SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #381  
Old 10-20-2018, 05:00 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,063
Did you try running the installer as admin?

Seems its having issues elevating.

k
Reply With Quote
  #382  
Old 11-05-2018, 10:21 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Anyone noticing more spinning circles of death/patience?

After upgrading to 9.1.10, I've noticed more spinning circles of patience, mostly (?only) when viewing on a client. I'll try to grab a relevant log as soon as it happens again.

Anyone else with this issue?
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #383  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:47 AM
perfessor101 perfessor101 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 235
I have similar but on the client, server and extenders

Iím trying to automate a google drive folder with logs from the past 7 days for debugging
__________________
SageTV Server: Windows 7 64Bit, Phenom II X6 1090T, Asus M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3), ATI Radeon HD 4290, 2 x KHX1600C9D3/4GX, 4 x HD-PVR2 Gaming, , 4 x 320GB recording drives, 2 x USB-UIRT, SageTV Server Beta
SageTV Client & 2 x HD-300 Extender.
40.8TB unRaid 6.6.5 media server
Reply With Quote
  #384  
Old 11-06-2018, 09:21 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 754
What version did you update from. The latest update was very minor, according to the update log.

If itís a memory issue, be patient a 64-bit version is coming soon!
Reply With Quote
  #385  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:06 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
I updated from just the last one, v9.1.9.

I was surprised also, given the minimal logged changes.

I've yet to revert back to 9.1.9 to see if that truly is the reason. Though I have made no other changes to my system.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #386  
Old 11-06-2018, 08:25 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
I updated from just the last one, v9.1.9.

I was surprised also, given the minimal logged changes.

I've yet to revert back to 9.1.9 to see if that truly is the reason. Though I have made no other changes to my system.
In the past one time I had a significant problem with spiny circle and slow response and it was suggested that I try rebooting my Ethernet switch. That resolved my issue immediately. Worth trying a reboot of everything before you try downgrading IMHO. I have been running 9.10 for weeks and have not noticed any significant change in behavior from the over year old version I upgraded from. I have a dedicated sage server and play back on HD300s.
Reply With Quote
  #387  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:07 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Good idea, would have tried the reboot if I had seen your message sooner.

I did revert though and immediately found that the spinning circles returned to their 'normal' frequency, which is to say, far less.

What is your server machine?
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #388  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:16 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 754
That’s interesting. To be fair, the “minor” update did actually affect the memory usage by storing the show titles and descriptions in UTF (i.e. 2-byte per char java strings) instead of just byte arrays. It’s possible that is pushing your heap over its limits. If you are so inclined, look at the memory usage under the system info with both versions and see if there’s a measurable difference.

In any event, a 64-bit Windows server will mean you can crank up the heap size and make this go away, even for the occasional 9.1.9 spinning circles.

Last edited by wnjj; 11-07-2018 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #389  
Old 11-07-2018, 12:51 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Thatís interesting. To be fair, the ďminorĒ update did actually affect the memory usage by storing the show titles and descriptions in UTF (i.e. 2-byte per char java strings) instead of just byte arrays. Itís possible that is pushing your heap over its limits. If you are so inclined, look at the memory usage under the system info with both versions and see if thereís a measurable difference.

In any event, a 64-bit Windows server will mean you can crank up the heap size and make this go away, even for the occasional 9.1.9 spinning circles.
Good points. Do you have a recommendation on heap size?
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #390  
Old 11-07-2018, 01:54 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Good points. Do you have a recommendation on heap size?
I run my at the default (768M) with 2 extenders and a vanilla GUI setup. Pushing it higher has shown to have mixed results since increasing the heap cuts into the native memory. There's only 2GB available to 32-bit processes for all of the native and Java code. When the 64-bit Windows version is complete and released your heap can can be several GB if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #391  
Old 11-07-2018, 06:29 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
A couple more questions in preparation for the 64-bit version...

The Java version installed would need to be 64-bit then, correct?

OpenDCT, I think that could still be the 32-bit version?
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #392  
Old 11-07-2018, 06:31 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
A couple more questions in preparation for the 64-bit version...

The Java version installed would need to be 64-bit then, correct?

OpenDCT, I think that could still be the 32-bit version?
Yes for Java and I'm pretty sure yes, OpenDCT runs as it's own app.
Reply With Quote
  #393  
Old 11-07-2018, 06:31 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
What version did you update from. The latest update was very minor, according to the update log.

If itís a memory issue, be patient a 64-bit version is coming soon!
Woo Hoo

Can't wait. Hopefully it'll be an early Christmas present for my wife.
Especially if able to bump up the heap and it takes care of the sporadic spinning circles.
Reply With Quote
  #394  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:20 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
A couple more questions in preparation for the 64-bit version...

