SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2013, 11:24 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
Java Version 7 Update 21

I upgraded to this Java release SJQ3 would not run jobs it would fail after the first job. ... and Sage was slow starting.... So if you choose to upgrade keep a close eye on it. I reverted back to update 15 which was the previous one I was running with.

see release notes
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-19-2013 at 11:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:22 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Weird. I upgraded to 7u21 around Wednesday and comskip is being triggered just fine and the SJQ3 UI is accessible. I did notice that the SJQ3 client had stopped at some point, but it has been working fine since I restarted it that one time. It ran 5 comskip jobs in succession just last night.

EDIT: Also, I have not noticed any slowdowns in Sage stopping or starting.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7

Last edited by Skirge01; 04-19-2013 at 01:02 PM. Reason: Clarified that I'm running SJQ3, not 4.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:29 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
When you say SJQ do you mean 4 or 3 I know the SJQ3 client definitely has a problem with this version of Java. I stated above SJQ3.

Code:
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | Exception in thread "Thread-95" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | Exception in thread "Thread-93" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | Exception in thread "Thread-94" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:21 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | Exception in thread "Thread-97" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | Exception in thread "Thread-98" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | Exception in thread "Thread-99" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument has embedded quote, use the explicit CMD.EXE call.
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.isQuoted(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.needsEscaping(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at java.lang.Runtime.exec(Unknown Source)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/19 08:56:22 | 	at com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.SJQThread.run(Unknown Source)
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-19-2013 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:05 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
When you say SJQ do you mean 4 or 3 I know the SJQ3 client definitely has a problem with this version of Java. I stated above SJQ3.
I edited my reply to show I was talking about SJQ3. Let me know where the log file you're looking at is located and I'll take a look at mine.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:08 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
It is in the wrapper log file.

sjqc_winntsvc\logs
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:20 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
It is in the wrapper log file.

sjqc_winntsvc\logs
Definitely not seeing that. Looks like my Java update was on 4/16 and I started up the service again just last night. It processed those 5 comskips on 4/18 after 22:42 without any errors in the log.

Code:
FATAL  | wrapper  | 2013/04/16 18:01:02 | Unable to execute Java command.  The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
FATAL  | wrapper  | 2013/04/16 18:01:02 |     "java" -Djava.library.path="../lib" -classpath "../lib/wrappertest.jar;../lib/wrapper.jar;sjqc.jar;json.jar" -Dwrapper.key="0w0ePxVgo3jQINTH" -Dwrapper.port=32000 -Dwrapper.jvm.port.min=31000 -Dwrapper.jvm.port.max=31999 -Dwrapper.pid=1640 -Dwrapper.version="3.3.1" -Dwrapper.native_library="wrapper" -Dwrapper.service="TRUE" -Dwrapper.cpu.timeout="10" -Dwrapper.jvmid=4 org.tanukisoftware.wrapper.WrapperSimpleApp com.google.code.sagetvaddons.sjqc.TaskClient
FATAL  | wrapper  | 2013/04/16 18:01:02 | Critical error: wait for JVM process failed
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:04 | --> Wrapper Started as Service
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:04 | Java Service Wrapper Community Edition 3.3.1
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:04 |   Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Tanuki Software, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:04 |     http://wrapper.tanukisoftware.org
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:04 | 
STATUS | wrapper  | 2013/04/18 22:42:05 | Launching a JVM...
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/18 22:42:05 | WrapperManager: Initializing...
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/18 22:42:05 | SJQ Task Client v3.0.2.771
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2013/04/18 22:42:05 | Using 'C:/sjqc' as location for configuration file...
I even included the error which caused the service to die. I'd like to figure out what caused that, since it happens every few weeks, but not in this thread.

One thing to note is that I'm running Sage and the SJQ3 client under Windows XP 32-bit, not Windows 7.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:38 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
Do you run any batch jobs? I use SJQ extensively. It appears that the problem is when it tries to run batch jobs that use Windows Command Processor. (CMD.EXE)

PS I am on windows 8 64 bit.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:56 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Only the launching of comskip.exe with specific ini files based on some conditions. I don't have anything that launches cmd.exe.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2013, 02:08 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Only the launching of comskip.exe with specific ini files based on some conditions. I don't have anything that launches cmd.exe.
Thanks for your input I fired it up on my test machine and it is anything that uses cmd.exe that fails, I will check with slugger when I see him on.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2013, 05:35 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
My guess is that Java 7 reworked their Process class and I'd need to rework its usage in SJQ. Definitely never going to be fixed in SJQv3 (long since dead to me, sorry). And I'm not likely to even tackle it for SJQv4 for some time and that's only if it ends up being a problem in my new environment. (Yes, after 5+ years I'm building a new server this summer!! Time for me to go Win7 x64!! Got my mobo picked out and contemplating 16 or 32GB of RAM. ). Anyway, my plan is to stick with Java 6 for Sage, but if I happen to go 7 and that upgrade causes me problems with SJQv4, then I'd likely address it then. If not, then since the project remains EOL'd, I wouldn't fix it.

Don't hold me to it, but if I did go Java 7 and SJQ caused me enough headaches by doing so, I might even write SJQv5 this fall. So many ideas still in my notebook for such a project, but never a reason to do it. Likely wouldn't happen, but we'll see.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-21-2013, 07:00 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,049
Understood I did a work around with the batchfile for SJQ to point to java 6 even though Sage uses Java 7 ... I need Java 7 in Sage because of the Phoenix android app.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Update sandor SageTV Mac Edition 4 10-10-2008 01:33 PM
Java update on WHS version of Sage? Slipshod SageTV Software 4 04-14-2008 01:03 PM
Which Java version is stable with which SageTV version? reboot_this SageTV Software 2 04-27-2007 06:17 AM
Java Update ?? mightyt SageTV Software 5 11-17-2005 12:14 AM
Need to update Java? Opus4 SageTV Beta Test Software 13 01-29-2004 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.