SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 08:49 AM
wayne186 wayne186 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Media Center or Server?

I am trying out the Sage software and need to find out what the difference is between Media Center and Media Server?

Download SageTV Media Center (V6.4 for Windows)
http://www.sage.tv/postDL.php?tmpFil...8Setup-WHS.msi


Download SageTV Media Server (V6.4 for Windows Home Server)http://www.sage.tv/postDL.php?tmpFil...6_4_8Setup.exe

There is not much literature on Media Server and nothing in the FAQ's. Basically all I want is to be able to run the software on a dedicated PC that will send the recordings after processing to a file share which is on my data storage server.

I don''t know if Sage does this but I also want to have the ability to open a web browser from any computer in the house to control the Sage system much like Beyond TV where it runs a http server in the background. I may buy extenders in the future - but for now all my media from each TV in the house is accessed using XBMC.. now I just want to add TV recordings to the mix.. but http access to configure recordings etc is a must for me.

Can somebody please enlighten me as to the diferences?

thanks

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:12 AM
wayne186 wayne186 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
I think I have found the answer to the http portion, it would appear that you need to purchase both Sage TV and the placeshifter component to get the http server functionality. However I am still not sure what the diference is between Media Server and Media Center?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:20 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 916
They are essentially the same product, but the 'server' runs on the Windows Home Server operating system, and the other runs on standard windows - as in 2000, XP home/pro or vista.

You could also buy a version of the media centre for the mac.

You can buy combination licenses that allow you to run placeshifter or client (depending on which combination you buy) , or you can just buy the media centre license, and then later on buy a placeshifter or client license if you need one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:30 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Well I think you've got you're links mixed up but,

It's basically just where you want to install it. SageTV Media Center is the "standard" Windows version. Being that it runs on normal Windows, it includes the full 10ft UI built in, that you can run on the PC.

WHS is somewhat of a different beast, it (the OS) doesn't use a monitor, doesn't have playback abilities, and is meant to be managed from the management console. SageTV Media Server for WHS is really the same thing as SageTV Media Center, but since there's no way to access the 10ft UI directly, it includes a Placeshifter license so you can access the 10ft UI from another maching.

As for "http access" there is nothing built in, but neilm has a great webserver plugin that gives you the ability to schedule/manage recordings.

Oh, and regarding XBMC, there's an XBMC "script" for SageTV that you'll probably want to check out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2008, 08:19 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
WHS is somewhat of a different beast, it (the OS) doesn't use a monitor,
That's a bit harsh - I have been running WHS since the beta program and I have always used a monitor on my WHS box. It is designed to be able to run without a monitor but it uses a monitor perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2008, 10:16 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
That's really what I was getting at. You don't buy WHS if you want a "desktop" PC, you buy it for a box that sits in a closet with no monitor or local interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Externder cannot find Sage Server Chas_STV SageTV Media Extender 2 01-13-2008 06:15 PM
How Does SageTV Media Server for Windows Home Server work? PhillTheChill SageTV Software 7 11-16-2007 01:46 PM
SageTV for Macintosh V6.2 is Released! Narflex Announcements 0 06-26-2007 10:52 AM
SageTV java issues jayemdae SageTV Linux 3 05-20-2007 02:55 PM
Media Extender Server menu option mrblack SageTV Media Extender 4 02-19-2006 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.