SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:06 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
AirVideo iPad app and SageTV coexisting?

I am trying an iPad app called AirVideo, a streaming video app. Has anyone tried this running on their SageTV Server?
Basically, you need to install AirVideos PC Server software where your video files reside.
My concern is that the PC can't be serving up two different software apps independently. Has anyone fooled around with this iPad app?
At the moment, I am testing it on a different machine than my SageTV server just to be safe.

http://www.inmethod.com/air-video/in...54946DE4F7E575
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:10 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
No reasons why you couldn't do it, as long as there's enough CPU cycles on that server to handle everything it needs...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:12 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
No reasons why you couldn't do it, as long as there's enough CPU cycles on that server to handle everything it needs...
my concern was that one would steal resources, aka audio, from the other. No?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:22 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
my concern was that one would steal resources, aka audio, from the other. No?
Nah, they'll be using their own ports and such. If you were trying to have them play on the same PC/device, now that would be a different story.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:44 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
Nah, they'll be using their own ports and such. If you were trying to have them play on the same PC/device, now that would be a different story.
cool, I'll give it I try. thanks. have you used AirVideo?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2012, 10:04 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
cool, I'll give it I try. thanks. have you used AirVideo?
AirVideo was my primary streaming server/app (on the same computer that has SageTV installed) for a number of years until I switched to Plex. I prefer Plex over AirVideo (they both do remote streaming / transcoding) because the Plex app is so much prettier (if you're into cover art, etc).

When transcoding comes into play you just want to make sure that the PC that has the AirVideo (or Plex) server installed has enough oomph for transcoding. Also in my case, switching 720p recording (from 1080i) did wonders for transcoding (but I'm running on a pretty old box, a newer box with more CPU power might do better).
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2012, 10:19 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
AirVideo was my primary streaming server/app (on the same computer that has SageTV installed) for a number of years until I switched to Plex. I prefer Plex over AirVideo (they both do remote streaming / transcoding) because the Plex app is so much prettier (if you're into cover art, etc).

When transcoding comes into play you just want to make sure that the PC that has the AirVideo (or Plex) server installed has enough oomph for transcoding. Also in my case, switching 720p recording (from 1080i) did wonders for transcoding (but I'm running on a pretty old box, a newer box with more CPU power might do better).
I think I have enough oomph, and I do run 720p now, mainly due to Placeshifter's limitations (wish they had fixed that before they sold-out).
I tried Plex briefly, but found the install and implementation confusing compared to AirVideo. Maybe I'll take another look at it later on.
Thanks
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2012, 11:19 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
AirVideo was my primary streaming server/app (on the same computer that has SageTV installed) for a number of years until I switched to Plex. I prefer Plex over AirVideo (they both do remote streaming / transcoding) because the Plex app is so much prettier (if you're into cover art, etc).

When transcoding comes into play you just want to make sure that the PC that has the AirVideo (or Plex) server installed has enough oomph for transcoding. Also in my case, switching 720p recording (from 1080i) did wonders for transcoding (but I'm running on a pretty old box, a newer box with more CPU power might do better).
oh, AirVideo needs Apple Bonjour to run....that's not a problem to a SageTV server machine, is it? I'm not a big fan of Apple apps running unless absolutely necessary...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2012, 02:06 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
It wasn't a problem for me. Like I said I used AirVideo for a number of years installed on the same computer as SageTV...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2012, 07:07 PM
farscapesg1 farscapesg1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
No problems here running both SageTV and a AirVideo on the same machine (virtual Windows 7 machine with 2 vCPU and 2 GB RAM). Ran it that way for about a year and recently set up a seperate VM running both AirVideo (for my iPad), and Emit (for my Galaxy S3 and my wife's Kindle Fire).

Just an FYI... definitely like Airvideo better as it seems to handle resources better. For example, streaming the same show, AirVideo uses 85-90% CPU while Emit pegs it at 100%.

Really need to check out Plex though... since my understanding is that it works on both IOS and Android. Would prefer a single solution for streaming to my portable devices...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:31 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
I've been using air video on my sage server for years with no problems. And my server is perhaps 4 or 5 years old; it's only a duo-core.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-19-2012, 09:49 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
thanks for the input....AirVideo installed and seemingly working well. More thorough testing this week as I travel for the holiday. For $2.99, it's a damn good little app so far. even DVD rips are playing live while transcoding.
anyone find that a certain kbit rats that's a sweet-spot? Mine is set at 512k now.

will try Plex again in weeks to come
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:06 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 442
Love air video. Running it alongside Sage for months now. Works great.

Wish they had an Android client though. Right now I"m running airvideo server and Qloud server to cover both apple and android clients...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:06 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
For what it's worth, Plex has clients for both platforms...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:56 PM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
I normally use plex instead of airvideo, but I do still use airvideo from time to time.

I'm installing Orb right now though. I won't be home to watch the Texans on Thursday, so I'm gonna try to setup Orb to allow me to stream live TV to my iPad.

Hope this works.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-21-2012, 09:16 AM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
Seems every 6-12 months, I try orb, remember I hate it, and promptly remove it from my system.

I did get orb live TV to work on my ipad and iphone, but the quality was horrible and it didn't work consistently. I'm running on a dual core e6600, with 2gb ram. Not the best machine in the world, but for everything else I need to do with this box, it's been more than capable. With orb, the cpu is pegged at 100% and memory gets real high too, and when I disconnect, the resources are never released.

I tried to use splashtop on my ipad and iphone to watch sage live, but couldn't get audio to work - splashtop requires a certain bitrate and stereo only. I probably could get it to work somehow if I messed with it long enough, but found a better solution.

I'm still using splashtop. but instead of using sage to view live tv, I'm using the HD Homerun QuickTV app. Quality is fantastic. Audio is not 100% in sync, but for the purposes of watching football on a small screen, I think it's pretty darn good.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-21-2012, 09:39 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Yeah, I gave up on Orb a long time ago...

I've been using SimpleTV for live OTA on my iPad / iPhone via the Safari browser and that's been pretty nice.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:38 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
I guess there's no way to watch live tv with AirVideo?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-07-2012, 01:12 PM
popechild popechild is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I guess there's no way to watch live tv with AirVideo?
You can watch whatever has been recorded up to the time that you started playing it (in my experience). So you don't have to wait for a recording to finish, but you can't actually watch it live if that makes sense. You could start an hour long show 30 minutes after it starts, then it'd play for 30 minutes and then stop. At that point the show would be over and you could re-start it and play the last half.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plex vs AirVideo for streaming files to iPad wayner General Discussion 16 11-03-2011 12:13 PM
SageTV on ipad - It works antplugger Hardware Support 27 08-29-2011 09:13 PM
How To; Vista Media Center coexisting with SageTV jerryt General Discussion 19 07-26-2008 08:15 PM
Hauppauge PVR 150/250 Not Coexisting Taddeusz Hardware Support 6 06-21-2006 01:47 PM
Hauppauge PVR-350 & PVR-500 coexisting? rwc Hardware Support 7 01-19-2005 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.