SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2020, 08:31 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,635
Anyone used the Starlink internet?

In a year, I'm moving from the big city and building a house in an area that doesn't have great internet... or any internet. We have a cottage on the lake and we are basically going to tear it down, build a 4 season house and live there.

Internet is an obvious concern but Starlink seems really promising. Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with it. I guess this should be related to SageTV, so, has anyone used Starlink with placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2020, 09:46 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
The Forest City was to big for you? That could lead to a change in lifestyle. Did you see this CBC story from yesterday:
https://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/s...nada-1.5831765

Would LTE/5G be an option, or are you going to a very remote area?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2020, 09:42 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The Forest City was to big for you? That could lead to a change in lifestyle. Did you see this CBC story from yesterday:
https://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/s...nada-1.5831765

Would LTE/5G be an option, or are you going to a very remote area?
Yeah, I'm moving from the "Forest City" to a real forest

So, I get basically 3g service... which isn't going to do much for me. It's ok to check email, but, I can't really do much more.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2020, 10:34 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
That kinda sucks. It sounds like you are moving someplace nice but I couldn't live without decent internet. Are you moving to the Bruce Peninsula area on Lake Huron?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2020, 02:19 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
That kinda sucks. It sounds like you are moving someplace nice but I couldn't live without decent internet. Are you moving to the Bruce Peninsula area on Lake Huron?
It'll be about an hour north of the Muskokas...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0ci...&index=2&t=11s

And I agree it will be hard if I can't get decent internet. There are sat internet providers, but, they suck. If I can score a Starlink, I'm sure I could make do
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2020, 03:33 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Starlink should be a good option, in that area there won't be too many other options. Hopefully it has broad roll out soon.

Over 30 years ago I worked for Northern Telecom as an Elec Eng just out of school. I worked on the Fibre Optic line from Barrie up to North Bay which had repeater sites in places like Powassan which seems to be the nearest town from where you will be.

You should take up astronomy as you should have nice dark skies up there!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2020, 06:19 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
No experience with Starlink but it sure looks promising for your scenario. I was wondering how they handled the upload, but apparently that's also done via satellite and it's better than what Spectrum gives me.

Does there have to be a "ground station" near your home location for this to work? Or is the ground station the $500 worth of equipment you purchase and install at your home?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2020, 06:46 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
The ground station is what you buy - a UFO on a stick: https://www.tesmanian.com/blogs/tesm...rlink-terminal
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2020, 05:31 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
You should take up astronomy as you should have nice dark skies up there!
Well, astronomy is a small hobby of mine as well

I've watched a few videos of people setting up Starlink and doing the upload/download tests. It seems really promising. The challenge will be to actually get one

There are satellite providers in that area but 5mbps is the most they will offer. I can get that on my phone, so, I don't see the point, other than I think their 5mbps service is unlimited.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2020, 10:50 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Starlink seems like a very good alternative with speeds of about 120/15. The upload speed is not radically different from Rogers' service, even with their Gig download you only get 30Mbps up.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Starlink/co...k_speed_tests/
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-11-2020, 01:01 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,383
You all are spoiled. We’ve gotten by with 3Mb/1Mb WiFi internet for the past 17 years. I finally upped it to 5/2 last month with heavier needs. Those are sustained speeds and it will burst to about 2x that.

Granted we haven’t subscribed to any streaming services but have done a bunch of video meetings for work and kids’ school plus plenty of YouTube.

I wouldn’t trade rural living for any amount of internet.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-11-2020, 06:23 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
Any farmers or other land owners around that have some kind of silo or tower with a wifi antenna on it? In The States there are numerous rural systems that jump around like that offering Internet services. They aren't great, but better than nothing, which appears to be Starlink's moto.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-11-2020, 08:38 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
I wouldn’t trade rural living for any amount of internet.
I'm about to test that theory But, I've become pretty dependent on decent internet. My concern is that if I can't get decent internet at the new place, I might have to rent an office space a few km away where there is likely broadband.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-11-2020, 09:29 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Isn't the birthplace of the Dionne Quints nearby? Maybe they have broadband!

Starlink seems like it should be a pretty good option, but I imagine it will be a step down from what you have today in London.

Form the sounds of things in a lot of places in the US, we have it pretty good in urban parts of Canada. I can get Gigabit internet from Rogers or Bell with no data caps for less than US$100/month. I haven't bothered upgrading from 500/20 as I am not sure that it would make a difference and some of the newer modems can be tricky to configure if you want to use your own router, especially when combined with TV service.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2020, 12:46 PM
Wayneb Wayneb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Form the sounds of things in a lot of places in the US, we have it pretty good in urban parts of Canada. I can get Gigabit internet from Rogers or Bell with no data caps for less than US$100/month.
I have been waiting for over 3 years for promised gigabit internet where i live, I have a brother who lives on 39 acres outside a town of less than 500 people in Wyoming and he has had fiber for years. My wireless ISP I have now has been horrible since the start of this Covid crap.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-12-2020, 08:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
@wayneb - Where do you live? To be honest I think there is marginal benefit beyond 200Mbps down, unless you often download large files.

Bell Canada sells 1.5Gbps which I think is a real waste since very little home networking equipment can handle anything above 1G.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-13-2020, 10:01 AM
Wayneb Wayneb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
I am in Southern California, the fiber options here are 25 Mbps for $25 a month or $60 a month for 1 Gig. I have a wireless ISP with a 12 Mbps down 1 Mbps up plan but it is often closer to .5 Mbps down lately.

The fiber line has been at the street in front of my house for a year now, don't know when they will finally decide to hook me up.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-13-2020, 10:27 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
What about cable? You don't need FTTH to get much higher speeds than that. I don't have fiber to my home and I get 500 Mbps with DOCSIS 3.0 over copper.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-13-2020, 02:16 PM
Wayneb Wayneb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
What about cable? You don't need FTTH to get much higher speeds than that. I don't have fiber to my home and I get 500 Mbps with DOCSIS 3.0 over copper.
No cable here, only the downtown area has cable. I have a choice of two wireless ISP providers or satellite out here right now, when Covid goes away the fiber hookups should start getting installed much quicker.
Just checked my Speedtest results, .45 down and 1.02 up, awesome.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Ready TVs Skacey Hardware Support 4 01-17-2011 01:43 AM
Can't Connect To The Internet can3gxw SageTV Placeshifter 0 07-06-2010 03:45 AM
Internet TV itsab67 SageTV Software 0 12-24-2008 09:43 PM
Internet Level DRM... TBacker General Discussion 2 01-10-2008 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.