SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:52 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Standalone mode is much, much faster on the 300 than the 200.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:53 AM
mr_lore mr_lore is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
I might have played with it a bit

I can basically echo Brent's comments

1. Size = you don't realize how small it is until you use it
2. RemoteIR = Nice heaven sent
3. DTS donconvert= I can finally play back my blu ray rips on any tv no matter the audio
4. HD Audio= Do I need to add much to this? I mean without messing with codecs and pure bitstreaming support
5. Lower Price= still amazed by this one.

I mounted them to the back of my tv's and used the remote IR feature for full hidden control. I used cheap velco to achieve this and the results are great!!. I have attached some pictures of me doing it to my daughters new tv. I also had a flat mount tv where I just velcroed it to the wall behind the mount up high works perfect.

Hopefully this pics will inspire I was careful not to cover any of the vent holes with the velcro.

Pictures on this post

Just want to say again Good Job Sage!!!!


THIS is worth at least $300 to me, sooo annoying when SAGE spoils you having all media all the time otherwise. I should've bought two, just one for now, can't wait!
__________________
Server: WMC Windows 7 64bit, SSD+2TB, Gigabyte 870G, AMD X6, 4GB DDR, ATi 5570
Capture Devices: HDHomeRun (OTA), 2x HD-PVR w/HTTP Tuning (DirecTV H21's)
NAS: Windows Home Server: Supermicro C2SBX, C2D 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR, 32.07TB
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:06 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Is it sad that I am so willing to give Sage my money, that I didn't even look to see what the new one could do before I ordered? I just saw HDMI 1.3 and ordered..... I didn't even make it to the forums to read the official announcement....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:08 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Look at the bright side. Sage is a lot cheaper than some other hobbies, say "high end" home theater
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:14 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Look at the bright side. Sage is a lot cheaper than some other hobbies, say "high end" home theater
Very true!!!
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:46 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Do you seriously still have plastic on your tv???
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffdaddy View Post
I was thinking the same
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
Guess it's *very* new
You guys are just jealous I had just gotten that tv for daughter's playroom when the extender came in so I hadn't fully got the plastic off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm9843 View Post
Does the HD-300 support some of the new visual effects of v7 that the HD-200 does not? Like the "flip" effect on the options screen.

My only interest in the HD-300 at this time is for the faster processor and would like to know if the speed boost in the UI is worth an upgrade over the HD-200. Is it very noticeable?

It is faster yes noticeable as well. I didn't notice how much faster it was until I went back and used the hd200.

It is still no client pc fast nor can it do the 3d transformations but definitely an improvement.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-31-2010, 12:23 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
Guys, these are pre-orders. You will get them shipped after they receive them on Sept. 10th or as updated.
darn, i was ordering it so fast i missed the small print about that..........
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-31-2010, 01:09 PM
sm4284 sm4284 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Long Island New York
Posts: 18
Cool

Just ordered mine, missed the pre-order thing my self,Dam its going to be a long 10 days
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-31-2010, 01:11 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
3. DTS donconvert= I can finally play back my blu ray rips on any tv no matter the audio
Great timing! 24 hours after I installed a new quad-core CPU on my server mainly to speed up running ClownBD in a VM to post-process AC3 into BD rips for my extender... I should have upgraded my CPU sooner, maybe the HD300 would have arrived quicker

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-31-2010, 03:38 PM
autoboy autoboy is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
I find that ClownBD is limited more by file IO than CPU. My cpu never goes higher than 25% on a Tri-core 3ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:36 AM
impro impro is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
It is improved and i made a couple of tweaks to help it along. It still is not as fast as a client but it very usable and acceptable to me as long as your settings are right in SMM.
Stupid question:
What is SMM?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:40 AM
dbone1026's Avatar
dbone1026 dbone1026 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by impro View Post
Stupid question:
What is SMM?
Sage MyMovies

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49902
__________________
Cheers
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:49 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,682
I don't see any HD-200s on eBay yet. Perhaps we will have to wait until some of you guys start receiving the HD-300s.

Brent, Andrew, etc - is there a power switch on the unit or do you still have to pull out the power cord to do a proper reboot of the device?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:01 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
The pictures do not show any switches, so I think we are safe to assume that you need to pull the plug or add a switch to the walwart....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:01 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I don't see any HD-200s on eBay yet. Perhaps we will have to wait until some of you guys start receiving the HD-300s.

Brent, Andrew, etc - is there a power switch on the unit or do you still have to pull out the power cord to do a proper reboot of the device?
Pull the cord.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:14 AM
harco harco is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 28
So what are the "online services" available. It mentions youtube, what about netflix? hulu?......
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:15 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by harco View Post
So what are the "online services" available. It mentions youtube, what about netflix? hulu?......
No, they aren't there.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:25 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Just the normal ones that come with Sage - Youtube, Google Video, Channels.com, etc.....

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:29 AM
dbone1026's Avatar
dbone1026 dbone1026 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 243
If Netflix and/or Hulu were added, trust me you wouldn't have to ask as it would be stamped everywhere
__________________
Cheers
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:58 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Look at the bright side. Sage is a lot cheaper than some other hobbies, say "high end" home theater
Define "High End"...
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just ordered my extender JeffDerek SageTV Media Extender 5 01-14-2009 05:27 AM
Just ordered DirectTV--Now what? osburnfamily Hardware Support 4 01-30-2008 10:09 PM
Some Stuttering Observations... Make that Observations of Stuttering Tahoe Girl SageTV Placeshifter 7 02-11-2007 07:39 PM
Ordered V6 Upgrade, Got version 5! broderp General Discussion 16 10-20-2006 06:04 PM
X-Card just ordered Crowdx42 Hardware Support 128 09-14-2005 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.