SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2016, 12:47 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Going to Need a new Remote

Pretty soon I'm going to need to replace my Harmony 300 (the 4th one in as many years) and do not/am not getting suckered in for another.

I've looked at the MX-700 and "heard" that it could ALSO replace my Remote Wonder (now that it's working bitc*en).

CAN the MX-700 do that? I like the idea of have the remotes programming in software so I can always duplicate it to another remote - the biggest plus is that a used one is within my budget.

Don't need TOO much, Smart TV/HTPC/maybe my HK.

Ideas?
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2016, 01:34 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Harmony 650 + FLIRC

The Harmony can be had for about $50 and can be used to control all normal TV and Audio devices. The FLIRC ($25) can be used to add IR controls to a HTPC, FireTV and GoogleTV devices.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2016, 01:58 PM
brianrent brianrent is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 77
I agree. Harmony 650 and Flirc. We have 2 in the living room and they work great. We use rechargeable batteries with a stand alone charger with ours. Saves us a lot on batteries.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2016, 02:01 PM
brianrent brianrent is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 77
I use the same remote profile in harmony software to program both remotes so they are identical.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2016, 04:11 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Ok, you all have have a persuasive recommendation.

BUT, I do like Harmony's the 300's that I have had (granted the low man on the totem pole) barely lasted a year each.

What about the Home Theatre Master's MX-700?
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2016, 04:21 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
I just read on Amazon's web site review that the Home Theatre Master's MX-700 Must be purchased from an authorized URC dealer to be eligible to receive the programming software. I have had many urc remotes and some have had hard use but they still work and they work forever. The urc-wr7 I have now is over 7 years old.
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2016, 04:45 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 299
You may still be able to get a URC MX-850 and the MX editor software at surfremote.com. I purchased some of these over the years from them, however, now I exclusively use Logitech Harmony 650's mainly due to the high cost of the URC remotes. The URC remotes are highly configurable via PC programming (RS-232), support macros, support pronto hex code importing, and have an extensive database of equipment IR codes, however, I found that most of my programming was the equivalent of the Harmony's activity startup or power off macros. The MX-850 used to cost $200 new - I can get a refurbished Harmony 650 for $35. Also, I had reliability issues with the MX remotes - they break when dropped on a hard surface and the keypad membranes would wear out. So, long story short, I would recommend the Harmony 650's.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370(headless via RD)/OpenDCT/CetonPCIe6/HDHR-Quatro/HD300(x6) on Frontier FIOS
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x3) WMC: Win7/i3-3220(headless)/CetonPCIe6/Xbox360(x4)
Retired: Hauppauge QuadHD/HDHR Prime/CetonPCIe4/AvermediaDuet/HD-PVR/USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2016, 01:04 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
My main question is - I've been convinced to go Logitech - is if it's the same web programming, how do you set it up of the FLIRC?
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SlingBox Remote Setup: Closest Thing To HD200's Remote? PeteCress Hardware Support 1 07-08-2010 08:45 PM
Hauppauge remote conflict with Panasonic remote Sunderj Hardware Support 1 05-13-2009 08:59 AM
HD100 remote command problem on learning remote dfitz43 Hardware Support 1 03-22-2008 11:39 AM
Hauppauge 45 button remote issue (MCE kit remote) jlowery7 Hardware Support 12 04-16-2006 11:45 AM
Hauppauge silver remote and learner remote Crowdx42 Hardware Support 1 03-05-2004 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.