SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-25-2013, 11:21 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
What are the alternatives to the Harmony remotes? Looking around, there doesn't seem to be a popular alternative. It looks like Philips has a line of similar remotes, such as this one.
I think URC makes remotes that are much better than Harmony. They're built better, they feel better in your hands, they don't have tiny plastic buttons, and IMO they're way easier to program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
PC Clients win again.. :-) With Girder, and a USB-UIRT, I can use any remote I can find for any remote.
I did this for a long time with my Streamzap remote. It's fine for "commands" for which your remote has hard buttons (play/pause/etc), but works really poorly with any "soft" buttons, you end up having to map them to unlabeled or incorrectly labeled buttons and remember what does what. Stuff like Aspect Ratio toggle, like, don't like, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-25-2013, 11:41 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
Is anyone using Girder or Eventghost with their PC to send IP commands to components? I just got a new Sharp TV and it can be controlled via IP commands which I have tested from a telnet session. This seems to be the way to go in the future since IR has a lot of drawbacks.

And I agree that the title of this thread is rather speculative. Logitech may think that they can get a lot of money selling this division so it may allow Harmony to thrive under other leadership.

But if they do shut down the back end servers then we are all screwed.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-25-2013, 11:55 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,098
I got 2 of these remotes mainly for the transceiver... the remotes work right out the box for SagetV.. and the transceiver and blaster can be used with eventghost or girder using any remote. You cannot beat them for 19.99 free shipping.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:08 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
Well that really is bad news... i think for me, that's almost worst news than SageTV getting bought

I use 4 Harmony remotes, and maybe there are alternatives out there... but I really like the "Activity" based buttons and the soft buttons

For example, when I hit "Watch TV", I need the TV to turn on, set to HDMI2, SageTV to turn on, Bose to Turn ON -- Set to TV Input", and then send the TV Mute command to the TV.

I can do all of that manually, but I like being able to just use a single button

And the soft buttons are even handier... since I map a command to a readable button with text, instead of some generic red, greed, blue, yellow button that I can't remember what function that I programmed

Oh well... I'm sure I'll find an alternative solution... Once again the "cloud" sucks
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:15 PM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
I don't think we need to panic here. As I mentioned in a subsequent post, it actually appears that Logitech intends to sell of the Harmony division, not just kill it off entirely. This makes much more sense from a business standpoint, since Logitech originally paid around $29 million to acquire the previous maker of the Harmony remotes and, while not performing well, appears to still be making money. I bet another company picks up the Harmony division for a steal, then runs with it. There is a lot of potential there if someone actually focused on product/software development.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:55 PM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
Here is what Logitech's CEO posted about this:

Quote:
In a thread posted on the Logitech forums, Darrell told Logitech fans that the company has “publicly announced a plan to hold the Harmony business for sale.” He also assured users that “Logitech is not shutting down the Harmony business and certainly not the service.” The sale will not impact Harmony users, and customer support and warranties will still be provided.
So, I think that settles it.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:37 PM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Now that's interesting. We have several non-HTPC devices connected to our primary TV and I have really liked the 550 we have. Simple to set up and use.

I'll have to file this away just in case...
I found it too limiting. You don't get full control of every button on the harmony remotes. It's been a long time but there were a couple of buttons that could not be reprogrammed to what I wanted.

The URC aren't easier to set up but they are much more powerful. Once you get them all setup, they make the experiences that little bit nicer.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:39 PM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Well that really is bad news... i think for me, that's almost worst news than SageTV getting bought

I use 4 Harmony remotes, and maybe there are alternatives out there... but I really like the "Activity" based buttons and the soft buttons

For example, when I hit "Watch TV", I need the TV to turn on, set to HDMI2, SageTV to turn on, Bose to Turn ON -- Set to TV Input", and then send the TV Mute command to the TV.

I can do all of that manually, but I like being able to just use a single button

And the soft buttons are even handier... since I map a command to a readable button with text, instead of some generic red, greed, blue, yellow button that I can't remember what function that I programmed

Oh well... I'm sure I'll find an alternative solution... Once again the "cloud" sucks
URC remotes can do all that and take it a step further.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:56 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
Here is what Logitech's CEO posted about this:



So, I think that settles it.
Hey... don't the the facts get in the way of a good old fashion lynching/panic
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:57 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_h View Post
URC remotes can do all that and take it a step further.
That's good to know.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-25-2013, 02:10 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I got 2 of these remotes mainly for the transceiver...
He is right about this. For this remote and a few others the transceiver is the more valuable piece, particularly if you don't have a USB-UIRT. I have a couple of DVico transceivers (one that came with a PCI OTA ATSC tuner card and another with a WMC remote) that I use in conjunction with any number of JP1-enabled remotes. Really, all you are interested in is the number of buttons (and/or functions) that the remote can handle. You can then use a wide array of programs to execute commands ...
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-25-2013, 03:02 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I think URC makes remotes that are much better than Harmony. They're built better, they feel better in your hands, they don't have tiny plastic buttons, and IMO they're way easier to program.



