SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #221  
Old 09-21-2012, 10:02 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
What I'd like to know is if we could "acquire" a google fiber STB to see if it will recognize our current servers...it won't, but it would still be cool. I bet jeff could pull a string or two.
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
Maybe Brent could haul a laptop with Sage on it to the Gioogle Fiber store and plug it in and tell us
Hmm. Not sure they would let me, but makes me want to attempt it. My install date isn't until Summer 2013 so the real info on that won't happen until then. It just depends on how much "SageTV" is really under the hood. I suspect quite a lot of SageTV DNA honestly.
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 09-21-2012, 12:42 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
This is definitely just a rumor thus far and it is the first time I've seen (or heard) such talk. But here's a report that more cities will be bidding for Google Fiber soon.

http://www.businessinsider.com/googl...nalyst-2012-9?

UPDATE: Fixed the bad link.

Last edited by Brent; 09-21-2012 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 09-21-2012, 12:56 PM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,117
I heard (not sure the reliability of the source) that Google tried to purchase my local provider's fiber system or something along those lines.
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-2250 (OTA); HVR-1800 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 09-21-2012, 01:01 PM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemicuda View Post
I heard (not sure the reliability of the source) that Google tried to purchase my local provider's fiber system or something along those lines.
Google has been buying fiber and dark fiber for years now.
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:02 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
My install date isn't until Summer 2013 so the real info on that won't happen until then.
Holy cow. They're getting a little head start on the signup aren't they...
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:19 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
This is definitely just a rumor thus far and it is the first time I've seen (or heard) such talk. But here's a report that more cities will be bidding for Google Fiber soon.
I suspect (and have since day one of the SageTV buyout, coupled with the Moto buyout) that this is Google's true end-game. They seem to be quite good at looking further out than many others. They have slowly been building their information eco-system.

When the shift to all online content happens, we'll look back and notice that Google has been there all along, laying the foundation and pushing the merger.

And I'll bet that they will own a good chunk of the infrastructure.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 09-21-2012, 03:20 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxMox View Post
Google has been buying fiber and dark fiber for years now.
"dark fiber" I love it.

I think our city would be a pretty good candidate for a Google Fiber buyout/partnership. I've had it in my head that the "local" provider had built a $1 Billion fiber optic network in town, though I'm not sure where that came from (could be confusing it with a $1B investment they got at one point)...

But regardless, they have fiber run all over town for a while now, in most places doing FTTN, but in my neighborhood they just started doing FTTH when they expanded out here.

Supposedly they have plans to do something (VOD I think) with Roku's but I haven't heard much about that lately.

Last edited by stanger89; 09-21-2012 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 09-23-2012, 10:35 AM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 745
It will be interesting to see if they buy markets that Verizon sold off its FIOS in. it will also be interesting to see if they decide to go head to head with FIOS. I would like to see that because Verizon's customer service is horrible and they need competition. Comcast is not competition for FIOS. The two products are not even close since Comcast gets the fiber within a mile of a house/business where Verizon runs the fiber up to the house or business.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:06 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
It will be interesting to see if they buy markets that Verizon sold off its FIOS in. it will also be interesting to see if they decide to go head to head with FIOS. I would like to see that because Verizon's customer service is horrible and they need competition. Comcast is not competition for FIOS. The two products are not even close since Comcast gets the fiber within a mile of a house/business where Verizon runs the fiber up to the house or business.
If I were placing bets, I would think Google would go to areas without a lot of competition to start with. It makes sense to go to places where they have high probabilities of signing up a large percentage of the population and where there is a high population density.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:12 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
When the shift to all online content happens, we'll look back and notice that Google has been there all along, laying the foundation and pushing the merger.
I hope I'm around in 2060.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:34 AM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
If I had any money, I'd be putting it on 2020 to 2025
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:37 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
If I had any money, I'd be putting it on 2020 to 2025
I don't doubt that everything will be available online by then, but the people that control the content need to get over the fact that they are going to have to change they way they will have to distribute that content.

Also, there will still have to have legacy systems in place for the people that never upgrade. There are still people that use VCR's to record programs throughout the day and then record over them after they watch them. The same people that have tube tv's they bought specifically for their cabinet and won't upgrade because "the picture isn't as tall."
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 09-29-2012, 01:08 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
If I had any money, I'd be putting it on 2020 to 2025
Go back to this post and read the discussion forward so I don't have to re-type.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=182
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 09-29-2012, 03:47 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
Sorry, but there is a lot from that point forward. And I did tread it. So was there something specific you need me to understand that I don't?

I have been known to be a bit thick on occasion.
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 10-01-2012, 12:13 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
Sorry, but there is a lot from that point forward. And I did tread it. So was there something specific you need me to understand that I don't?

