SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2005, 04:44 PM
whocrazy whocrazy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 8
sage tv won't work when java access bridge is installed, arg!!! (hairpulling!!)

if you dont help me fix this problem soon, I'm gonna end up bald!!
I am totaly blind, and I use some adaptive software called jaws for windows that reads out loud what is on the screen. However, the jaws program is not the problem, it is the java access bridge
http://java.sun.com/developer/earlyA...dge/index.html
If I try to run sage tv with the java access bridge installed, I get this error
an acception occured in java
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no javaAccessBridge in java.library.path
Are you able to help? oh, btw: you're probably wondering why a blind person would be interested in tv?
I like to keep up with all the latest news and current affairs on my local tv channels here in Australia.
so anyway, I hope someone, anyone out there can please please help.
Thanks a heap!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:32 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Maybe someone else will have an idea, but I would either submit a support request at http://www.sagetv.com/request.html or send an email to support@sagetv.com to see if they have any suggestions.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2005, 12:37 AM
whocrazy whocrazy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 8
I've already done these, I've written an email to support and also submitted a support request. I only hope I'll get a reply soon as this is driving me absolutely spare
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:43 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
There's one thing you can try. Using regedit, create the following registry setting as a REG_SZ:

HKLM\Software\Frey Technologies\Common\NativeLibPath

Then set it to be the path where javaAccessBridge can be found. It should resolve the error that you posted; don't know if it'll fix the whole problem though.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:44 PM
whocrazy whocrazy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 8
Nope didn't work.
The access bridge is designed for blind people to use java applets. you said there is another product that does the same thing? Where can I get it?
If someone from sage tv support could kindly volunteer their machine/s and install the java access bridge and see if there's anything that can be done, it would be fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2005, 11:41 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
That didn't affect the error you received? Are you sure you set it right?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2005, 02:37 PM
whocrazy whocrazy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 8
I tried several paths, I tried setting it to where the java vm was installed, I even tried c:\windows\system32.
Can you tell me exactly what path I should specify? what folder is the access bridge program installed in?
the access bridge program is scattered all over the place. in the c:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\lib\ext folder, and some files in the
c:\windows\system32 folder. I've tried both of these
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:16 AM
whocrazy whocrazy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 8
Hiya guys.
Well after nearly a year I finally fixed my problem, but I'm having another problem now.
First I'll briefly explain how I fixed the first one.
I used a program called filemon http://www.sysinternals.com
and found that sage tv was looking for the java bridge files in the default sagetv folder, So I copied the java bridge files in to the main sage tv program files folder and it worked, I didn't get any errors
Now on to the second problem.
The second problem I think maybe easier to fix but I am no java programmer so I can't say for sure.
After starting up Sage tv, the program runs, but I am not able to read the screen at all. Sage tv doesn't appear to use the java swing classes which means that the screen will appear to be blank when it isn't
The java access bridge uses something called swing classes, I actually have an email from someone on a blind and vision related mailing list on how to make java programs more accessible. Note: this won't work in java applets running in a web browser, but since sage tv isn't a web application, things should work out fine.
This email is of no use to current users of existing sage tv versions because it requires one to have access to the source code, rather it is for the support and programming team

email follows:
Mike and list,

There is a workable solution to at least make Java apps you write
accessible. If one has source code for a Java program, it too can be made
accessible with the following.

First, grab the SWT libraries from
http://www.eclipse.org

SWT is IBM's answer to Sun's Swing classes. Unlike Swing, SWT interfaces
directly with the Windows API to produce its controls. Therefore, if you
create a button in SWT, the result is a native Win32 button which any screen
reader can see; same goes with other SWT controls.

Once you have the SWT library, download the SwingWT library from
http://swingwt.sourceforge.net

SwingWT is essentially a Swing/Awt wrapper for SWT, meaning you can write
your applications using normal Swing objects, code, and so on, but import
swingwt in place of swing. SwingWT emulates Swing, so to make a Java pane
application accessible, just change the import statements and recompile.
Voila! Java app is now usable.

I will grant that this won't hold for apps with no accompanying source code,
though it's conceivable that you could recompile swingwt and call it swing.
Overwrite the original swing class files with the new swingwt library files,
and even precompiled applications should become accessible. Ultimately, it
would be great to have Java access via the access bridge, but for now this
solution works well enough.

Best regards,
Steve
I hope this will help to make sage tv accessible to more and more people in the future.
Take care.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.