SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:03 PM
ravenray ravenray is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 92
xbox as sage client?

I'm just wondering has anybody done this yet? I would love the idea of having my xbox as a htpc client.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:05 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
you would have to mod and then you wouldn't be able to play Hl2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:33 PM
ravenray ravenray is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 92
AJ, I know I'll have to mod it. That's not a problem for me as I done it couple times for my friends. I will still be able to play Halo2, just as long I can switch over to the original bios versus the modchip bios. I'm just wondering if anybody has modded there's to run as a client for sage. Why buy another system when I can just use my xbox to interact with sage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:05 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
I would love to have this as a solution. I too would not mind modding the XBOX to get it. Just slide the switch and viola SageClient, or Halo 2. I could then get rid of my client box
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:41 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,086
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
First of all you would have to run a windows OS. As far as I know, you might be able to get Win98 running with BOCHS, but no 2k or XP. Since the Xbox only has 64 megs of ram you would be hard pressed to get winows 98 running with Sage on top. In short not really.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:59 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Can't you add ram to the Xbox?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2004, 02:11 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
I guess another question would be: Can Frey Technologies release a client sign as an XBox app? Probably not, as I believe MS wants a cut of everything run on the XBox.

Too bad to have all that AV capable hardware sitting and not being used as much as it could be.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2004, 02:15 PM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
Instead of trying to get the client to run natively on the xbox, someone could tackle it the same way that the MVP client was written, through a plugin. Just a thought.

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2004, 02:25 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
Thats a good idea. Even if the plugin was written to support linux, you can easily run linux on the Xbox. It would also work for all those users out there that use Linux.

Now if only I knew more about Java and C then how to spell them I'd help out
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2004, 02:56 PM
meekell's Avatar
meekell meekell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 248
Quote:
Instead of trying to get the client to run natively on the xbox, someone could tackle it the same way that the MVP client was written, through a plugin. Just a thought.
Great idea! I would love to see this. I've modded a couple boxes already and with the declining price, small size, and easy connectivity this would be a great solution.
________
Children Prilosec

Last edited by meekell; 09-08-2011 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-15-2004, 02:56 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,086
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
The problem with that is in the Linux support. The only current way to get Linux with any GUI running is via XWindows which eats much ram and cpu. They have the MythTV client running, but not very well. I wouldn't put too much hope into this and just let the xbox do games. XBMC is really nice though, you could use it to playback anything on sage. I would see if you could get those guys to maybe write a plugin for Sage. I am not sure what that runs on, but it uses only a few megs of ram.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-15-2004, 03:29 PM
ravenray ravenray is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 92
Boy, I didn't think this many people was interested in this thought also. I thought about running xbmc and wonder if there was a plugin to run sage. So I take it there isn't a plugin then. Hopefully someone has some more thoughts on this. I really would love this idea to come to life.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-16-2004, 01:06 AM
AirJunky's Avatar
AirJunky AirJunky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 53
I've suggested this in a few different forums in the past & the best I've come up with is that if you install XBMC on a modded Xbox, you can play the mpeg2 files that Sage creates. But you wouldn't be able to delete them or schedule recordings.

I've called around in my home town & it would be about $75 to have it done so that it could accept another hard drive, have XBMC loaded & be able to run Halo2 on Xbox Live. Pretty damn tempting. But I've never talked to anyone who has actually done it. I've considered taking an mpeg2 file over to see if it plays OK but have yet to do it.

It's too bad MS has to be such hard-asses with their propriatary files & systems.
__________________
--
Bill
-SageTV PVR w/ PVR250 & Sigma Xcard, MediaMVP, 3 workstations, Linksys FVS318, and Vonage VOIP on the LAN.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:29 AM
falchulk falchulk is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,150
You dont have to pay anything. There are software only hacks that require no mod chip and do the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:36 AM
rsagetv99's Avatar
rsagetv99 rsagetv99 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 766
I would be willing to beta test any software that is written for a modded Xbox. I have a friend who has one, and he would loan it to me for this purpose.

I think the way to approach it is exactly like the MVP, I mean the hardware in the XBOX has to be more robust than that of the MVP...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-16-2004, 10:33 AM
ravenray ravenray is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 92
rsagetv99, That's what I was thinking also. Doesn't the xbox also already have a mpeg2 decoder chip built-in also?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-16-2004, 10:50 AM
AirJunky's Avatar
AirJunky AirJunky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 53
Yes it does, Ravenray. There is nothing hardware-wise that is preventing the Xbox from being a client. It's Microsoft that requires developers jump thru infinite hoops to be an authorized developer. MS has a client for their own MCE called the Xbox Media Center Extender, but it will only read MCE files (some kind of mpeg2 with a propratary wrapper). If someone were able to create a similar Xbox client that had the appropriate "hooks" to Sage or BTV, it would have to be very underground as I'm sure Frey (or most other devs) are not interested in fraternizing with MS on an app that would have such a small distribution.
__________________
--
Bill
-SageTV PVR w/ PVR250 & Sigma Xcard, MediaMVP, 3 workstations, Linksys FVS318, and Vonage VOIP on the LAN.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-16-2004, 06:29 PM
ravenray ravenray is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 92
AirJunky, so with the Xbox Media Center Extender, that is with ms bios right? So what happens when you have a modded xbox? I'm not sure how those dashboards really work, but I'm assuming that with a plug-in or app, this would be a different story right?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-16-2004, 06:42 PM
AirJunky's Avatar
AirJunky AirJunky is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 53
You got it, Ravenray. I would assume that a modded Xbox could run unsigned software, opening the door for developers who are not interested in doing that.
But if someone had the clout & resources to write a signed application, it would work on a regular Xbox & could be sold thru normal channels. No idea what that involves though...... my guess is MS doesn't make it easy.
__________________
--
Bill
-SageTV PVR w/ PVR250 & Sigma Xcard, MediaMVP, 3 workstations, Linksys FVS318, and Vonage VOIP on the LAN.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:24 AM
freakzilla freakzilla is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
XBMC understands the python programming language. There is a front-end for the DVR software MythTV that can run natively on the xbox as an add-on for XBMC that will allow you to set and watch recordings and basically do everything that the normal front-end client can do *except* watch live TV. Could the Sage client be ported to python?
MythTV on XBMC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.