SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2011, 09:48 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Free Android application: TaSageTVRemote

Tallus android SageTV Remote is basically a Remote control to take over any of your SageTV 7 Client(s) and/or Extender(s), through the comfort of your Android device.

Detailed instructions are available on the TaSageTVRemote wiki. But essentially you need to install/configure SageTCPServer from the SageTV 7 plugin interface. If your SageTV server is not on 192.168.0.100 (or if you have enabled the password protection), you will also need to configure TaSageTVRemote from the top-left icon.

This application is available for free (ad supported) on The Market. If you like it, consider upgrading to the full TaSageTV experience.

__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad

Last edited by Fonceur; 03-03-2012 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:04 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Anyone actually using it? I see it in the range of 500-1000 downloads, yet no one has actually rated or reviewed it...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2011, 03:09 PM
vikingisson vikingisson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 212
Not sure if anyone is using it. I grabbed it today and only have a few minutes use so far. So far I can't say if the boot loop I found my phone in is related but that's what I found after I put the phone down for a while. However the basics seemed to work for the short time I tested. Given the state of Sagetv I would suggest making the full version free if there will ever be a full version. If that full feature version isn't yet ready then I won't hold my breath. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2011, 09:40 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingisson View Post
So far I can't say if the boot loop I found my phone in is related but that's what I found after I put the phone down for a while.
Since the app has to be launched manually, it could not create a boot loop...

Quote:
If that full feature version isn't yet ready then I won't hold my breath.
There has been a full version available for over a year, it just isn't available through The Market...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:09 PM
vikingisson vikingisson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 212
Probably not create a bootloop, that had to be a coincidence but I haven't had a sudden crash much less a bootloop like that in a long time. Tried it again today and it didn't FC. Anyway, why not put out the full version for free since I doubt you're getting a lot of sales in these dying days of Sagetv. I'd use it if it could do more than a dedicated remote.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:18 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingisson View Post
Anyway, why not put out the full version for free since I doubt you're getting a lot of sales in these dying days of Sagetv.
Just because a manufacturer closes down, you don't see stores giving away whatever the manufacturer was making for free... Or I would have liked getting a free car from GM/Chrysler, when they filled for bankruptcy...

Quote:
I'd use it if it could do more than a dedicated remote.
You can use the free mobile web server...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:24 PM
vikingisson vikingisson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
Just because a manufacturer closes down, you don't see stores giving away whatever the manufacturer was making for free... Or I would have liked getting a free car from GM/Chrysler, when they filled for bankruptcy...
No they get rid of whatever is left at a steep discount and if that doesn't move them fast enough they take a loss but they certainly don't keep selling. But that's your decision not mine. Good luck anyway.


Quote:
You can use the free mobile web server...
looked at that a while back an no, not a good experience.

Never mind me, I don't give a crap anymore. Google has made me loose a lot of confidence lately in most things tech.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2011, 07:13 AM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 369
Well I like it.

I actually prefer the remote only version. While I don't use it as my primary remote it does come in very handy - especially if somebody else in the room has the main remote and leaves to go do something. I don't have to get up to get it to skip or deal with the end of a show.

It's also nice if the room is dark - my primary remote doesn't light up.

Oh - and then there's the times when I'm in my bedroom and the kids crank up the living room too loud. Since it's wifi I can do that (or stop playback for that matter) from anywhere in the house.

I had tried out TASageTV but found the remote to be the most useful part of it for me.

The would like it if it would use hostnames for the client PC's though.

Thanks Fonceur.
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2011, 08:59 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoful View Post
While I don't use it as my primary remote it does come in very handy
Feel free to add a review on The Market...

Quote:
The would like it if it would use hostnames for the client PC's though.
Right, I am reusing someone else TCP stack, so never really gave it more thought, but I'll try to look into that. I don't have my HTPC on a fixed IP, so it is indeed annoying when the DHCP reassign it...

