SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2022, 10:52 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Moving from Windows to NAS ????

I am in the Process of moving recordings to a Docker on my NAS ... The problem is the recordings and DB.... There is a property in SageTV that will make all content local, but I cannot remember or find it .. It is only used once then reverts.

Need Help.

I guess this might be it.

Code:
How to move SageTV to a new computer and retain all recordings

Note: always create a backup copy of wiz.bin and sage.properties before trying anything listed below.


This is essentially an extremely extended version of moving a recording file.

advanced_video_file_recovery method, for SageTV version 6.3.9 and later
Install and configure SageTV on the new computer.
Create the new locations to store recordings and add those Video Recording Directories to SageTV.
Exit SageTV completely on the new computer. (I don't mean just put it to sleep -- this means stopping the service if you are using service mode; if not using service mode, just exit the SageTV application.)
Copy all your existing recordings to the desired Video Recording Directory locations on the new computer. (If the old network recording path will be visible to the new PC, move the recordings on the old PC to a new location or simply rename the directory they are in.)
Copy wiz.bin from the old computer, replacing the one on the new computer. (Found in the SageTV directory.) Do NOT copy sage.properties from the old computer.
Before you start SageTV with the files at their new paths on the new computer; set the following property in the Sage.properties file:
advanced_video_file_recovery=true
Restart SageTV on the new computer.
Check the SageTV Recordings menu to make sure the recordings are listed and play properly.
Once you have verified that you can access the files at the new locations in SageTV; you should exit SageTV and then edit the Sage.properties file back to:
advanced_video_file_recovery=false
(This property should not be left as true once this process is complete.)
Restart SageTV.
Once you have confirmed that SageTV is working properly on the new computer, uninstall SageTV from the old computer. Do not delete your old configuration files until you have confirmed the new installation with all the old recordings is working correctly.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-15-2022 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2022, 06:18 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
did that work?
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2022, 07:14 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
did that work?
Not really I had some files that kept the old path so when I went to play them not found. ... So I just started over with a clean DB ... I did not want to lose what channel the recordings were recorded on but had no choice but to start fresh. That is one things I dislike about SageTV if you have favorites by Channel and you happen to lose the channel info, they will re-record even if the files are there. The channel info is not in the embedded metadata.

I moved all my passes(favorites) to Channels DVR ... so not going to be recording anymore in SageTV ... soon retiring SageTV.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-16-2022 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2022, 09:57 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Not really I had some files that kept the old path so when I went to play them not found. ... So I just started over with a clean DB ... I did not want to lose what channel the recordings were recorded on but had no choice but to start fresh. That is one things I dislike about SageTV if you have favorites by Channel and you happen to lose the channel info, they will re-record even if the files are there. The channel info is not in the embedded metadata.

I moved all my passes(favorites) to Channels DVR ... so not going to be recording anymore in SageTV ... soon retiring SageTV.
Is your Channels DVR guide okay today? Mine is all borked up for the local channels on my HDHR's. For every channel and every hour it just shows something like "KDFW HD @ 10PM". I had to work around it for a few recordings tonight on the broadcast channels.

As for use SageTV, I am in limbo right now. I regret moving to the docker a few years ago, just too many little issues I've had to deal with or live with. And most recently its the subtitles playback issue I'm dealing with since setting up the Channels DVR/TVE/OpenDCT streams. I can move back to a Windows based system as I already have one up and running as a network encoder, but it doesn't solve all the problems.

We're using Plex now for downloaded videos and it works great, since I just can't get that stuff to play well in Sage. I could see using Plex and Channels for pretty much everything going forward. I just need to experiment a bit more and figure out what I like, and then make sure the WAF is good enough.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2022, 10:12 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
I have a cron job that updates the SageTV XMLTV EPG data every 3 hours so do not have that problem I think your guide must be failing to update.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2022, 11:49 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have a cron job that updates the SageTV XMLTV EPG data every 3 hours so do not have that problem I think your guide must be failing to update.
It's actually messed up on Channels DVR, too, for my HDHR Quatro and Prime units. For TVE (Spectrum) it's fine. I've tried redownloading the Guide and such on the CDVR web page, so I may have to nuke the lineups and start over.

EDIT: Ah, I spoke too soon. That worked! Now to make sure it gets transferred over to SageTV.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost

Last edited by Zogg; 11-17-2022 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2022, 12:02 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I moved all my passes(favorites) to Channels DVR ... so not going to be recording anymore in SageTV ... soon retiring SageTV.
I know you've mentioned using different clients in your household. Just curious what you are using for your main playback app now if you are moving from SageTV?

Plex works great for me and the subtitle support is excellent, but no commercial skip that I'm aware of. Channels DVR playback is great too, but the library sorting is awful. Maybe Jellyfin or another would be better all around. I'm open to suggestions.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2022, 01:56 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
I know you've mentioned using different clients in your household. Just curious what you are using for your main playback app now if you are moving from SageTV?