I have been known to be a bit thick on occasion.
The 5-cent explanation of my POV is:
1) There's not enough demand to make it worthwhile for companies to invest in the infrastructure required to supply it. Far too many Americans don't care one bit about getting any more than the simple cable they have now (or can't afford more). Many don't even have HD yet, most don't have a DVR. I've never seen stats but I suspect a good amount of people have an HD flatscreen and pump standard analog cable into it, put it on "stretch" mode so it fills the screen, and think they are watching HD. That's the knowledge level of most Americans when it comes to A/V stuff. And those people will still be the majority for another 30-40 years. No demand = no supply.

2) Cable companies will be the biggest block to "all-streaming" occurring. Cable, as it is, is a cash cow and has been for 30+ years. If competition pops up that might threaten their reign, they'll do whatever it takes to protect it - i.e., they have started buying (or already own) rights to so many media providers, channels, programs, etc., that no one will be able to provide alternatives for reasonable prices.

3) Sports - mostly American pro and college football - are a big roadblock. Too many existing BILLION dollar long-term contracts in place, none of that will change any time soon, if ever. And cable companies are buying rights to sports franchises too, so #2 and #3 will combine to form an even larger roadblock.

4) All-streaming, on-demand TV probably isn't possible until everyone has fiber. I don't think that will be in place in 10-20 years.

JMHOs.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 10-01-2012, 12:50 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
3) Sports - ...
Speaking of sports: what I would really like would be for my cable company to offer a package that promises to block all forms of sports programming and keep regularly scheduled shows on-time instead of delayed because of sports teams that are unable to play their games within their allotted times.

My favorite TV category that I've seen is titled "Sports non-event". I thought that was repetitive.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 10-01-2012, 01:01 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Speaking of sports: what I would really like would be for my cable company to offer a package that promises to block all forms of sports programming and keep regularly scheduled shows on-time instead of delayed because of sports teams that are unable to play their games within their allotted times.

My favorite TV category that I've seen is titled "Sports non-event". I thought that was repetitive.

- Andy


pjpjpjpj - I mostly agree with you in that the cable companies and sports are the big stumbling blocks. However, I think that there are a lot more people out there already watching online than you think. We cut the cord months ago and I am happy. But we live in a major metro area, so there is a lot of stuff OTA. So my perspective may be skewed.
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 10-01-2012, 02:43 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post


pjpjpjpj - I mostly agree with you in that the cable companies and sports are the big stumbling blocks. However, I think that there are a lot more people out there already watching online than you think. We cut the cord months ago and I am happy. But we live in a major metro area, so there is a lot of stuff OTA. So my perspective may be skewed.
I cut the cord four years ago when I got into Sage. I've been all OTA, and am lucky enough to be on a hill squarely between two large cities, so I get both clearly. PlayOn has been a huge WAF addition (with Podcast recorder, wife gets all the HGTV, Bravo, etc. stuff) and with various PlayOn scripts, I can get most of the sports I want, if I want it.

But almost all of my friends look at my in befuddled confusion when I tell them that I don't have cable. And after they stammer their way through "b-b-b-b-but what about ESPN?", and I tell them that I have "alternative" ways of watching if I really want to, they are even more dumbfounded. They think I'm some sort of computer genius, yet I am probably in the bottom 2% of all Sage users when it comes to computer knowledge.

Funny thing is, if you spend a short time with no ESPN, you'll realize how little you miss it, and when you do see it, you realize how bad it is. SportsCenter is half the day and most of it is their employees giving their opinions on stuff and arguing with each other about various things. Highlights are a small fraction of the show anymore. What I really love is when they have one of their "experts" give his commentary about some comment that was made by one of their other "experts".

I should also add to my comments that I've always said that the majority of Sage users had a skewed opinion about TV viewing because they were completely unattached in their lives from sports, and therefore miss the fact that sports are probably the biggest driver of TV anymore. Conveniently, Opus4 proved that point just above.

Opus... while my opinion of sports and yours clearly differs (I played D1 college basketball, for goodness sake!), I think the biggest problem is that TV refuses to acknowledge the REAL length of sporting events. Baseball games are regularly scheduled for 3 hours on TV, yet routinely go 3:10 to 3:20. Football games are exactly the same. If they'd simply add another half-hour in the schedule for them, it would only be the rare overtime game that would exceed the scheduled window. I don't know why they refuse to change that; I suppose it's a result of "we've always done it this way".
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 10-01-2012, 02:50 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
4) All-streaming, on-demand TV probably isn't possible until everyone has fiber. I don't think that will be in place in 10-20 years.
Why do you say this? I can get 75Mbps down/10Mbps up from my cable company over copper - why isn't this fast enough for all-streaming, on-demand TV?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 10-01-2012, 04:03 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
I think it's as much an age thing as anything else. I admit that most of my friends that are my age (mid 50s) don't have a clue. However, almost everyone I know under 30 is doing everything online. That's why I think it may not be too long. As those folks hit critical mass in income and the like, everyone will be bending over to do what they want.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Fiber GFHD100 Brent General Discussion 17 06-14-2012 01:06 PM
Long Run Ethernet or Fiber dgeezer The SageTV Community 11 11-17-2011 10:31 PM
Fiber to the Home hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 01-12-2010 12:08 PM
Google with PVR-350 allen SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-15-2006 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.