SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:15 AM
bjy20716 bjy20716 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
New to HD, Best VideoCard for watching HD?

I am going to be putting together a new computer to watch and record HD. What is the best video card to get (Under $150) for watching back HD?
Should I get one with the nvidia purevideo hardware support?

I saw one thread mentioned atleast a 7600gt?

Has anyone tried this car that has HDMI? Or it would be not good since it spported hdcp?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125058


I have a 42" sharp 1080p LCD.
The computer I am thinking about putting together would be an amd 4600+ x2 and 2 gigs of ram. With a HDhomerun for recording and a wintv pvr250 so I can use my happague remote.

Will the 4600+ be plenty fast for watching and recording HDTV at the same time?


thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:31 AM
clmolnar clmolnar is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 129
I recommend getting a Core2Duo E6600, but I am biased since this is what I use in my media center. I don't have any experience with AMD CPUs. However, my video card is an XFX 7600GT.

My recording devices are a PVR-500 and HDHomeRun. I have to run in FSE to get stutter free playback on 1080i material using Purevideo decoders. I believe this is a function of my video card, and it would be the first thing I would upgrade. I run comskip on all of my recordings, which can be pretty processor intensive on the HD recordings. However I have never had any problems watching HD material, recording HD material, and running comskip on an HD recording all at the same time.

One thing to note is that the Purevideo "smart" deinterlace option does not work well with this video card. I'm not sure if it's the GPU (7600GT) or the manufacturer (XFX). My old video card (BFG 6800GT) worked fine with the "smart" option.

Good luck with building your new Media PC!

Last edited by clmolnar; 03-25-2007 at 09:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:43 AM
Wheemer's Avatar
Wheemer Wheemer is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deer Lake, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,493
I have the 4200 AMD and I wish I had the time back to get the E6600 instead.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2007, 10:54 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,147
Looks like a good card, appears to support HDCP even.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2007, 11:48 AM
bjy20716 bjy20716 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Is the E6600 really worth the extra $200 over the 4600+?

I could get the AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
And that is still $100 cheaper than the E6600.

@clmolnar (or anyone)
Would a 7900GS be better than a 7600GT you think?
For example this 7900gs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150202

Last edited by bjy20716; 03-25-2007 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2007, 12:12 PM
clmolnar clmolnar is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 129
If you can hold off for about a month, the E6600 is supposed to drop to $215 on April 23rd.

I'm not sure about the 7900GS. You would need to check some reviews and make sure that the particular card supports the features you want. (HDCP, etc.) I believe the GS is the budget line, so some key features for a media center might not be available.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:35 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjy20716 View Post
Is the E6600 really worth the extra $200 over the 4600+?

I could get the AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
And that is still $100 cheaper than the E6600.

@clmolnar (or anyone)
Would a 7900GS be better than a 7600GT you think?
For example this 7900gs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150202
PureVideo performance depends on clockspeed. 7900GS = 450mhz, 7600GT = 560mhz.

Another problem is that the 7900GS cards don't support HDCP. Most 7600GT cards don't either. The few that do offer HDCP are at such a price premium that you could get a 7950GT (550mhz) for about the same price.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:12 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTwannabe View Post
Another problem is that the 7900GS cards don't support HDCP. Most 7600GT cards don't either. The few that do offer HDCP are at such a price premium that you could get a 7950GT (550mhz) for about the same price.
I was going to say, you're getting awful close to 7950GT price:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150220

And the 7950GT supports all the PureVideo features.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2007, 03:44 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
Nice thing about that card is the SPDIF input to the graphics card to combine video & audio with one HDMI cable. I use a MSI 7600GT variant of that card with good results (except for the known tearing issue).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2007, 05:25 PM
bjy20716 bjy20716 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
I looked at the specs of some 7950gts
Is
Features NVIDIA PureVideo HD Technology
Different than
Features NVIDIA PureVideo Technology?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2007, 05:36 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjy20716 View Post
I looked at the specs of some 7950gts
Is
Features NVIDIA PureVideo HD Technology
Different than
Features NVIDIA PureVideo Technology?

thanks
PureVideo HD is enabled by the latest (93.71) drivers and PureVideo decoder (4.02-223) on all PureVideo capable cards.

