Comedy Central and NBC (not perfectly) logos and recompressed as 32bit PNG's as per you suggestion (I use batch processing in Adobe Bridge to get Fireworks to export a 32bit Png) and left the resolution at 800x400 since that's what my originals are. Even with the imperfections in my Photoshop work I think they look OK and hey no one has to rename 960 files by hand

If you notice any others that just don't look right visually or are just the wrong logo etc please let me know and I'll fix them up as the wife lets me waste more time, hey I don't want to get divorced over channel logos

You are the first to find some issues for me to fix and I appreciate it. I have just updated the plugin in the V7 repository and in the older download area to 1.01.

Cheers,

Jeremy

Last edited by jorton; 07-15-2010 at 05:49 AM. Reason: Added compression details.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2010, 10:38 AM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Thank you for collecting and providing these logos!

I recently switched to your set, since all logos have the same size. Prior to that I was using my own logos (collected from places like Wikipedia). The drawback with that was that there are quite some size and quality differences, and I didn't bother to touch any of those icons...

Anyhow what I did notice in your collection is that you use the generic logos for the US networks (ABC, NBC etc.), whereas I had previously used the logos of the local affiliates (KOMO, KING etc.). So I actually replaced those logos on my side now. This is obviously a thing of personal preference, but if you want to further tweak your collection, it's one suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-15-2010, 11:34 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post
Thank you for collecting and providing these logos!

I recently switched to your set, since all logos have the same size. Prior to that I was using my own logos (collected from places like Wikipedia). The drawback with that was that there are quite some size and quality differences, and I didn't bother to touch any of those icons...

Anyhow what I did notice in your collection is that you use the generic logos for the US networks (ABC, NBC etc.), whereas I had previously used the logos of the local affiliates (KOMO, KING etc.). So I actually replaced those logos on my side now. This is obviously a thing of personal preference, but if you want to further tweak your collection, it's one suggestion.
Hi Ricco66,

That was something I started doing but as the set grew to 960 logos I found that not every station had a decent local NBC logo for example and I decided for continuity that I would just take the current Generic NBC logo and use for all local affiliate stations, I may have been getting a little lazy too . I'll add it to my list and maybe do a mini project add those back as I can find good quality versions of them.

Thanks,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-20-2010, 07:01 AM
bsung bsung is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 167
I actually like the generic logos. I don't live in Canada, but was hoping I could use your download and modify the names to match my Verizon Fios station names. I'm like you and don't know how to program and feel as if I can't contribute much (although these logos look great and I'd consider that a contribution). I've never even heard of vector art and crushing a picture as the prior post mentioned. So if you don't mind, if I can find time, and if there is enough overlap between Canadian and Fios channels, I was hoping to put together a Fios logo set for people to use based on your logos with modified channel names. That's a lot of "if's" but was something I was considering anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-20-2010, 07:53 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsung View Post
I was hoping to put together a Fios logo set for people to use based on your logos with modified channel names. That's a lot of "if's" but was something I was considering anyway.
I've actually started work on this; I have a rough set of logos done as a first pass for all non-premium channels (e.g. HBO, etc). Perhaps you and I could work on this together? I started with a Comcast set and went from there.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-20-2010, 11:22 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Hey bsung,

I have no problem with you using any of the logos in the sets I have assembled, go nuts. I thought it was a big job getting a "Canada" wide set together, I can't imagine doing it again for all the markets in the US or even a portion of that to get coverage, yikes!

There were 960 individually named logos for the lineups I selected in Canada and luckily some were just duplicate logos with different ID's.

Hopefully you and darcilicious can share the work.

Cheers,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-20-2010, 03:57 PM
bsung bsung is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
I've actually started work on this; I have a rough set of logos done as a first pass for all non-premium channels (e.g. HBO, etc). Perhaps you and I could work on this together? I started with a Comcast set and went from there.
What do you think I can do to help? Again, I was just hoping there was enough overlap with Jorton's logos that I could just rename them. If you're talking about vector art and stuff like that, you might have to teach me before I can be of any help. I also don't have any real graphics programs except what comes with wndow 7. Is that good enough?

My cable provider is Fios in NJ. Are you working on a Fios set or Comcast? Do you know if cable providers use the same channel naming convention or do they differ by cable providers/regions?

Sorry, I seem to have more questions than answers.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:04 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Canadian Channel Logo Pack Transparent Update

I will be updating the "Canadian Channel Logo Pack Transparent" in the next month or so, I have one request for missing channels in Calgary so far and no other requests. If you are missing any Canadian channel logos that are not showing in the package please log on the following site and I will add to my list to update.

http://code.google.com/p/jorton/issues/list

Jeremy

--------------------------------------------------------

I will probably just update the following orginal list of providers and areas,

BELL EAST
BELL WEST
TELUS TV CALGARY
TELUS TV SAT BC AB
BELL TV CABLE TORONTO
SHAW CALGARY DIGITAL
SHAW DIRECT EAST (Starchoice)
SHAW DIRECT WEST (Starchoice)
SHAW NANAIMO DIGITAL
SHAW VANCOUVER DIGITAL
SHAW VICTORIA DIGITAL
SHAW EDMONTON DIGITAL
SHAW SASKATOON DIGITAL
SHAW WINNEPEG DIGITAL
SHAW KELOWNA DIGITAL
SHAW PRINCEGEORGE DIGITAL
ROGERS TORONTO DIGITAL
ROGERS KITCHENER GRAND RIVER DIGITAL
ROGERS BRAMPTON DIGITAL
ROGERS MISS REXDALE DIGITAL
ROGERS OTTAWA DIGITAL
COGECO OAKVILLE DIGITAL
VIDEOTRON MONTREAL
VIDEOTRON QUEBEC CITY DIGITAL
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:39 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,374
A logo for Setanta HD was missing in the pack (at least the pqck that I have from several months ago) as this channel is relatively new.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-06-2010, 12:53 AM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 401
Rogers Sportsnet One HD
Rogers Sportsnet Oilers HD
Rogers Sportsnet Flames HD
Rogers Sportsnet Canucks HD
Rogers Sportsnet Senators HD
Discovery World HD
Equator HD
Radx (www.radx.ca)
CKALDT (probably the Calgary channel requested)
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canadian Channel Logo Pack jorton SageTV Canada 5 07-11-2010 08:35 PM
Complete Shaw Cable Logo Pack jorton SageTV Canada 13 06-22-2010 07:58 AM
Logos: The Complete Comcast Transparent Logo Collection mkanet SageTV Customizations 15 06-16-2010 12:30 PM
Logo pack for Time Warner Cable, Rochester, NY BlueH2O SageTV Customizations 0 04-23-2008 08:39 AM
Transparent logo backgrounds tvmaster2 SageTV Software 6 09-18-2006 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.