EDIT: Actually, it's the iOS TCP stack that I reused, the Android one is all mine...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad

Last edited by Fonceur; 10-09-2011 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2011, 10:06 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoful View Post
The would like it if it would use hostnames for the client PC's though.
I looked into it, but unfortunately it can't be done easily... The issue is something along the lines of your Android device not using your local DNS, so it can't map your computer name to an actual IP address...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-09-2011, 04:40 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
I tried it and rated it. Works well. My only comment and I am not sure you control this, but its kind of hard to get to the middle screen because it goes right by to the end one. The middle screen needs to be a little stickier

I will probably end up using this because its really fast to get to what you want. I loose my remotes a lot so its a natural fit for me

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-09-2011, 04:47 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by PosterBoy View Post
My only comment and I am not sure you control this, but its kind of hard to get to the middle screen because it goes right by to the end one. The middle screen needs to be a little stickier
Right, the iOS version actually snaps to the left/center/right screen, thanks to the "scrollview paging", unfortunately Android doesn't have the equivalent, and yes I've looked for it!
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-09-2011, 05:07 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
One other comment. It would be nice to have the Page up/down control on the same page as the arrow keys. I always use them while I am navigating

I am also seeing force closes frequently when I come out of sleep mode on my phone

Also, a warning when you launch it and you dont have wifi on would be a good thing
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-09-2011, 05:40 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by PosterBoy View Post
It would be nice to have the Page up/down control on the same page as the arrow keys.
The Channel Up/Down does include the Page Up/Down functionality... The first page does have some extra room, so I might be able to add them there too...

Quote:
I am also seeing force closes frequently when I come out of sleep mode on my phone
If you could use something like aLogCat to get me a log, I can see what is actually crashing...

Quote:
Also, a warning when you launch it and you dont have wifi on would be a good thing
Well, the connection icons should already be a good indicator... Some devices can take up to 30 seconds to wake up the wifi antenna...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-09-2011, 05:55 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
The Channel Up/Down does include the Page Up/Down functionality... The first page does have some extra room, so I might be able to add them there too...
I hadn't originally seen the arrow keys on the middle screen, so I see they are all together, but I think if you can fit the channel/page up/down keys on the first page it would be nice.

I will do my best to get you a log
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-09-2011, 06:06 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
Right, the iOS version actually snaps to the left/center/right screen, thanks to the "scrollview paging", unfortunately Android doesn't have the equivalent, and yes I've looked for it!
Its a bummer, because the feel you get when switching home screens is what you want. I am surprised that isn't available somehow. I'm not an android programmer so unfortunately I can't help
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:09 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
I sent a error crash report via the android market for the force close issue. Is that good enough? It seemed to contain the logs you need
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-09-2011, 09:45 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by PosterBoy View Post
I sent a error crash report via the android market for the force close issue. Is that good enough?
I don't know, not seeing anything yet... But there is a version 1.11 for download with the extra controls...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-10-2011, 05:42 AM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
I looked into it, but unfortunately it can't be done easily... The issue is something along the lines of your Android device not using your local DNS, so it can't map your computer name to an actual IP address...
At one point if I recall correctly we had to build in the IP manually and assign it a label. I don't mind using statics and it would be nice to be able to assign an alias if that would be easier. It would also be really cool if it would only show IP's of devices that have Sage on them.

I'll give it a review in the next couple of days.

Thanks again.
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-10-2011, 07:28 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
I rated you on the market. Nice app. Works better on a tablet size screen. All the buttons are there and you don't have to scroll. I don't really like having a touchscreen remote that I have to look down at to do anything, but it is still pretty cool.

Once I get my iPhone I'll try the full app.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android application: taSageTV Fonceur SageTV v7 Customizations 1559 12-14-2016 10:23 AM
SageTV as Android for TVs? perholm General Discussion 10 06-23-2011 08:26 PM
Android application: PlayOn - TV Recordings, MKVs, music, pics, Hulu (Coming soon!!!) mkanet SageTV Customizations 5 11-30-2010 10:58 AM
Android client? equalize SageTV Placeshifter 1 07-22-2010 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.