SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

View Poll Results: Do you want to see Cablecard support in SagtTV?
No, I could care less 32 21.33%
Yes, but only if it is free 22 14.67%
Yes, and I would be willing to pay small premium for the feature. 96 64.00%
Voters: 150. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:44 AM
tpboyce tpboyce is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Do you want Sage to push for use of Silicondust HDHR-CC (Cablecard tuner)

It seems that the only feature lacking in the latest release is Cablecard. I switched back to WMC7 for this feature and a cleaner GUI. I will be trying the Beta, however, really want Cablecard support.

Last edited by tpboyce; 05-20-2010 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:30 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I couldn't () care less personally, I don't have cable, don't see ever going back to it. And even if I did, I think I'd rather have DRM free HD PVR recordings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:33 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
It is not a matter of want but money. Cable card certification is expensive. They would either have to pay microsoft to use their drm certificated decoder or get their own certified (very expensive)

and given that cable card is a dead duck soon I would rather they wait and see what the fcc decides.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:37 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
I'd just be happy with limited support that would only access shows marked copy-freely. SiliconDust indicated a while back that they were going to try to convince CableLabs to let them give uncertified applications access to copy-freely content, but there hasn't been an update on that issue for several months.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2010, 04:08 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I couldn't () care less personally, I don't have cable, don't see ever going back to it. And even if I did, I think I'd rather have DRM free HD PVR recordings.
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I'd just be happy with limited support that would only access shows marked copy-freely. SiliconDust indicated a while back that they were going to try to convince CableLabs to let them give uncertified applications access to copy-freely content, but there hasn't been an update on that issue for several months.
How do these two comments go together? meaning - If they did what Reggie asked would those recordings be DRM free??? That is all I would be interested in, I couldn't care less to record HBO or any 'premium' channel, but it sure would be nice to get History Channel HD etc without needing a cable-box and an HD-PVR
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2010, 04:14 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I personally think people are getting their hopes a little too high that the situation with "Copy Freely" flagging will be any better than it is with clear QAM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:15 PM
medwynd medwynd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I couldn't () care less personally
I was going to make the same comment lol
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2010, 03:12 PM
dfitz43 dfitz43 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 93
I'm among those who think that Cablecard support is really critical for Sage going forward, and would definitely be willing to pay a significant premium for this capability.

Obviously, there are ways to get DRM'd content into Sage via component capture methods, but like many, I would prefer the ease and elegance of a direct stream capture.

I think many of us will be anxiously awaiting the Ceton quad tuner that's due out 5/31, in conjunction with the babgvant WMC bridge into Sage. If this works as promised, it's going to be a beautiful thing.

As many have pointed out, this is only as good as your provider is at marking content "copy freely", but in FIOS-land, this situation is fortunately looking good.

It'll be interesting to see if the SiliconDust network cablecard tuner comes to fruition, though I think this was only 3 tuners and not 4 that Ceton was offerering.

Anyway, to each his own, and I know a lotta folks have expressed ambivalence about the whole cablecard thing, but I'm firmly in the camp that think it's a big deal for Sage collectively, and personally, awesome.

cheers,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2010, 05:09 PM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfitz43 View Post
As many have pointed out, this is only as good as your provider is at marking content "copy freely", but in FIOS-land, this situation is fortunately looking good.
Flagging of content is not up to the provider. It comes that way from the source. It is not up to the cable co's to decide which programs get protection, and which do not. Furthermore, when I moved from Dish to FIOS the protection patterns did not change. If anything, in the two years since I've had FIOS the quantity of shows being sent "protected" has noticeably risen, and I expect that trend will continue.

All premiums (e.g. PPV and HBO) will almost certainly be protected (HBO goes so far as to have a FAQ on this at http://www.homeboxoffice.com/to/cgms...achment_qa.pdf). Some non-premiums are protected as well (e.g. AMC). A few channels protect specific shows or portions of shows only (e.g. the Turner family of channels). This is done with CGMS-A flags and/or Macrovision on the analog outputs, BTW, and if you setup 7MC without PlayReady you will very quickly discover which channels/programs do and which do not flag their signals.

On FIOS, all but a few channels are 5C'd over firewire, meaning they are not "copy freely" in the digital stream. Although one would think the digital flags would determine the analog ones, this does not seem to be the case. I hope I'm wrong!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-20-2010, 12:45 PM
soccerdad soccerdad is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
I'd pick an option that is not available in the poll: "Yes, and I would be willing to pay a significant premium for the feature."

I have a lot of money invested in SageTV, and really like the idea it is based on. I've tried all the capture options, am currently using clear QAM and HD-PVR's. The easing of restrictions on cablecards gives me hope that there might be a future without cable boxes and quirky HD-PVR's. I am willing to forego it all, DRM free recordings, comskip, you name it, for trouble-free direct digital copies of the transport stream that can be played back via ethernet in the entire house. If SageTV does not support cablecards, but Windows Media Center does, I'll dump my SageTV setup and install xbox360 extenders in lieu of SageTV extenders. It doesn't matter how SageTV supports cablecards, plugin or natively, if it works, I'll buy it. Ofcourse, if Windows Media Center support turns out to be too limiting, I'll have dust off the Hauppauge boxes again and crawl back to SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:44 PM
barney B.A.'s Avatar
barney B.A. barney B.A. is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South of Baltimore
Posts: 123
The only feature cablecard has is to impose DRM.
I have no use for it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:44 PM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
I'm a refuge from WMC for a number of reasons, but chief among them are because it has slowly turned into DRM hell. A good percentage of cable/satellite stations now transmit CGMS-A and/or Macrovision flags which WMC gleefully honors.

The best case scenario are that shows flagged "copy once" cannot be played anywhere other than the PC they originated from. Update hardware or reinstall windows, and suddenly you can no longer play those shows with NO recourse.

Then there was a period of time (since fixed, I believe) where you couldn't even watch live TV if the show was "copy never", but you are still prohibited from recording such shows at last check. Even worse, a few randomly turn the "copy never" flag on and off at random, so you get half a show and right when you get hooked, you get a blue screen of DRM until the end (save the commercials, conveniently).

Cable card is fine in principle and I'd likely get one for copy-freely stations, but I have a hunch DRM is an all or nothing proposition. If SageTV has to honor *analog* flags as a requirement for cable card certification, I want no part of it. I see no option for this in the poll, so for now I'll abstain for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SiliconDust To Announce CableCard Product? FreshOne Hardware Support 51 05-11-2010 03:10 PM
Silicondust released a new Gold version of software for HDHR ace007 Hardware Support 0 08-07-2009 03:23 PM
A SiliconDust Heads up on the HDHR gplasky Hardware Support 1 02-13-2009 11:58 AM
Newegg SiliconDust HDHR Black Friday Only rlvogel322 The SageTV Community 2 11-29-2008 10:02 PM
Newegg Silicondust HDHR Sale VikingCrown The SageTV Community 5 10-28-2008 11:24 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.