SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2003, 10:19 AM
repoman repoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 10
MyHD card and SageTV

I've been looking around here and AVS for a similiar problem, too no avail. When SageTV is running (cable input) my MyHD card will not work with OTA digital signals. Analogue stations work- sometimes choppy- but all I get on digital stations is a green screen. When I close SageTV and re-open MYHD the digital signals work fine. Any ideas why this happening?
Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:21 PM
smurgle smurgle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 9
repoman,

I have the same problem, when SageTV is running, the MyHD signal strength = 0 and when SageTV is not running, the MyHD works correctly. It is driving me bonkers.

It is as if SageTV is "grabbing" the MyHD card in addition to the PVR250.

I hope that this can be fixed/resolved soon, because I can't use SageTV unless it is fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:44 PM
Mark Lamutt's Avatar
Mark Lamutt Mark Lamutt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HDTV Wastland known as Denver, CO
Posts: 769
I had a similar problem at first when I was using my hipix card and SageTV together. The problem in my case was when SageTV initializes the Directshow graph, it steals it away from the hipix if the hipix is already running. What I had to do was to make sure to start SageTV first, and then the hipix app. Then both behaved as they should. This was quite a while ago, and many versions of SageTV ago, though. I'm sure Jeff will jimp in with other suggestions.
__________________
Mark
mark@freytechnologies.com
The picture is of my kitty, Myko at 9 months old.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2003, 05:02 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,316
I just fixed this problem the other day. There's a DLL file in the main 1.4.8 thread. Use that and it should make it all better.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2003, 06:52 PM
smurgle smurgle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 9
Jeffrey, unfortunately the new dll does not seem to fix the problem or change the behavior in any way for me.

Let me know if you need any particular details.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2003, 01:04 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,316
smurgle,

The other option is to add it to
mmc/ignore_encoders=
in the properties file. Find the video_capture_device for the MyHD card. And then add that name to mmc/ignore_encoders. That'll completely stop Sage from accessing the MyHD card at load.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2003, 06:29 PM
smurgle smurgle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 9
Adding the MyHD to the mmc/ignore encoders list works great for me. I can finally use SageTV all the time now.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2003, 09:15 AM
repoman repoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 10
Guys,
Could you possibly give me a step by step in Win XP on using the mmc/ignore_encoders= solution? I am kind of thick sometimes. In what properties file do I find the list? How do do I get there? Thanks very much for your time, it is greatly appreciated. I won't usually come to this board unless I'm desperate. Kind of like asking for directions when you are "lost"!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2003, 11:16 AM
smurgle smurgle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 9
repoman,

Here is how I did it.

1. Go to SageTV installed folder with windows explorer
2. Open "sagetv.properties", if XP asks what program to use, choose Notepad
3. find the line "mmc/ignore_encoders="
4. add a new entry to the line "MDP100 Capture"

my line looks like
mmc/ignore_encoders=SB Live\! Wave Device,SB Live\! MIDI UART,MDP100 Capture,

I put the trailing comma on there because there was one already

You use the same string exactly ("MDP100 Capture" in this case) from when you do SageTV setup and are choosing capture devices. Just letting you know in case the card you are trying to ignore is different from mine. (MyHD 100)

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2003, 12:27 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,316
Two notes, it's the sage.properties file you're editing, and do it while SageTV is NOT running.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-06-2003, 11:27 AM
repoman repoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 10
Thanks guys. Sorry I didn't get back sooner. The fix worked well. Myhd is back and running smoothly with Sage in sleep mode. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-08-2003, 04:36 PM
robn robn is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
Hmm,

Does anyone utilize the sound blaster audigy platinum and had luck with dolby digital passthrough. I am beg. to think that this issue will end up being completly human error .. but I am beat for any other way to get this thing to work right.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.