SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2003, 10:02 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Sage 1.4 puts WMA files into Video section

I added my WMA directory to Sage's list, but it puts these files in the Video section instead of the Music section. The ID tag also doesn't get read.

Will support for WMA tags be added in the future?

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2003, 11:50 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
What filename extension are these using? There's no current plans to support Windows Media because it doesn't work for networked playback. Microsoft uses a proprietary file reading technique that I'm sure they have no plans of publicizing.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2003, 08:35 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
What filename extension are these using? There's no current plans to support Windows Media because it doesn't work for networked playback. Microsoft uses a proprietary file reading technique that I'm sure they have no plans of publicizing.
They're WMA files with the same extension (.WMA). If you add it to the Library extension list, it puts them in the Video section. Clicking on any of them causes Sage to report that "There was an error with DirectShow. Default Rending of output pin on source filter failed. ErrCode=0x-7ff8fff2"

It would be nice to play them even without the tags. Personally, I resisted WMA as opposed to MP3 because of Microsoft, but the files are much smaller and sound better at 96kbps VBR with the WMA than my MP3s did with 128kbps VBR. Not to mention the large amount of disk space saved.

Anyway, I just thought that using DirectShow would be possible to make it able to play (kind of like their MediaPlayer OCX used to - or probably still does).

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2003, 11:00 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
That's why .wma isn't on the list by default. You may have gotten better compression, but as you know, the price you pay is that Microsoft owns the intellectual property rights to the key that unlocks your content.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2003, 10:01 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
That's why .wma isn't on the list by default. You may have gotten better compression, but as you know, the price you pay is that Microsoft owns the intellectual property rights to the key that unlocks your content.
Oh well...

I hate giving in to Microsoft, but you have to admit that the sound quality is really good with the small sizes.....

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2004, 03:18 PM
sleight42's Avatar
sleight42 sleight42 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 148
Argh! And my WMAs were encoded without MS encryption but I'm still boned? Feh.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2004, 04:33 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Jeff, my experience is that any file (other than the defaults) you try to import goes in the video section. I tried to import my Monkey's Audio collection (found a DS APE decoder) but the files showed up in the video area and I got a DS error about connecting the video when I tried to play them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.