I did this for a long time with my Streamzap remote. It's fine for "commands" for which your remote has hard buttons (play/pause/etc), but works really poorly with any "soft" buttons, you end up having to map them to unlabeled or incorrectly labeled buttons and remember what does what. Stuff like Aspect Ratio toggle, like, don't like, etc.
That's why I use a htm mx-500, with its rename able buttons. I don't use most of its 'features' because of girder. Just power on and off macros and a single 'mode'.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-16-2013, 09:40 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
New Harmony Remotes

Meanwhile, Logitech has announced two new remotes:
Quote:
Logitech has announced two new home control remotes — the Harmony Ultimate ($350) and Harmony Smart Control ($130) — that can both use an iOS app for control. Harmony Ultimate is a full remote with 2.4” color touchscreen that can control up to 15 devices through swipes and taps. It can also control the Philips Hue lighting system.

Harmony Smart Control works mainly through the Harmony smartphone app, though it also comes with a simple remote. It can consolidate up to eight remote controls into one app. Both remotes are compatible with 225,000 home theater devices, and both include the Harmony Hub, which turns RF signals from the remote into IR and Bluetooth commands for home theater device compatibility. The Harmony Hub also allows users to control devices through cabinets and walls. Harmony Ultimate is expected to launch this month, while Harmony Smart Control should be available in May.
From: http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/new...ntrol-remotes/
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-18-2013, 07:48 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
I love Harmony remotes, I have been using them for over a decade and I probably have about 8 of them in use today, but...

When you consider that an iPod Touch can be bought for $299 it seems hard to justify spending $350 for a Harmony remote. I don't want to use an all touch device as a remote but when you consider all of the other things that an iPod touch can do it is hard to reconcile paying more for a remote with very limited functionality.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:46 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'd gladly buy another URC for my HT (or I should say I'd gladly buy one again if I needed one), ever for way more than an idevice, my MX880+MRF350 was possibly the best thing I ever did in my HT, certainly the best value.

There's just no substitute for having real, quality, hard buttons for navigation/transport/entry. There's no way I'd want to use a 100% touchscreen device for controlling TV, you just use the remote way too much, and having to pick it up, wake it up, unlock it (eg if it's your phone and not a spare), find the button you want with your eyes and push it, just to do something simple like skip forward or back, or pause, etc.

The one exception to that would be for a dedicated system for running movie "events" (like movie night). Then a tablet with all of your movies on it that you could browse in your hand and launch the presentation (trailers, intros, then movie) with a press, now that would be cool.

But for everyday use, hard buttons all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-21-2013, 03:19 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
There's no way I'd want to use a 100% touchscreen device for controlling TV, you just use the remote way too much, and having to pick it up, wake it up, unlock it (eg if it's your phone and not a spare), find the button you want with your eyes and push it, just to do something simple like skip forward or back, or pause, etc.
The simple includes a remote control which controls 3 activities. So you don't have to use the touch screen all the time.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-23-2013, 01:10 PM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,117
The true geek in me is waiting on the Samsung S4 and its IR i/o capability. Will have to start learning how to build a custom app I guess.
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-2250 (OTA); HVR-1800 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:58 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I have four URC MX-700 remotes and can program them from my PC. I love them.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:09 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I have four URC MX-700 remotes and can program them from my PC. I love them.
My MX-550 is still great, and I actually like the button layout better than the later MX-650 and higher. The MX-550 and 600 had both levels of skip buttons near the main home circle, which is very important to how we use sage. I, at one point, was looking into what it would take to have some remotes custom built just for sage (because even the hauppauge based sagetv remotes are not optimal to sage use) - but since my mx-550 is laid out pretty good, I've just continued to use it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:42 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I want an MX890 now (just saw it)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remotes: Harmony seems slow... alternatives? greggerm Hardware Support 11 02-10-2009 09:40 AM
Logitech Harmony Remotes and IR Extenxders wvpolekat Hardware Support 3 01-27-2009 07:24 AM
URC VS Harmony?Harmony (Logitech) VS URC remotes? morikaweb Hardware Support 11 02-25-2008 06:54 PM
Harmony Remotes & Sage TheraEdge Hardware Support 2 11-21-2004 12:50 AM
Anyone have the Harmony remotes? falchulk General Discussion 7 07-03-2004 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.