SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2015, 01:18 PM
ChaOConnor's Avatar
ChaOConnor ChaOConnor is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 355
Docker Image for unRaid

Not sure if this is unique to the open source discussion, but I've been reading up on trying to make a docker image of SageTV server for unRaid. I know a lot of folks around here use unRaid and with the recent move to integrating Docker into the unRaid NAS, I've felt that SageTV would be a perfect fit.

I'm still doing research, but I think perhaps it's doable now. The open source nature of the code (and probably updates to things like java, etc.) would make it smoother running, etc., but not necessary to actually create a running image.

I'll throw it out there: does anyone have any experience with Docker and think SageTV would be a good application for it? I currently run everything off my unRaid device and if I could ditch the windows machine that runs SageTV, I'd be set.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz, ASRock 890FX Deluxe4 890FX, PNY Optima 8GB DDR3 1333
Media Storage: Rosewill RSV-S4-X 4 Bay Enclosure w/ 4 x 3TB via unRAID
Capture: HDHomerun Prime, HDHomerun x 2
Software: Sage Server 7.1.9 on Windows 7 (Virtualized in ESXi)
Clients: i3-2105, ASRock Z68 Pro3-M, 4GB DDR3 1600, 64GB SATA III (OS), 2TB WD Green (Recording), PNY GT 430 // 2 x HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2015, 02:43 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
I have experience with docker (somewhat limited, but I've used it and am using it everyday at work on my latest project). Seems to me the biggest issue will be hardware access. If you're just using an HDHR or other network based encoder then putting Sage in a docker image might be feasible. If you use hardware directly connected to your Sage server (USB, PCIe, etc. for tuners or IR blasting, etc.) then dockerizing Sage isn't going to be a fun experience. Direct access to hardware in containers is hit & miss, at best, but I have no experience with actually trying it but googling it says it's not fun/not something you want to have to do.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:41 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Ah, I misread/confused some of the info about Docker and drivers. For some reason I thought you could put drivers in a Docker, but it's the reverse. So docker probably isn't the best option, though a lightweight OpenELEC style linux distro VM might be good.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2015, 02:09 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Even then, hardware access is always 'tricky' with a VM, especially hardware access that is really critical about timing and throughput. I mean, going forward, I'm hoping to have networked hardware that supports whatever future version of the Network Encoder API gets polished up - and then it would work easily as a docker, vm, embedded kit, etc.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2015, 06:25 AM
ChaOConnor's Avatar
ChaOConnor ChaOConnor is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 355
See I'm using just HDHomeRuns, which is why I've been trying to use a Docker image. I tried some linux based DVR software w/ limited success in Docker. They were able to see and access the HDHomeRuns easily, but configuring them was somewhat of a pain. That's why I keep going back to Sage... the "it just works" principle. Why try to find a replacement for Sage, instead if I can, just make Sage work in my config. Admittedly, that may be more difficult than just finding something else, but I feel like it's pretty close to being feasible.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz, ASRock 890FX Deluxe4 890FX, PNY Optima 8GB DDR3 1333
Media Storage: Rosewill RSV-S4-X 4 Bay Enclosure w/ 4 x 3TB via unRAID
Capture: HDHomerun Prime, HDHomerun x 2
Software: Sage Server 7.1.9 on Windows 7 (Virtualized in ESXi)
Clients: i3-2105, ASRock Z68 Pro3-M, 4GB DDR3 1600, 64GB SATA III (OS), 2TB WD Green (Recording), PNY GT 430 // 2 x HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2015, 06:57 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Ah, I misread/confused some of the info about Docker and drivers. For some reason I thought you could put drivers in a Docker, but it's the reverse. So docker probably isn't the best option, though a lightweight OpenELEC style linux distro VM might be good.
Please excuse me as I know nothing about Docker/unRaid. I do, however, have interest in a possible SageTV linux distro. I know it's early and SageTV code has yet to be released, but how feasible do you guys think it is to create an OpenELEC style distro for SageTV server? I'd like to replace my always-on Sage server with a lower powered device. I've already moved my home automation to a Debian based ARM system (Pogoplug) with great success and would love to have Sage server running on a headless linux box of some type.

