SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2012, 11:10 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Placeshifting with HD300

Hi Guys,

I have a few questions regarding placeshifting using a HD300. I've been searching through the forums and from what I've gathered is that GENERALLY performance is ok for non HD-PVR recordings. Am I right in saying this??

Also the consensus is that the problem is due to the fact that the media extenders don't allow for multi-threaded transcoding of the video stream. The posts I find on the forums are pretty dated and a lot of them mention the V7.1.8 release as being the release to fix this. Has that been fixed??

My internet connection only has 800 kbps but I am currently looking to see if I could bump that up to 2 Mbps. What difference do you think I would see??

Server Hardware
- Windows 7 64 Bit
- SageTV V7.1.9
- Diamond Theme
- Shuttle SN78SH7 (nVidia GeForce 8200, GigaBit Ethernet)
- AMD Phenom X3 8450 2100Mhz 3.5MB Socket AM2+
- OCZ 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
- 2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s
- 2 x HDPVR connected to two HD Receivers
- USB-UIRT for receiver control
- Headless and located in closet with switch and receivers.

My Clients are one PC and One HD300, so not much load on server. What do you think the user experience will be?? Don't want to shell out the money for the HD300's if it is not going to work all that well.

Thanks and any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2012, 12:27 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
Uploading bandwidth from the server location is typically where the bottleneck is. One way to work around this is to have the server transcode the files ahead of time, another is to hook up a slingbox to an extender (or PC) for that matter.

Sling Media created some remote images from a couple of remotes I had sent them. I am not sure if they ever published them, but I just set up a thread for them.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=532955

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2012, 07:52 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Hey,

Thanks for the responses. Slingbox sounds like a good idea but it looks id need two slingboxs and a hd300 (or client pc) for each viewing connection. Is the viewing experiance that bad using the built in placeshifting?? Its a lot of hardware investment. Thanks anyways.

Anyone have good experiances Placeshifting with a 2Mbps upload connection?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2012, 06:22 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by giacinto41 View Post
Anyone have good experiances Placeshifting with a 2Mbps upload connection?
I do have an ADSL+ Annex M connection which allows a theoretical 2.5Mbits upload and I do use the SageTV placeshifter (never tried the HD300 thought) regularly at work via VPN tunnel (Windows VPN server) and providing your connection can sustain a stable 1.3Mbits is working pretty well, but I found that at lower speed is sometimes a little bit jerky.

In the PC version the UI is rendered in the SageTV server so it does probably require more bandwidth than the HD300 in placeshifter mode where maybe the UI is rendered locally? But not sure about it, sorry.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 06-16-2012 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2012, 07:41 AM
giacinto41 giacinto41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I do have an ADSL+ Annex M connection which allows a theoretical 2.5Mbits upload and I do use the SageTV placeshifter (never tried the HD300 thought) regularly at work via VPN tunnel (Windows VPN server) and providing your connection can sustain a stable 1.3Mbits is working pretty well, but I found that at lower speed is sometimes a little bit jerky.

In the PC version the UI is rendered in the SageTV server so it does probably require more bandwidth than the HD300 in placeshifter mode where maybe the UI is rendered locally? But not sure about it, sorry.

Eddy
Hi,

Thanks for the info. One question though if you are doing this through a VPN tunnel then technically you arent placeshifting since SageTV thinks you are on the local network. Am I right in assuming this or have you set it up differently??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2012, 07:51 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by giacinto41 View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the info. One question though if you are doing this through a VPN tunnel then technically you arent placeshifting since SageTV thinks you are on the local network. Am I right in assuming this or have you set it up differently??

Thanks
No, I don't think it does matter really. I might be wrong, but I don't think SageTV detects this. I just do it on VPN as it is easy without the need to open many ports as I do run other services as well...

I think as long as you provide the fastest possible connection between the placeshifter/server then SageTV automatically tunes the video quality on the maximum throughput available, but as I said I could be wrong, so maybe others will comment...the only thing that sucks about placeshifter is that you cannot watch DVDs, but a part from that is brilliant.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 06-17-2012 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 placeshifting - cannot get transcoder to use more than one core etk29321 SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-20-2010 01:52 PM
EPG and Placeshifting OttoNP SageTV Beta Test Software 0 03-10-2007 11:10 PM
MP4 and Placeshifting??? dvd_maniac SageTV Software 2 04-25-2006 12:35 PM
4.1.11 Placeshifting cmaffia SageTV Beta Test Software 2 04-01-2006 01:04 PM
MCE Placeshifting too mayamaniac General Discussion 8 02-23-2006 11:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.