SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2004, 03:11 PM
naln's Avatar
naln naln is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KY
Posts: 236
Hauppauge 350 Remote initialization failure with 350(15)/250 MCE (OEM-16) combo cards

Hi,

I just put together a system with a Hauppauge 350 (15) and two 250 MCE OEMs (16). I used the latest drivers on the Hauppauge website.

On installing the new drivers and the three cards, the remote control hardware initialization fails. I can get the remote to work with the older drivers and only the 350 installed. The latest drivers were PVR250_18A_INF.

Is this a common problem? This seems to be a driver related issue- can someone comment on how to fix this problem.
__________________
Sage Server: Antec Solo, Seasonic S12 430W, AM2 3800, Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 Mobo, XFX 7600GS 512MB, 2GB DDR2 800, 3 TB SATA, Hauppauge HVR1600, HDHR, indoor antenna, Win 7 Ultimate, MCE05 remote.
Sage Client: Foxconn NT330i Intel Atom Dual Core, 1 GB DDR2 667 RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2004, 03:56 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I believe this problem can be caused by not having the remorte connected to the card or to the wrong card. I would connect remotes to all the cards and then determine which remote works if any. I do not believe the remote issue is related to the driver version.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2004, 04:55 PM
naln's Avatar
naln naln is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KY
Posts: 236
Hi Carlgar,
Thanks for the reply. Only the 350 has a remote option. I have done the installations with the ir sensor connected.

I have also tried installing only the 350. The remote works with only the 350 and starts giving the error message when the 250s also get installed (new drivers)- which makes it look like a driver issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2004, 05:07 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
What if you move the cards around (switch slots), so that the 350 is found by the system first? There was a conversation a while back regarding how the drivers figured out which IR port to use -- perhaps it finds the 250mce first & thinks it has an IR port even though it really doesn't & it stops searching?

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2004, 05:09 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Interesting, I think that may be the problem. What order do you have the cards installed? I would recommend the 350 to be in the lowest numbered slot. It would also probably be worthwhile to try just the 350 by itself, this would verify that the remote does work.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2004, 05:53 PM
mls mls is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 804
Try the newer WinTV-PVR IR Remote Control 2.43.22208 software from the download area of SHSPVR

You may also have to set the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\hauppauge\IR
Dword:I2CType a value of 19(decimal)

This was originally posted somewhere else to get the PVR-350 remote to work with a Roslyn card installed, but may work for your situation also.

I had to do both to get my PVR-250 remote working again with a Roslyn card installed.

I also found that a value of 23(decimal) would change it to get my USB2 to work with a remote again later.

Opus4 - If the above works for others, make a note of it somewhere.

Last edited by mls; 08-11-2004 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2004, 06:18 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
The download you menationed lists that number for the link, but the ftp site it actually downloads from only contains a previous version: ir32_2.42.22180.exe.

The registry setting of 19 causes it to prefer the 250/350, so it may not do much... could be worth trying. I was told that reg stuff might change later on, so I didn't get a lot of details on it.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2004, 06:29 PM
mls mls is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 804
Quote:
Originally posted by Opus4
The download you menationed lists that number for the link, but the ftp site it actually downloads from only contains a previous version: ir32_2.42.22180.exe.
Ya, you are correct on that. I just double checked what I had d/led and installed to get things to work and it was in fact the .22180

SHS must be being kept pretty busy and not have time to keep the web site stuff updated/correctted as well as he should.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2004, 10:02 PM
naln's Avatar
naln naln is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KY
Posts: 236
Hi Guys thanks for the replies!!

I started off with only 1 350- so I do know for sure that the remote works.

When the remote did not work initially I uninstalled the other two 250s and got the remote to be recognized again. On installing the other two - same problem occured.

I have uninstalled sage- installed the drivers for the cards and ir ( the latest drivers from Hauppauge website) and then reinstalled sage- since an earlier post suggested that for IR recognition problems. That did not work either.

I am going to try the other suggestions mentioned by you all . I have not moved the cards around- I will try that too. And while I am at it- I also have an M150 installed - is there a way to prioritize card recognition or recording priority ( which card starts recording first- ) in the sage TV menu?. The M150 is now the first card to start all recordings- and I want it to be the last- any fixes? I will try the card swap around and check if that fixes this issue as well.

Once again thanks for all the suggestions.
__________________
Sage Server: Antec Solo, Seasonic S12 430W, AM2 3800, Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 Mobo, XFX 7600GS 512MB, 2GB DDR2 800, 3 TB SATA, Hauppauge HVR1600, HDHR, indoor antenna, Win 7 Ultimate, MCE05 remote.
Sage Client: Foxconn NT330i Intel Atom Dual Core, 1 GB DDR2 667 RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2004, 10:16 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally posted by naln
is there a way to prioritize card recognition or recording priority ( which card starts recording first- ) in the sage TV menu?
You'll have to edit the properties file wihle SageTV is closed. The SageTV Configuration page has a link to the SageTV Configuration Properties doc. Look for "encoder_merit".

Edit: I don't see the merit topic in the FAQ, though the properties file link is. I've typed the above links often enough that I suppose it ought to be added sometime...

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.

Last edited by Opus4; 08-11-2004 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2004, 11:46 PM
naln's Avatar
naln naln is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KY
Posts: 236
Hi guys,

I tried out all the suggestions- nothing worked. Changed pci slots- did not make a difference ( the PCI slot number did not seem to make a diff). Tried the new drivers for the IR- again hardware initialization failures. Tried the regedit- no luck either. All cards and software were uninstalled and installed fresh again- any other suggestions?

Thanks Opus4 - for the links on encoder prioritization.
__________________
Sage Server: Antec Solo, Seasonic S12 430W, AM2 3800, Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 Mobo, XFX 7600GS 512MB, 2GB DDR2 800, 3 TB SATA, Hauppauge HVR1600, HDHR, indoor antenna, Win 7 Ultimate, MCE05 remote.
Sage Client: Foxconn NT330i Intel Atom Dual Core, 1 GB DDR2 667 RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.