SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04-26-2016, 03:15 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
So I've had this running for a couple days, though honestly I haven't really used it, beyond seeing that I could watch something from my HDHRs. I think I need to install a bigger cache drive before I get too crazy. My current one would be rather small to start writing recordings too.

So question...

How would one go about transitioning, recordings specifically, from Windows to Linux/Docker/unRAID?

I'm guessing this would work:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...04&postcount=3

Or maybe this:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...606#post265606
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-26-2016, 03:30 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
So I've had this running for a couple days, though honestly I haven't really used it, beyond seeing that I could watch something from my HDHRs. I think I need to install a bigger cache drive before I get too crazy. My current one would be rather small to start writing recordings too.

So question...

How would one go about transitioning, recordings specifically, from Windows to Linux/Docker/unRAID?

I'm guessing this would work:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...04&postcount=3

Or maybe this:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...606#post265606
I can't really help with the windows to linux migration, but I have another version of docker container almost ready. You'll get the option of choosing java 7 (to support current jetty) or java 8. I also thought I could be comskip working in the new image, but, while I had success on desktop, it didn't work on unRAID
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-27-2016, 08:06 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
unRAID Template for SageTV and Docker

This is the "support" thread for my newly created unRAID template for SageTV (running SageTV in a Docker container).

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63165
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-27-2016, 12:23 PM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
Wow! thanks for working on this.

Thoughts on ComSkip.

I think you used a Windows version under Wine. Any chance you have tried to compile a Linux Version?

https://github.com/erikkaashoek/Comskip

Found from a Kodi thread which has activity for "tvheadend"
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=150084

Thanks
Dave

Last edited by hugenbdd; 04-27-2016 at 12:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-27-2016, 01:08 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
Wow! thanks for working on this.

Thoughts on ComSkip.

I think you used a Windows version under Wine. Any chance you have tried to compile a Linux Version?

https://github.com/erikkaashoek/Comskip

Found from a Kodi thread which has activity for "tvheadend"
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=150084

Thanks
Dave
does this version support h264? I use the donators version today under wine, since it supports h264. My understanding is the the "free" version does not support h264. I guess I could add it as an option for people that still use mpeg2.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-27-2016, 01:19 PM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
does this version support h264? I use the donators version today under wine, since it supports h264. My understanding is the the "free" version does not support h264. I guess I could add it as an option for people that still use mpeg2.

Yup, appears that mkv files are supported.

"Note that this version does support mkv files which the windows version doesn't."

-Towards the bottom of the first post on the kodi.tv site inbetween some "code" tags...
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-27-2016, 01:40 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
Yup, appears that mkv files are supported.

"Note that this version does support mkv files which the windows version doesn't."

-Towards the bottom of the first post on the kodi.tv site inbetween some "code" tags...
I will build it an test it out (hopefully tonight). If it works on my h264 ts files then I'll figure out a way to include it. Might need some changes to the "comskip" plugin (which isn't mine to change). But, we'll see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-27-2016, 03:54 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
As nice as it would be to use SageTV in docker form, I can't without Colossus driver support. No linux drivers that I've been able to find.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-27-2016, 07:00 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
Yup, appears that mkv files are supported.

"Note that this version does support mkv files which the windows version doesn't."

-Towards the bottom of the first post on the kodi.tv site inbetween some "code" tags...
Great news everyone. I was able to build the Comskip under linux and it could process my .ts files, so I'll start making the changes to to the sagetv docker container to include the native linux comskip. Thank you for sharing that gem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
As nice as it would be to use SageTV in docker form, I can't without Colossus driver support. No linux drivers that I've been able to find.
Sadly there is nothing I can do about that This might fit into the "network encoder" camp and maybe those tuners would have to live on a windows box... or even a windows vm on an unRAID server and pass through the usb devices to the vm.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-27-2016, 07:08 PM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
Awesome news!!! You have made such great progress in such short time!

I will be starting up a new unRAID server and should be able to test out this weekend.

Any idea on how plug-ins work with the docker? i.e. if we install a plug-in once, is it kept every time we "update" the docker?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04-28-2016, 08:36 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Sadly there is nothing I can do about that This might fit into the "network encoder" camp and maybe those tuners would have to live on a windows box... or even a windows vm on an unRAID server and pass through the usb devices to the vm.
I've got a Windows Server 2010 R2 VM running sage now, but was hoping to use all the linux sageTV goodness.