The Java version installed would need to be 64-bit then, correct?

OpenDCT, I think that could still be the 32-bit version?
There's a 64-bit version of OpenDCT. I'm not sure how it determines which JAVA to use, but seems like I had issues that required some manual configuration changes to get things to work when I tried to have both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of JAVA installed on Windows. If it stops working after installing 64-bit JAVA you could just uninstall the 32-bit version and install the 64-bit one...
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #395  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:21 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Good idea, would have tried the reboot if I had seen your message sooner.

I did revert though and immediately found that the spinning circles returned to their 'normal' frequency, which is to say, far less.

What is your server machine?
It is an HP EX495 with 4 GB RAM running Windows home server 2011. Having read the subsequent posts I checked the java heap size setting in the registry. Max Java Heap size is set to 1024. While recording 1 show Sage reports Java heap size (used/total /max) 724/1038/1038. Checking server memory I see that 3.16 GB is in use. WHS 2011 is a 64 bit OS.

Last edited by photon; 11-07-2018 at 09:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #396  
Old 11-08-2018, 08:10 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Mine is set to 1024 as well.

Without anything going on in Sage, my JVM Heap size info was 402/615/1038 (on 9.1.9).

When another version pops up (9.1.11?), maybe I'll upgrade to 9.1.10 first to get a screen grab of its memory usage before upgrading once again.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.1.9 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium, Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.7u80
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Retired: ATI HDTV Wonder for OTA HD, VBox DTA-150 for OTA HD, Conexant 2388x (Blackbird) analog capture to Comcast DTA cable box with USBUirt, ATI Remote Wonder Plus, Fanless Radeon HD 6450
Reply With Quote
  #397  
Old 11-08-2018, 08:50 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Mine is set to 1024 as well.

Without anything going on in Sage, my JVM Heap size info was 402/615/1038 (on 9.1.9).

When another version pops up (9.1.11?), maybe I'll upgrade to 9.1.10 first to get a screen grab of its memory usage before upgrading once again.
Any revisions after 9.1.10 will likely have the same memory footprint. If you want to help measure the difference from 9.1.9, save the sage.jar file somewhere before upgrading to 9.1.10. To revert back after upgrading you can just shut down sage and revert the sage.jar back to the 9.1.9 version since that's the only change.
Reply With Quote
  #398  
Old 11-11-2018, 03:52 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
There's a 64-bit version of OpenDCT. I'm not sure how it determines which JAVA to use, but seems like I had issues that required some manual configuration changes to get things to work when I tried to have both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of JAVA installed on Windows. If it stops working after installing 64-bit JAVA you could just uninstall the 32-bit version and install the 64-bit one...
It works based on whatever version is defined in the PATH environment variable. That usually translates to whatever Java you installed last. I wish JSW was a little more intelligent about this.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #399  
Old 11-12-2018, 12:01 PM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Any revisions after 9.1.10 will likely have the same memory footprint. If you want to help measure the difference from 9.1.9, save the sage.jar file somewhere before upgrading to 9.1.10. To revert back after upgrading you can just shut down sage and revert the sage.jar back to the 9.1.9 version since that's the only change.
I can't even run 9.1.10. All I get is the spinning circle. If it finally loads, after a few operations, it goes to the continuous spinning circle. I was able to access sage service using my tablet/mini-client, but I didn't do much of a test. Now that I see this, I will experiment with the heap size, but I'm pretty sure that it's already way up there. So right now, I"m stuck at 9.1.9.

Edit: I had JVMMaxHeapSizeMB set to 0400 (1024), the max. SageService won't run if it's set to 0300. SO, I'm maxed-out with 9.1.9 and can't upgrade to 9.1.10 with the current memory use under windows.

Another edit: Any suggestions? I wonder if I have unintentionally installed a plugin that uses a lot of memory. Any way to check? (Or it could just be that I have a LOT of shows).
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB

Last edited by davidk21770; 11-14-2018 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #400  
Old 11-21-2018, 03:36 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 157
I was on 9.1.5.683 until October when I upgraded to 9.1.10. at first I didn't notice anything different about the software. The more I have used it over time though I do believe it does not perform as well (Sluggish response to moving back and forth in a recording). I have decided to downgrade from 9.1.10 to 9.1.9. and try that before going back to 9.1.5.

I don't know if 64 bit windows version with 64 bit java will work any better for me when it comes out given that my server is maxed out at 4 GB of physical RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Github Development 460 08-21-2017 03:47 AM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.