SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2011, 05:22 PM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Hardware for "Similar" HD300 Performance and Appearance

Hi,

Since the HD300's are not available anymore and they are going for 300-400 + on Ebay, I started looking for hardware from which I can build similar devices using my extra client licenses.

I really like the new AMD Fusion processors but through searching on the web and on these forums, it seems the E350 Mobo/CPU combo seems to be a little underpowered with respect to the CPU performance.

Here are some alternatives that I found that would offer a lot more CPU power with all the same benefits of the Fusion technology.

Using a case similar to this:
http://hipergroup.com/products.php?lv=2&cate=2&type=12

Again due to the mATX limitation there are few cases in the size of the HD300 but this seemed like a decent alternative.

We can use the following bundle (there are cheaper bundles)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...479&CatId=7249
For mobo and CPU.

What I came across today and what has gotten me excited is the following mobo from ASUS:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...F1A75I_DELUXE/

It gives you all the functions available at the mATX level but in a mini-itx format. These opens up a whole new array of cases, with the addition of being able to use one of AMD's Quad Core APU's.

Looking for any other opinions, ideas, or other alternatives to the HD300.

Thanks

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2011, 08:53 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Anyone else have any good experiences with different mini-itx hardware. Maybe anyone who has pics of cases that is comparable to the HD300 size?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2011, 01:31 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
nothing would ever be close the HD300 in size. a mini-itx MB is about 6"x6" square. The entire HD300 is something like 5"x4". Even going to an external power brick, and booting from a thumbdrive, you'd still be looking at 8x8x3 at least. Better option (and worlds cheaper) would be to just hide the box, and not worry about it's appearance.

that said, I've been running a mini-ITX i3 based client for quite a while now, and it works great. build is in my sig.

EDIT: This is the case i use... cheap, but works well. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811121115
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2011, 01:48 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
EDIT: This is the case i use... cheap, but works well. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811121115
I was looking at that one, but the power supply has me worried (I like to stick with the brands I know).

I'm looking at this one. It has gotten good reviews on AVS and seems to be pretty solid. Plus, it's really small.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2011, 01:53 PM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
H Fuzzy, good point on the size but anything that is close would be helpful. That case you posted seems to be pretty good. Did you have any issues with heat, what type of cooling do you have on your CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2011, 02:07 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
nothing would ever be close the HD300 in size. a mini-itx MB is about 6"x6" square. The entire HD300 is something like 5"x4". Even going to an external power brick, and booting from a thumbdrive, you'd still be looking at 8x8x3 at least. Better option (and worlds cheaper) would be to just hide the box, and not worry about it's appearance.

that said, I've been running a mini-ITX i3 based client for quite a while now, and it works great. build is in my sig.

EDIT: This is the case i use... cheap, but works well. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811121115
Currently the first review for it says "insanely loud for a case that is supposedly used for a media center. I am looking for new fans now" did you replace the fans with anything quieter? or is yours even audible?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2011, 05:19 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Actually, when I bought the case a year or so ago, it had a smaller power supply, and it was pretty silent (used it in my master bedroom for quite a while, and never noticed the sound from it). However, that power supply DID fail on me, and I ended up purchasing a cheap replacement (was in a hurry) that is quite a bit louder. the system is now in my living room though, so the noise isn't an issue (I mean, it's not 'LOUD', but it is audible).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2011, 05:35 PM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
I don't think a small client PC would be as stable as the HD300 either.
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2011, 07:43 PM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielcab View Post
I don't think a small client PC would be as stable as the HD300 either.
I agree with this but what other option do we have, eventually the HD300's on Ebay will run out and all we will be able to do is build Client PC's (that is those of us who have client licenses).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2011, 10:47 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I've found my client to be every bit as stable as the HD300 (which was the main reason I hadn't purchased an extender for many years). It's all about keeping the configuration simple. I've got just what is needed installed, and nothing more. Works great.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:50 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I've found my client to be every bit as stable as the HD300 (which was the main reason I hadn't purchased an extender for many years). It's all about keeping the configuration simple. I've got just what is needed installed, and nothing more. Works great.
Agreed,
If you don't put a lot of other stuff on it it can be very stable. It may take a little longer to get the right drivers and codecs working but once it is perfect stop playing with it and you will not have problem.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-26-2011, 06:34 AM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I've found my client to be every bit as stable as the HD300 (which was the main reason I hadn't purchased an extender for many years). It's all about keeping the configuration simple. I've got just what is needed installed, and nothing more. Works great.
What is needed to keep a client stable? I formated my PC (again) and even the live tv stutter from time to time. I have a i7, gtx580, windows 7 x64. I need the client to play .MKV, tv recordings and blu-rays rips.
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-26-2011, 06:45 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWKerr View Post
Agreed,
If you don't put a lot of other stuff on it it can be very stable. It may take a little longer to get the right drivers and codecs working but once it is perfect stop playing with it and you will not have problem.
See I've had sporadic problems with my client, don't know if its hardware or software related. My configuration is what I would call simple, only got Diamond and some other minor plugins installed (like canadian channel logos, extra Stop options and such). Every once and a while Sage decides to crash and I need to restart. Sometimes I'll go weeks without having a problem and sometimes as much as 2-3 times a day. I will be building a new client soon, hence the thread, we will see if the new hardware helps. If so I'll replace my other client too.

