SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2008, 11:56 AM
vorius vorius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Always tune channel option not working for me

I am not sure if I understand the purpose of this option correctly but I thought it was supposed to make SageTV stop re-requesting the channel if it's already on that channel.

I changed this option to "No" hoping that from now on if I am on channel 545 for example, and am recording a marathon of shows back to back on the same channel that it would stop asking the receiver to tune to that channel between each show.

But it keeps doing that.

Am I missing something?

Running latest version of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:17 PM
vorius vorius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
no one has a comment on this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2008, 02:06 PM
w84no1 w84no1 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
I have the same problem. If I am watching Live TV, when the next show comes on there is a pause even though it is on the same channel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2008, 02:12 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The pause is not a channel change. That pause is when Sage stops recording the cuurent TV to the hard drive and begins recording the next show to the hard drive. it closes one files and starts another. Sage always records and records directly to the hard drive.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:24 PM
chuck2 chuck2 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by w84no1 View Post
I have the same problem. If I am watching Live TV, when the next show comes on there is a pause even though it is on the same channel.
your lucky all you get is a pause, mine loses tuning and I have to stop the recording then go back to the channel using the program guide.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:40 AM
vorius vorius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
The pause is not a channel change. That pause is when Sage stops recording the cuurent TV to the hard drive and begins recording the next show to the hard drive. it closes one files and starts another. Sage always records and records directly to the hard drive.

Gerry
It's definitely not a pause, and this is more evident when you have SageTV connected to an external receiver, like for example in my setup I have Sage connected to an R5000 modded receiver.

When a show ends, I actually see the R5000 software receiving a request from SageTV to tune to the same channel again, and then the R5000 goes ahead and re-tunes the box to the same channel. This causes a long pause for me, because channel changing on R5000 is very slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV V6.4.8 Release Candidate is Here! Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 0 08-14-2008 05:21 PM
Disable channel remapping - listing a network only once raoul SageTV EPG Service 1 02-21-2008 10:02 AM
SageTV Digital Analog Channel Conflicts OldPCGUY SageTV EPG Service 8 02-13-2008 11:06 AM
Subscription Options ? LCH SageTV EPG Service 72 07-09-2003 05:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.