SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:17 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Recommended NAS?

I have two QAM tuners and once my cable company gets their act together, I will have an R5000 recorder. I only have a little 250GB drive for my normal recordings right now and that seems to work well, but there have been times where I've nearly ran out of space just with SD recordings. Knowing that HD recordings are much bigger, I think it's time that I get some dedicated space for Sage recordings.

I'm looking for a NAS appliance and I know people in the Sage community have them. Any recommendations or warnings on products to look at and ones to stay away from are welcome and appreciated. I'll want at least 1TB of usable storage and the ability for RAID0+1 or RAID5.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:23 AM
lotusvball's Avatar
lotusvball lotusvball is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 476
I built my own using NASLite+ from server elements. Program cost under $30 dollars and if you have an old system you can use that I have a Raid 5 setup with 4 500gb drives.
__________________
Intel Core Duo 2.5mhz, 2gb RAM
Windows Home Server, Sage 7 beta
2 Hauppauge PVR-250, 1 PVR-500 MCE
1 HDHomeRun
4TB Storage, GB Network
2 MVPs, 1 HD100 & 1 HD300
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:29 AM
dpackham dpackham is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 160
Two other options are both free. Openfiler and freenas. both use old hardware and drives. both have TONS of features. google them both

Dave P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:36 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Unfortunately, at this time, I don't have any spare hardware lying around. The one system that I do have left will be dedicated to the R5000. FreeNAS would feel right at home with my m0n0wall

Thanks for the ideas though, keep them coming! I especially am looking for recommendations from people who have has personal experience with XX brand, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:51 AM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
I use the Thecus N5200 since is supports five drives. I run it in a RAID-5 configuration, but I wouldn't recommend that if you will be reading and writing HD content. The best way that I have found to bring it to its knees is to copy a DVD to it while I am copying one from. The parity calculations are not good. It should be much better as a JBOD or RAID-0. FWIW, the only reason I went RAID-5 was because I didn't want to have to rerip my DVD collection if a drive failed.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:34 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I went through this same exercise and contemplated all the options for months. Infrant's ReadyNAS was at the top of my list, but even then it wasn't fast enough. After deciding to build myself a server that had the disk (RAID 5) and throughput (NIC, CPU) speed I desired, it made sense to move my SageTV Server application to the same box. Everything was now local again at SATA speeds and I could build it as big as I wanted since it sits in the basement. I ended up converting my old Sage HTPC to just a client machine. By removing all the tuner cards and coax cables, it allowed for a much simpler and cleaner looking box directly attached to my TV, without the worry of heat or noise.

Just something to think about.

Robert
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:56 PM
nyle nyle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJake View Post
I'm looking for a NAS appliance and I know people in the Sage community have them. Any recommendations or warnings on products to look at and ones to stay away from are welcome and appreciated. I'll want at least 1TB of usable storage and the ability for RAID0+1 or RAID5.
I haven't tried their NAS boxes for SageTV but we have used them in computer labs with multiple users, including ones with large AV files - Bufflo Technologies makes some good NAS boxes. In keeping with their single drive line their Link Station Pro. Yes, no RAID to it but they go up to 750GB.

The do offer higher end units called Terastation with RAID 5.
http://www.buffalotech.com/products/...e/terastation/

However, I agree with the other members here that you'd be most likely better served by building your own.

With 500GB SATA drives going for $120 or less and you not needing all that much processor power for just a straight SMB box, you can build one for a lot less than the all in one solutions. I personally run Netware 6.5 sbs but Linux is free and there are a lot of easy to install distributions. After all most of those little NAS boxes are most likely running some variant of Linux anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:02 PM
nyle nyle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 126
I just migrated my primary server over to OpenFiler running over ESXi. So far everything looks great. I have dual gigbit nics in it that do basic load balancing. I've watched videos off it on SageTV and another PC in the house without stutter.