Any other suggestions on Client PC hardware, again I'm looking for the smallest client I can get. It needs to mount behind a wall mounted LCD.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-26-2011, 07:33 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielcab View Post
What is needed to keep a client stable? I formated my PC (again) and even the live tv stutter from time to time. I have a i7, gtx580, windows 7 x64. I need the client to play .MKV, tv recordings and blu-rays rips.
for me, what is installed on my client is:
Win7, ffdshow, SageTVClient, Girder, ArcSoft TMT5, and ReClock. USB-UIRT control goes to Girder, which in turn controls the system power state, SageTVClient, and TMT5. TMT5 is launched for DVD and BD playback with my external bluray playback plugin.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-26-2011, 08:16 AM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
I am using usbiurt as well but can't get it to wake from S3 with winxp sp3. Are you saying you can wake from S3 with girder installed?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-26-2011, 09:36 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Yes, but it's not girder that does the waking. It is a feature built into the USB-UIRT. It DOES have to be programmed though, to tell it what IR codes will wake the computer. This can be done in either Girder or Lrnhelpr (check the USB-UIRT forums). You also have to have the computer configured in the BIOS to wake from S3 on USB.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-26-2011, 10:19 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by giacinto41 View Post
See I've had sporadic problems with my client, don't know if its hardware or software related. My configuration is what I would call simple, only got Diamond and some other minor plugins installed (like canadian channel logos, extra Stop options and such). Every once and a while Sage decides to crash and I need to restart. Sometimes I'll go weeks without having a problem and sometimes as much as 2-3 times a day. I will be building a new client soon, hence the thread, we will see if the new hardware helps. If so I'll replace my other client too.

Any other suggestions on Client PC hardware, again I'm looking for the smallest client I can get. It needs to mount behind a wall mounted LCD.
One thing I can tell you is the extra stop options plugin made my client very unstable.

The only instability I ever see is in SMM when my video card runs out of memory. Scrolling through movies will go very slow. Once the memory is released everything is fine. It isn't a driver issue as 3 different video cards from different manufacturers have the issue. Other than that I have nothing, and it happens so rarely that I don't really count it as an issue.

The only other problem I have with my client is WMC netflix goes black at random, but that is a crappy WMC problem not sage.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-26-2011, 10:24 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
One thing I can tell you is the extra stop options plugin made my client very unstable.

The only instability I ever see is in SMM when my video card runs out of memory. Scrolling through movies will go very slow. Once the memory is released everything is fine. It isn't a driver issue as 3 different video cards from different manufacturers have the issue. Other than that I have nothing, and it happens so rarely that I don't really count it as an issue.

The only other problem I have with my client is WMC netflix goes black at random, but that is a crappy WMC problem not sage.
Ill try running it without the extra stop options and see what happens. Thanks for the info.

Is no one else running mini-itx systems? Any other suggestions??
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-26-2011, 10:30 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by giacinto41 View Post
Ill try running it without the extra stop options and see what happens. Thanks for the info.

Is no one else running mini-itx systems? Any other suggestions??
Keep in mind that just because it did strange things to my system doesn't mean it did to yours.

I plan on grabbing a mini-itx system in the next few months. I've got lots of spare parts that will be made into clients first. Depending on how that goes will help me decide on whether or not I want to make some mini-itx clients.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-26-2011, 05:48 PM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by giacinto41 View Post
Is no one else running mini-itx systems? Any other suggestions??
I'm running a mini-ITX in my kitchen without any problems. The only minor complaint I have is the stock Intel CPU fan can get a little loud once the box heats up. I originally had an ATI Radeon HD 6450 in the box, but found that the Sandy Bridge graphics played back 1080p video without issues, so I removed the card to reduce on power draw and heat. Here are my core components:

ASRock H67M-ITX
Intel Core i3-2100
8GB G.Skill Ripjaw Memory
Apex MI-008 Case
2.5" 200GB notebook HD I had laying around

I think you'll find it pretty hard to find a mini-ITX build that will mount neatly behind your TV. You might try looking at some of the "booksize" computers like these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856176025
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856173023
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 showing my files as "empty" or "not on disc?" RNRGAGNE SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 1 12-21-2010 07:53 PM
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
"Set defaults" for Series forgets "Keep"/"Auto-delete" setting maxpower SageMC Custom Interface 9 05-14-2008 09:44 PM
Is there an addon similar to "My Movies" for MCE? electricd7 SageTV Customizations 3 04-01-2005 07:14 AM
"Real" RAID5 performance test mdmint Hardware Support 6 02-10-2005 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.