SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2007, 07:11 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Unreliable R5000 tuning

After six months of stable operation, my R5000 unit has started occasionally mistuning some channels. For instance on Sunday night I got an hour of QVC instead of Battlestar Galactica. Other channels, such as TNT, it sometimes refuses to tune at all, and just gives me an ever-escalating failed transfer count instead of a proper signal. Power-cycling the STB generally puts things right again -- for a while, anyway.

Has anybody else seen anything like this, or have any suggestions for fixing it? I'll take it up with Nextcom support if necessary, but I thought I'd check here first. The STB is a Hughes E86 DirecTV receiver. I'm using version 2.4f of the R5000 software with SageTV 6.1.4.

On a related note, should I be able to hook the R5000 STB's component out directly to my TV and get a viewable image, like an unmodified STB? I tried that while troubleshooting and got nothing. Or does the R5000 mod disable the STB's video outputs?

Thanks.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2007, 07:36 AM
NEOSG NEOSG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 271
Haven't had outright bad channel changes before.

My video outputs do work on my STB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2007, 09:04 PM
camTexas camTexas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wylie, TX
Posts: 89
I also have my units component outputs hooked up to my TV directly with no issues... that's the only way I've watched my H.264 channels for well over a year (painfull).

A long time ago I had a few instances where the R5000 would tune to the wrong channel. I always power cycled the Vip211 and it would work fine for several weeks before flaking out again. I've been running the beta software for several months now and haven't had any noticible issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2007, 04:35 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Well, it looks like I solved my problem by shifting the R5000 to a different USB jack on my PC. Not sure if the old jack was bad, or whether it was the resulting driver reinstall that did the trick, but in any case I haven't seen a tuning failure since I made the change a few days ago (whereas before it was about 50/50 whether any given tuning attempt would succeed).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R5000 Users-MPV Work for you? dj7675 SageTV Beta Test Software 1 03-08-2007 09:25 PM
ATSC Tuning Space Corrections? Fuzzy SageTV Software 3 05-23-2006 02:18 PM
SageTV v5 and PAL_B tuning problems w/ PVR-500 svalmorri SageTV Software 4 05-03-2006 05:47 PM
Separate tuning spaces and overrides for each TV tuner Para SageTV Software 0 01-28-2006 09:06 PM
"Other" tuning plugin? ripple Hardware Support 2 01-11-2006 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.