Plex works great for me and the subtitle support is excellent, but no commercial skip that I'm aware of. Channels DVR playback is great too, but the library sorting is awful. Maybe Jellyfin or another would be better all around. I'm open to suggestions.
I use ChannelsDVR mainly and EMBY also. I find Plex DVR to be terrible.

mmm Library sorting in Channels DVR is great ... I have no problem with it and with the Smart Channel/Video collections you can filter any way you want. I like the way EMBy handles Movie
Collections.


you can sort Alpha ... Recently Updated ...Recently Added ... Newly released and a lot more.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-20-2022 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2022, 11:31 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I use ChannelsDVR mainly and EMBY also. I find Plex DVR to be terrible.

mmm Library sorting in Channels DVR is great ... I have no problem with it and with the Smart Channel/Video collections you can filter any way you want. I like the way EMBy handles Movie
Collections.


you can sort Alpha ... Recently Updated ...Recently Added ... Newly released and a lot more.
Hmmm, I don't see how to sort the Library in Channels DVR, and it doesn't seem to understand sub-folders at all, instead just putting all the subs at the same level as other folders. I see lots of "Season 1" folders for example at the top level, which makes it unusable.

I installed the Jellyfin docker and it did a terrible job of recognizing my videos properly.

Plex at least recognizes recordings in my SageTV Recordings folder and usually gets it right. It has issues too, for example only recognizing some video files in a folder even though they are all named the same way.

I don't know, I'll keep trying things.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2022, 06:51 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Did you turn on Enhanced Library? Channels DVR ?
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-22-2022, 12:12 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Did you turn on Enhanced Library? Channels DVR ?
Yes. Can't see a difference. No icons/logs for the videos, just the Channels DVR logo. It has picked up art for some of my movies but not all. On my phone the print is so tiny that it is completely unusable.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-22-2022, 12:50 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Yes. Can't see a difference. No icons/logs for the videos, just the Channels DVR logo. It has picked up art for some of my movies but not all. On my phone the print is so tiny that it is completely unusable.
Have you even tried to match the ones missing artwork using the Channels DVR Web Browser sounds like you are not that familiar how imports work in ChannelsDVR. If you have concerns or Questions, you should really Post in the Channels DVR forum.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-22-2022, 02:02 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Have you even tried to match the ones missing artwork using the Channels DVR Web Browser sounds like you are not that familiar how imports work in ChannelsDVR. If you have concerns or Questions, you should really Post in the Channels DVR forum.
All of them are missing artwork, so looking up a URL for every show is a PITA. Plus, some of my sub-folders are just labeled S1 or S01 instead of the full word Season, so channels DVR shows a folder called S01 at the top level and puts in it EVERY show combined that has a similarly named sub-folder.

It also shows 2 folders at the top level for one show, Battlestar Galactica (2004).

I do realize I need to work on my folder naming and organization some, but the fact that Channels DVR doesn't recognize ANYTHING (Yellowstone, for example) is just pretty bad.

I appreciate you sharing what you are using and for the tips. I will keep trying things and probably give Emby a shot as well. So far though I can't find any one-stop solution that works for us.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-22-2022, 02:34 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
All of them are missing artwork, so looking up a URL for every show is a PITA. Plus, some of my sub-folders are just labeled S1 or S01 instead of the full word Season, so channels DVR shows a folder called S01 at the top level and puts in it EVERY show combined that has a similarly named sub-folder.

It also shows 2 folders at the top level for one show, Battlestar Galactica (2004).

I do realize I need to work on my folder naming and organization some, but the fact that Channels DVR doesn't recognize ANYTHING (Yellowstone, for example) is just pretty bad.

I appreciate you sharing what you are using and for the tips. I will keep trying things and probably give Emby a shot as well. So far though I can't find any one-stop solution that works for us.

No need for URL Channels DVR has a built in Fix unmatch that uses TMDB. Ok that's it for me on this thread.

https://getchannels.com/docs/channel...local-content/
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-23-2022, 12:39 PM
getchannels getchannels is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: California
Posts: 1
Please email channels support with details about how your files are organized
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-29-2022, 07:58 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchannels View Post
Please email channels support with details about how your files are organized
Welcome to the SageTV forum!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-29-2022, 09:33 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchannels View Post
Please email channels support with details about how your files are organized
I've made progress getting my files better organized and they are showing up now in channels. If I continue to run into problems I will email support. Thanks!
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving files from Windows to unRAID wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 35 04-19-2018 07:33 AM
Moving to Windows 10 AlphaCrew Hardware Support 25 02-12-2018 06:50 PM
Moving from Windows to Linux rickgillyon SageTV Linux 3 10-23-2017 01:10 PM
Moving from Windows to Linux jmode SageTV Linux 4 06-23-2011 12:31 PM
Moving Sage Windows To WHS mayhewda SageTV Software 5 10-27-2009 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.