http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

This table shows what features are supported by what card.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:51 PM
MattJackson86 MattJackson86 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 74
Not to thread jack, but it is along the same line. Once getting a card that supports HD, how do you get it to your monitor with the correct resolution. I have an HD tv with HDMI input and with a DVI-HDMI adapter I cant get HD resolutions. Always overscanned so I have to shrink my resolution down to some odd number.
__________________
Server: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, 2GB Memory, 2x750GB HDD (DVD Library), 1x500GB (Recordings), 1x500GB(Data), 1x80GB(OS), nVidia 7600GS, PVR-500, HDHomerun
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2007, 05:36 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattJackson86 View Post
Not to thread jack, but it is along the same line. Once getting a card that supports HD, how do you get it to your monitor with the correct resolution. I have an HD tv with HDMI input and with a DVI-HDMI adapter I cant get HD resolutions. Always overscanned so I have to shrink my resolution down to some odd number.
That's the way most TVs work, they normally display with part of the screen cut off. Video card manufacturers finally realized that people like to connect PCs to HDTVs and have thus added the ability to compensate for that overscan in the drivers.

Unfortunately the only way to fix it (that is 0 overscan and full resolution) is to reposition the optical engine of the TV.

Oh, and also to make sure any "Overscan" option is turned off in the TV.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2007, 07:18 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by clmolnar View Post
If you can hold off for about a month, the E6600 is supposed to drop to $215 on April 23rd.

I'm not sure about the 7900GS. You would need to check some reviews and make sure that the particular card supports the features you want. (HDCP, etc.) I believe the GS is the budget line, so some key features for a media center might not be available.
Or get the E4300.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2007, 08:15 PM
bjy20716 bjy20716 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTwannabe View Post
PureVideo HD is enabled by the latest (93.71) drivers and PureVideo decoder (4.02-223) on all PureVideo capable cards.

http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

This table shows what features are supported by what card.
So any card 7600GT or better but I have to buy the PureVideo HD decoder extra for $49 and it isn't included with the card or drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-26-2007, 08:48 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,147
There are 3 parts to PureVideo (same for ATI's AVIVO), hardware, drivers, and decoders. You need all three to fully take advantage of all the features. No one piece contains all features and no one piece can do everything.

The only two things that are absolutely necessary for PureVideo are the hardware and drivers, there are several decoders that are capable/compatible with "PureVideo", Intervideo, Cyberlink, Nero, and nVidia.

It just so happens that the nVidia decoders were the first to fully support PureVideo (no surprise) and are probably still the best. And the decoders are only $19 (the more expensive ones don't get you anything outside WMP or MCE). I don't know why video card manufacturers don't include the nVidia decoders, maybe because there's no "player" with them.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-26-2007, 09:50 PM
grooves12 grooves12 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 303
I never really hear much about ATI's AVIVO.

How does it compare to Purevideo?? I am in the market for a new video card and was wondering if Avivo is a good alternative. Given Nvidia's problem running purevideo in Sage in VMR9 mode, I thought a switch to ATI might be a good one if their Deinterlacing is on par with Nvidia's
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:04 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by grooves12 View Post
I never really hear much about ATI's AVIVO.

How does it compare to Purevideo?? I am in the market for a new video card and was wondering if Avivo is a good alternative.
Probably roughly on par. Both have their strengths.

Quote:
Given Nvidia's problem running purevideo in Sage in VMR9 mode,
What problem? VMR9 works great on my 6800, wouldn't have it any other way.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-28-2007, 02:47 PM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,800
Just ordered the parts to build a friends HTPC. Gigabyte has a Second Gen 7600GT Passive (Silent Pipe II) in 2 configs: Dual DVI and a DVI/HDMI w/HDCP.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...7600GT&x=0&y=0


P
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:47 PM
CanadianEh CanadianEh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Probably roughly on par. Both have their strengths.



What problem? VMR9 works great on my 6800, wouldn't have it any other way.

But can anyone accomplish this without having to use FSE?
__________________
My systems:
Server: AMD Phenom Quad-Core 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, ECS A780GM-A MB, 2x HD-PVRs (connected to DirecTV HD STBs using ethernet channel changing), 1x AverMedia A180, OS RAID-1 mirror - 2x250GB 7200rpm SATA, Media RAID-1 mirror - 2x1TB 7200rpm SATA, USB-UIRT (remote control)
Main Client: Sage STX-HD100 Media extender
Second Client: Athlon XP 4000+, 2GB MB PC3200 DDR, Asus A8N5X MB, 512MB PCI-E ATI HD Radeon 3650, 160 GB SATA - hardware mirrored
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
HDHomeRun success story jbarr Hardware Support 9 02-22-2007 04:46 PM
Set HD preferences for a specific show? bwillet SageTV Software 1 02-19-2007 01:42 PM
Can this PC do HD? dholmes97 Hardware Support 4 02-15-2007 09:23 PM
In search of HD quality playback garyellis SageTV Software 0 01-27-2007 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.