SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:16 AM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Commercial Skipping in Linux

FYI:

For the Linux users searching for comskip info:

Last night I was able to get comskip and videoredo working on my Fedora Core 4 version using Wine application.

Comskip: copy the comskip.exe and comskip.ini to wine "windows" directory structure: Example
/root/.wine/drive_c/windows

Now from shell prompt.. you type wine comskip test.mpg
It should work...

- also to get Malore's comskip to work in the menu.
Create a comskip.exe file with "wine comskip $1" , and chmod 755 comskip.exe

Videoredo requires mozilla 'Gecko Engine' and Directx installed to work.

Afterwards, you can create a shell script to run in batch.
For Example:

wine cscript.exe //nologo "C:\Program Files\VideoReDoPlus\vp.vbs" "/data/cubs.VPrj" "/var/media/test/cubs.mpg" /t1



Last edited by oddjob; 01-02-2007 at 11:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2006, 09:38 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob
FYI:

For the Linux users searching for comskip info:

Last night I was able to get comskip and videoredo working on my Fedora Core 4 version using Wine application.

Comskip: copy the comskip.exe and comskip.ini to wine "windows" directory structure: Example
/root/.wine/drive_c/windows

Now from shell prompt.. you type wine comskip test.mpg
It should work...

Videoredo requires mozilla 'Gecko Engine' and Directx installed to work.

Afterwards, you can create a shell script to run in batch.
For Example:

wine cscript.exe //nologo "C:\Program Files\VideoReDoPlus\vp.vbs" "/data/cubs.VPrj" "/var/media/test/cubs.mpg" /t1


How much slower is this running in wine than on a windows system? My mass store runs Linux and would be the best place to run comskip, but I don't want it to hog all the CPU resources on the server.

Thanks,
mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:22 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
I have a AMD3500 XP cpu with 1 gig..

[root@homepvr ~]# sar 5 5
Linux 2.6.17-1.2142_FC4 (homepvr) 12/30/2006

11:16:55 PM CPU %user %nice %system %iowait %idle
11:17:00 PM all 85.09 0.00 14.91 0.00 0.00
11:17:05 PM all 86.80 0.00 13.20 0.00 0.00
11:17:10 PM all 90.12 0.00 9.88 0.00 0.00
11:17:15 PM all 94.01 0.00 5.99 0.00 0.00
11:17:20 PM all 94.80 0.00 5.20 0.00 0.00
Average: all 90.16 0.00 9.84 0.00 0.00

I think comskip runs comparable to windows (no difference).
I tried showanalyer and it also ran fine under wine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2006, 11:29 AM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob
I have a AMD3500 XP cpu with 1 gig..

[root@homepvr ~]# sar 5 5
Linux 2.6.17-1.2142_FC4 (homepvr) 12/30/2006

11:16:55 PM CPU %user %nice %system %iowait %idle
11:17:00 PM all 85.09 0.00 14.91 0.00 0.00
11:17:05 PM all 86.80 0.00 13.20 0.00 0.00
11:17:10 PM all 90.12 0.00 9.88 0.00 0.00
11:17:15 PM all 94.01 0.00 5.99 0.00 0.00
11:17:20 PM all 94.80 0.00 5.20 0.00 0.00
Average: all 90.16 0.00 9.84 0.00 0.00

I think comskip runs comparable to windows (no difference).
I tried showanalyer and it also ran fine under wine.
Sorry, I had a slight different question. Does it take as long to run on linux as on windows? Sounds like not that much longer if at all. Gotta love that linux efficiency. :-)

Now all we need is a dirmon equivalent and we are ready to go!

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2006, 03:14 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Again, should be same amount of time.

It works great for me..
I even stuck a ffmpeg line in my script to convert it to my ipod when done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:57 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob
Again, should be same amount of time.

It works great for me..
I even stuck a ffmpeg line in my script to convert it to my ipod when done.
Great. Are you also running dirmon through wine, or do you have a cron job that checks for new videos to run comskip on. I'd like for it to work in the same way that dirmon does, so I can get com skip on a program that is presently recording.

Thanks,
mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.