If I have to I can leave them as network encoders. I may have to find something else for that Windows VM to do since I've moved everything else to unraid.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-28-2016, 08:53 AM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I've actually got it scanning for channels on my HDHR right now. Worked right out of the box.
Stanger89
What version of unRAID are you on?
Did you have to install any plug-in's to get the drivers for HDHR to work? Or just install the Docker and it worked (The HDHR)?

Thanks
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-28-2016, 09:06 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
Any idea on how plug-ins work with the docker? i.e. if we install a plug-in once, is it kept every time we "update" the docker?
I'm not 100% sure I understand the question... but, if you install an unRAID plugin (ie, a new kernel), then it will restart unRAID, and then the Docker containers will have to be restarted as well (unless you set them to auto-start).

The Docker containers themselves, don't store any important information inside the container, so, even if you remove the Docker containers and re-add, SageTV will just start normally, and not notice anything has changed. I hope this explains stuff.. not sure
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-28-2016, 10:06 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I'm not 100% sure I understand the question... but, if you install an unRAID plugin (ie, a new kernel), then it will restart unRAID, and then the Docker containers will have to be restarted as well (unless you set them to auto-start).

The Docker containers themselves, don't store any important information inside the container, so, even if you remove the Docker containers and re-add, SageTV will just start normally, and not notice anything has changed. I hope this explains stuff.. not sure
I think that he may have meant, what happens to SAGETV plugins that are installed? Are they maintained when a new docker version is installed?
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-28-2016, 10:28 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
Stanger89
What version of unRAID are you on?
Did you have to install any plug-in's to get the drivers for HDHR to work? Or just install the Docker and it worked (The HDHR)?
6.1 I believe, I haven't updated to the 6.2 beta.

I just installed it, didn't do anything special.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:19 AM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
I think that he may have meant, what happens to SAGETV plugins that are installed? Are they maintained when a new docker version is installed?
That's correct matt91.

Are SageTV plugin files stored the same way that the wiz.bin files are stored? So that if the docker is removed they remain?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-28-2016, 12:18 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
That's correct matt91.

Are SageTV plugin files stored the same way that the wiz.bin files are stored? So that if the docker is removed they remain?
everything related to SageTV is stored in /opt/sagetv/server. So in 'server' the Wiz.bin, plugins, log files, userdata for plugins, etc, all stored there. When you setup the docker contiainer, one of the path settings is for /opt/sagetv. This path points to a share location on you unRAID server in which, .'server' will be placed. So, in short, the installation and data files for sagetv are NOT in the docker container. You can completely remove the container and re-create it and all plugins, and wiz.bin state will be retained (because it's store on the unraid share path that you provided).
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-30-2016, 06:56 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Question: Why use java 8 vs 7?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-01-2016, 04:15 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Question: Why use java 8 vs 7?
Java 7 is no longer supported. Java 8 is the current version. As a developer, there are features of Java 8 that I'll likely be using at some point (in plugins) so if people are stuff on Java 7 then those plugins won't work at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-18-2017, 11:54 AM
jmv jmv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
Folks,

I am considering my options for the migration to v9. This weekend I plan to install over my SageTVserver 7 instance that runs natively on my Windows Server 2012 R2 system. Longer term I'm considering how to get to the V9 Linux route to allow for the larger java heap. I already posted about running V9 Linux as a VM on my Windows 2012 R2 server and that seems like a viable path.

Now I am looking into unRaid, but have a specific desire to use an older Areca card under unRaid...does anyone know if I can let the Areca card manage the raid array and just expose it as a single data drive to the unRaid OS? Are there any issues with # ports or expanding the RAID 6 array and unRaid "seeing" the increased capacity? For more details, see my post here:

https://forums.lime-technology.com/t...-single-drive/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS to W7 and Unraid - Have some ???s icon123 Hardware Support 25 01-19-2011 05:50 PM
whs or unraid? rwc SageTV Software 28 09-18-2010 10:16 AM
Recordings preview image showing the same (wrong) image dinki SageTV v7 Customizations 4 07-12-2010 04:35 PM
unRAID wrems Hardware Support 19 04-13-2010 02:32 PM
Passing image name from action to image widget jbuszkie SageTV Studio 5 12-09-2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.