It took a little while to figure out the OpenLDAP setup but once past that the rest was easy. 3TB of storage for now. I can add more just by putting in another SATA drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:09 PM
kbyrd kbyrd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyle View Post
I just migrated my primary server over to OpenFiler running over ESXi. So far everything looks great. I have dual gigbit nics in it that do basic load balancing. I've watched videos off it on SageTV and another PC in the house without stutter.

It took a little while to figure out the OpenLDAP setup but once past that the rest was easy. 3TB of storage for now. I can add more just by putting in another SATA drive.
What gear are you running ESXi on? How are your drives setup? I've been thinking about converting my Linux Sage box to ESX and then run a Solaris VM to serve up ZFS over NFS then run a SageTV server on a Linux VM which uses the NFS shares as storage.
__________________
Current Server: Sage v7.1.9.1 beta w/ Diamond UI on Ubuntu 11.10 x86_64 | Storage: Linux md's raid10,f2 | Client: HD300 extender | Tuner: HDHomeRun for QAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2009, 11:36 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Has anyone bought any 2TB drives yet? I just added a 1tb drive to fill out my addonics bay, but I'm going to be storing more HD movies now and space gets used fast. I have a 4x750 array that I'd like to replace and I'm thinking of starting with a 4x2TB, but I'm not sure if they're good to buy yet? I think WD is the only one making them.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-07-2009, 07:15 PM
nyle nyle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJake View Post
Has anyone bought any 2TB drives yet? I just added a 1tb drive to fill out my addonics bay, but I'm going to be storing more HD movies now and space gets used fast. I have a 4x750 array that I'd like to replace and I'm thinking of starting with a 4x2TB, but I'm not sure if they're good to buy yet? I think WD is the only one making them.
I've got 3 of the 1.5TB but not the 2TB they just came out. I'd wait a few weeks more to see some more reviews on them but that's just me.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2009, 10:14 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
I just bought this Macally cheapo Nas and a pair of 1TB WESTERN DIGITAL WD10EVVS.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-07-2009, 07:13 PM
nyle nyle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbyrd View Post
What gear are you running ESXi on? How are your drives setup? I've been thinking about converting my Linux Sage box to ESX and then run a Solaris VM to serve up ZFS over NFS then run a SageTV server on a Linux VM which uses the NFS shares as storage.
Running a vanilla box with my old MSI AMD Athlon 64 2Ghz with 2GB Ram in an old generic ATX case with a new power supply. The hard drives are simply 1.5TB SATA direct attached to the controller. I back up all cirtical data to multiple locations on other network locations.

I skipped NFS and used CIFS with OpenFiler(Linux based free NAS system). I'm using it as a storage location for all family data, photos, FLACs and AVC(MP4s.)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:19 AM
bobsj2000 bobsj2000 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
4500mgb

I bought on ebay the 4500mgb full metal gear server for $ 140. Just add hdisks and you're ready to go. I am running a full 4tb with no problems.

RJ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:14 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
My first job out of college was writing unix device drivers and hard drive firmware. I can tell you at that time (early 1980s) there was a difference in the firmware between "consumer level" and "industrial level" drives. The device drivers were also different in order to take advantage of the functionality in the firmware.

The industrial drives were also tested longer and more vigorously. Our experience was that the failure rate fell drmatically after about 80 hours of testing and fell more gradually after that.

Maybe this has changed in the past 30 years, maybe not....
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS - direct record/playback or storage? jlindborg Hardware Support 17 03-19-2007 06:24 AM
NAS or USB HD? WD My Book World II? SAGEaustin Hardware Support 2 02-25-2007 12:08 AM
Slow remote control response while playing game...would NAS drive help? SAGEaustin SageTV Media Extender 1 02-12-2007 10:56 AM
NAS and HD Recordings RayN Hardware Support 18 10-26-2006 01:05 AM
Storage questions, NAS, WOL, lots of stuff! Kirby Hardware Support 36 08-21-2006 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.