Hope I'm not derailing the thread.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2015, 07:06 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
It is pretty feasible, and sage actually designed the linux version for embedded, or 'pre-made server' uses - but that won't really be possible for us until the licensing is removed from it when the open source is released. The major issue will be the drivers for accessing tuners. I'm guessing those are more hardware specific, and may not recompile to ARM easily, plus there's an issue of the tuner needing some sort of ARM drivers. With something network based it would likely work just fine. Still, there are cheap low power x86 systems available as well, so ARM is certainly not a requirement for low power embedded systems.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2015, 07:52 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Sure. I'm not tied to ARM. I did, however, get TVHeadend server running on the Pogoplug using an ATI TV Wonder 600 usb stick so at least some devices are supported.

Right now I've got an old server with a bunch of PCI tuners in it and an HDHomerun but I'm planning on adding another HDHomerun and maybe another USB tuner for analog cable that way I'm not tied to PCI any more.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2015, 12:31 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Been running SageTV in an ESXi VM since 2010 with PCIe tuner cards passed through. Ran SageTV VM in unRAID 6.0b5 for 6 months without an issue. Hoping to switch to linux SageTV and drop ESXi when Sage goes open source only have Windows licenses currently. Would switch to unRAID 6.0 final when it is available but ran out of Windows activations to switch everything and would rather use KVM. Was using XEN when I had a unRAID windows VM.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2015, 10:30 AM
coppit coppit is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 176
Now that the open source version is out, I plan on taking a stab at it.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=575132
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-12-2015, 10:46 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I'll try it out if you get something working.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-12-2015, 11:47 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
I'll try it out too!
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-13-2015, 08:46 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
What they said@ ^
|
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-18-2016, 09:31 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
This ever go anywhere?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2016, 06:43 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I played around with it a bit a little while ago. I think the dockerfile can be dramatically simplified now that there's an installer for linux. I haven't take the time to try it on my unRAID server yet.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-19-2016, 06:15 PM
jjyec jjyec is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
If anyone's still interested, here's my attempt at an unraid specific docker. Thanks to the hard work of the dev, installing from the deb is easy. Works great with HDHomerun.

https://github.com/ycayer/docker-templates
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-22-2016, 11:07 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
I might be posting some questions here in a couple weeks... I'm moving to UNRAID, and I'm going to be moving my SageTV server to Docker... so this is timely.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-22-2016, 03:37 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjyec View Post
If anyone's still interested, here's my attempt at an unraid specific docker. Thanks to the hard work of the dev, installing from the deb is easy. Works great with HDHomerun.

https://github.com/ycayer/docker-templates
Can I add some suggestions/questions (maybe I'm doing something wrong)?

I think the volumes and ports should be setup to be definable in the unRAID config, see here for an example:
https://github.com/gfjardim/docker-c...ediaServer.xml

I believe we'll also need to make sure all the correct ports are exposed, coppit had these in his dockerfile, but I think they should be in the unRAID config GUI:
TCP: 42024 7818 8270
UDP: 31100 31099
UDP (Hauppauge Extenders): 16867 16869 16881

Also should SageTV's install directory be mapped to outside the docker image? I think it should, that would allow wiping the docker image and recreating/reinstalling it without losing all the SageTV settings.

BTW, thanks for doing this! I'd been procrastinating distracted, and of course there's an amount of not wanting to be the stuckee to support it
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-23-2016, 04:26 AM
jjyec jjyec is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
This is my first Docker for Unraid, so it's quite possible I'm missing something.

One thing, I've been told by the Unraid folks that my template is compatible with 6.2 beta and above. I haven't had time to dig into making it 6.1- compatible.

I didn't have to expose specific ports since I used host networking. I tested clients and the web server this way.

I'll double check the volume mappings.

But yes, the sage install is mapped outside of docker, so it can retain plugins and wiz.bin on re-install. It is a hack, but that's why I copy the install to this volume before launching sagetv.

Been using it this way for a week.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-23-2016, 05:44 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Ah, maybe that's the difference, I didn't realize there was a 6.2 beta yet.

re: host vs bridge, bridge may be better in the long run so we don't run into problems with the Sage webserver (plugin) conflicting with other webservers (unRAID, Squeezebox, etc)

Also, do you record directly to the array? Do you have cache enabled for that share? How many tuners/simultaneous recordings have you had going?

Last edited by stanger89; 03-23-2016 at 05:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS to W7 and Unraid - Have some ???s icon123 Hardware Support 25 01-19-2011 05:50 PM
whs or unraid? rwc SageTV Software 28 09-18-2010 10:16 AM
Recordings preview image showing the same (wrong) image dinki SageTV v7 Customizations 4 07-12-2010 04:35 PM
unRAID wrems Hardware Support 19 04-13-2010 02:32 PM
Passing image name from action to image widget jbuszkie SageTV Studio 5 12-09-2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.