SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2020, 01:24 PM
Mugsy Mugsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 35
Question Help! Sage won't install (or is already installed) and won't run.

I'm trying to get Sage to install/run under Ubuntu 20 (my goal is to watch OTA TV on the same PC Sage is installed to.) I have a USB tuner.

I downloaded/installed both the Sage9 Client AND Server, but when I'm done, the only app on my PC is the "Sage Mini-client" which opens "SageTV Placeshifter Servers Manager". Not terribly useful. Selecting the Default setting and clicking "Connect" does nothing obvious.

Beyond that, there are no other apps to run to get the SageTV app (I have it installed and running under Windows, so I'm familiar with how it should look/work.)

I tried the CLI "install" commands at the start of this thread, but it does not do anything.

What am I missing? TIA.

Setup: 64bit Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Ryzen 3 3100cpu with 16gb of memory
nVidia GTX670
kWorld-485 USB tuner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2020, 03:23 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
I donít run Linux, but it is my understanding that there has never been a full Client for Linux. There is only the Server and the Placeshifter/Mini-Client.

I donít know how great the playback experience is with the Linux Placeshifter. I know the Windows Placeshifter is not great.

I think that most of the people using Linux (or UnRaid), run Sage as a headless server and use something else for playback (either an HDx00 Extender, an Android Mini-Client, or a Windows Client).

Maybe Iím wrong and some people do use Linux for playback too - hopefully they will chime in.

Anyway it sounds like you are launching the mini-client but it is not Finding/connecting to the server for some reason.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2020, 11:12 AM
Mugsy Mugsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 35
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I donít run Linux, but it is my understanding that there has never been a full Client for Linux.
Thx for the reply.

If SageTV does not have a viewer for Live TV , then can anyone recommend a program to watch TV from Linux?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2020, 08:07 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugsy View Post
Thx for the reply.

If SageTV does not have a viewer for Live TV , then can anyone recommend a program to watch TV from Linux?
Just to clarify, a mini-client can playback video, Iím just not sure how great the experience is in Linux..

The big difference between a mini-client and a full client is how things work under the hood. With a full client, the server does very little work when it comes to playback, menu navigation, etc. The client is responsible for doing all this and uses native code (code compiled specifically for the Hardware and operating system being used) for video playback.

With a mini client, the server handles all the menu navigation - the mini client renders the screens but it doesnít really know what it is rendering. When you install a plugin through a mini client, it actually gets installed on the server, and all the properties are stored up on the server too. Video playback is handled a little differently for each mini client. For Android, they make use of a third party video player (actually 2 different ones that the user has to choose between: IJK or Exoplayer). I think the Windows and Linux Mini clients use something called MPlayer. The HDx00 extenders have their own native video playback code and hardware decoders.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2020, 08:44 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugsy View Post
Thx for the reply.

If SageTV does not have a viewer for Live TV , then can anyone recommend a program to watch TV from Linux?
An HD200 or HD300 box. You can buy them cheaply on the used market now and they run busybox Linux.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2020, 03:32 PM
Mugsy Mugsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
An HD200 or HD300 box. You can buy them cheaply on the used market now and they run busybox Linux.
Why buy a new tuner when I already have one? (two actually.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2020, 03:35 PM
Mugsy Mugsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Just to clarify, a mini-client can playback video, Iím just not sure how great the experience is in Linux..
A nice GUI is secondary. If there's no way to record video from my tuner, then it doesn't matter whether or not I can play back the video. There are much better apps for video playback.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2020, 04:28 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugsy View Post
Why buy a new tuner when I already have one? (two actually.)
It is not a tuner - it is a playback device. The reason to buy one when you have a PC is that it is WAY easier to use one of these boxes which are plug and play, compared to futzing around getting SageTV playback to work in Linux.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2020, 08:58 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugsy View Post
A nice GUI is secondary. If there's no way to record video from my tuner, then it doesn't matter whether or not I can play back the video. There are much better apps for video playback.
I just noticed your previous post mentioned a kworld tuner? Iíve never heard of this so no idea if you will be able to make it work with Sage.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2020, 10:45 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 625
The good news is that the kWorld tuner works in Linux, as you may already know. The bad news is that desktop playback on Sage v9 does not work. You would have to view the (mpeg2) captures on an external player, such as VLC or Totem (Ubuntu's default), but that reduces Sage to simply being scheduled recorder ...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-20-2020, 02:49 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 308
Running Sagetv in Linux

I run Linux server & Playshifter on Mx Linux 19.2 The playshifter is good for managing the recorder from the server but you won't be able to successfully playback video in Sagetv directly. Sagetv runs a modified version of mplayer. I haven't been able to get it working on my linux pc ( all i get is a blackscreen).

For playback I use either VLC on already recorded files or Kaffeine which will work for live playback on a dedicated tuner as well as file playback. For that to work the tuner needs to be dedicated to either Sagetv or Kaffeine use. You can't run it with both programs, must be one or other. Kaffeine will work with Hauppauge tuners (pcie cards) not the network ones such as HDHR ones. Otherwise use a full client on a Windows PC or an Android miniclient ( I use Firestick 4K) for playback.

For those with an HDHomerun network tuner you can play live tv from a HDHomerun gui available on their site for Linux as well. It works with VLC & your browser. For remote clients you are better off with Android devices or a Win 10 client PC. Hope this helps. There are some that have gotten playback on Ubuntu but I don't use that so can't weigh in on that subject. Good Luck! I don't have any experience with tuners other than Hauppauge pcie cards or HDHomerun network tuners.

https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/linux Talks about the gui.
https://www.silicondust.com/support/linux/
I havent tried kodi for tv viewing & recording since I prefer Sagetv. The gui is handy for tweaking your antenna position as well.

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 10-20-2020 at 02:56 AM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-20-2020, 03:05 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 308
SageTV & Linux part 2

Kaffeine will record shows too. It is pretty simplistic compared to Sagetv. It grabs epg data from ota feed so max 12 hrs ahead. It saves file in a format that only it can play. It is more like the old Win Media Center to a degree. Good for one off recording not for scheduling favorites etc.

Unfortunately, You are kind of crippled if you don't use either HDHomerun or Hauppauge pci tuners in my opinion, with SageTV. I can't comment on other media software.

https://apps.kde.org/en/kaffeine

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 10-20-2020 at 03:07 AM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oopsie- installed win sage instead of whs add-in- how to fix? btrcp2000 SageTV Software 2 08-07-2010 08:41 AM
Recording that will not go away and I just installed sage FormatC: SageTV Software 1 06-12-2006 05:22 PM
Just installed new sage 2.2.7. all i get is snow as a picture queens3358 SageTV Software 2 03-27-2005 10:27 PM
Sage 2.1 installed itself over 2.0? rrussell SageTV Software 11 01-27-2005 01:38 PM
Must sage tv 2.0 be installed over 1.4? carlgar SageTV Beta Test Software 10 01-30-2004 06:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.