SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2015, 01:24 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Considering moving back to OTA - HDHR still the best ATSC tuner?

So I just discovered I can get AT&T fiber at my house. This could finally be the thing that pushes me over the edge to drop Comcast altogether. But before I can do that, I need to get things working with an antenna picking up the basic channels (which is all I use Comcast for anyway).

I'm super disappointed my InfiniTV card doesn't support ATSC. It's been 7 years or so since I've looked at tuners that do support it. Doesn't seem like much has changed. HDHomeRun is still out there, although $130 for just two tuners seems insane. Ironically, I sold my old HDHR's a couple years to buy the Ceton card because Comcast started encrypting the local channels. Maybe I'll just wait and get a couple cheap ones from eBay...any thoughts from anyone else?

Last edited by brb84; 12-11-2015 at 01:25 PM. Reason: edited a word
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2015, 03:48 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Is this the same thing as AT&T Uverse?

I've seen Uverse in my area and I'm not at all impressed. Video quality, to me, is really bad. Lots of compression artifacts. etc.

The other thing to note about the service is that your TV viewing cuts into your available internet bandwidth.

These are the reasons we've stuck with Cox Cable. I don't foresee us getting rid of cable either. There are times when we just want to channel surf.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2015, 03:54 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Is this the same thing as AT&T Uverse?
Nope. This is their new fiber service they're calling GigaPower. I'm one of the lucky few who already have it available in my neighborhood (which is super odd because I'm kinda in the middle of nowhere, TN).

I've got friends that have it locally, and their speed tests show about 950Gb down!

My plan would be to just drop Comcast, use antenna/ATSC tuner for TV and AT&T for the sweet, sweet fiber Internet, so TV sharing bandwidth would not be an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2015, 03:56 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by brb84 View Post
Nope. This is their new fiber service they're calling GigaPower. I'm one of the lucky few who already have it available in my neighborhood (which is super odd because I'm kinda in the middle of nowhere, TN).

I've got friends that have it locally, and their speed tests show about 950Gb down!

My plan would be to just drop Comcast, use antenna/ATSC tuner for TV and AT&T for the sweet, sweet fiber Internet, so TV sharing bandwidth would not be an issue.
I bet it's probably using the same video tech. You just get a fatter pipe.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2015, 03:58 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
That's possible, but again - I don't care about their video tech. I'd only use it for Internet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2015, 04:07 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I see.

As far as tuners go we have 2 HDHR's hooked to one of these in the attic:

http://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-Ou...9871445&sr=1-1

One is the older beige model. The other is the single input "newer" black model. Neither are the new fancy ones that can do realtime transcoding. They work really well and with that antenna can pick up everything in our viewing area.

I had been using Cox for locals but I had been noticing some pretty serious reception glitches that I eventually realized were most likely problems with their reception, not ours'. Now much happier with the recordings we get.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2015, 04:08 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
That's awesome, thanks. My co-worker just linked me that antenna earlier today. Seems to be really solid - will try it out.

Guess I"ll be watching eBay for some cheap HDHR duals.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2015, 04:29 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 540
I've used (and continue to use) a mixture of the HDHRs (various vintages) and Hauppauge 2250 dual tuners cards. I find they both perform equally well for OTA.

I have several setups and my choice for internal vs external is dependent on such things as number of open PCIe slots and how close the tuner will be to the coax cable. One system has a pair of HDHRs that aren't on a UPS; that sometimes causes issues when there's a brown-out. The PCIe cards don't suffer from the same problem and they aren't subject to flaky/dying wall-warts.

In general, I find software installation and config is a bit easier with the choice of an internal tuner. All my Sage boxes are running Windows. I didn't see mention of whether you're running Windows vs Linux, which might skew the decision.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2015, 06:03 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I've been OTA for about a year now. The latest tuners from SiliconDust seem to have a bit better tuners than the earlier ones. Especially when trying to deal with multipath signals.

I experimented a bunch but now have 2 directional antennas in my attic attached to two separate HDHomerun dual tuner boxes. Half of my stations come from due south and are about 5 miles away. The other half are NW and about 40 miles away. I have each tuner set up in sagetv to only receive the channels in that direction. Check out tvfool to see what direction and distances your stations transmit.

My antenna for the distant stations is a cheap yagi type from Lowes, I think. The one for the close stations is a homemade bowtie made from about 3' of 10 gauge copper wire and a balun - total cost less than $3.00.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2015, 12:11 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 652
The HDHomerun Connect (HDHR4) is a pretty straightforward device that easily lets you add two OTA tuners to a SageTV server. The tuners are really improved at receiving signals compared to the prior-generation OTA tuners. The device is also DLNA capable, so it works with Kodi, Android viewer apps, and Smart TVs; so you could pause or replay live TV without any additional hardware. These units generally go for $70-$80 ...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-14-2015, 01:43 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Exact setup as dgeezer here. Built a shelf and installed a power receptacle in a hall closet right below my attic for my hdhomeruns, to shorten coax runs. Both my antennas are homemade, the nearby tuner one is the 8 Bay "coat hanger" style infamous on YouTube (though done in copper), the one facing the farther city is a Gray-Hoverman style. The dual tuner hdhomeruns were about $85 at a local store. I'm lucky to be on a hill, and the tuners give me 90-100% strength almost all the time, year round.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna, atsc, hdhr, infinitv


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding HDHR ATSC Tuner to Sage?? Ron Hardware Support 2 07-03-2015 08:07 PM
Better tuner (ATSC) than the HDHR v2? stanger89 Hardware Support 20 01-31-2012 09:53 AM
Play back of ATSC TV pauses SomeWhatLost SageTV Software 7 02-04-2011 07:21 PM
2 HDHR - one for QAM, one for ATSC bialio Hardware Support 3 05-19-2008 01:17 PM
phantom HDHR atsc tuner dnlmln SageTV Software 2 01-01-2008 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.