SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2019, 04:47 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Keep at most xx MANUAL recordings?

I have a CableTV tuner attached to my HDPVR for recording CableTV shows.

It decides it wants to either go to sleep or have a screensaver after about 6 hours of unuse. If I wake it up before a scheduled recording, it will record my nightly shows just fine. I can't of course always be home to wake it up manually.

If I use my USB-UIRT to change the channel when it is "not ready", not all the digits work and it ends up on some other channel. The second time it is fine. No amount of fiddling with the Channel Change Prefix Code or Channel Change Confirm Code within the tuner setup seems to work.

I looked for some bogus show to record on a cable channel that was the same every day and nothing exists. The NEWS does, but that doesn't use this tuner. It's relegated to the traditionally Extended Cable channels on the upper range. My second fix is to do a manual recording every night from 7:24pm to 7:26pm. 2 minutes. It's hilarious what channel actually gets recorded, but that is irrelevant. I simply delete the recordings as the pile up.

But that is the issue. It's a manual recording and therefore has no options to limit the number of them I record, like in a Favorite. Does anyone know of a plugin or other mechanism where I can automatically delete these recordings each day or week? I call upon the Sage Gods for assistance.

(PS. The long winded explanation of what & why I'm doing this will hopefully trigger more elegant ideas to my dilemma too!)
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2019, 06:22 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 513
SageJobQueue might be able to handle that, if you know how to create and configure the relevant script to execute the task. (Don't ask me, I never worked it out for myself, not that I tried very hard)

"Stock" SageTV certainly won't offer you any options as Manual recordings always take precedence over everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2019, 01:09 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,165
Do you know how long the box takes to wake up? Would a code update to do something like tune, wait X seconds and then tune again suffice? Does re-tuning to the same channel cause a momentary picture dropout or is it harmless? If harmless the code could be set up to always tune 2x in your case regardless of how long ago the previous recording was.

You can also look into batch or powershell scripting to seek out files with specific created times and deleting them at the filesystem level. I don’t know how feasible that is, just thinking out loud.

Last edited by wnjj; 12-20-2019 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2019, 05:40 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,041
If you are manually recording files that are 2 minutes long, those must be very small files. Much smaller than any other legitimate recordings. Why not set up a recurring script in the OS that deletes all files smaller than x in your recording directory?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2019, 06:17 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Deleting files won't delete them out of the Sage recording list though will it?

Yes, a code update to do a separate wakeup IR code would be great!

I did try the 2x tune option in the USB-UIRT, but not 3x. I will try that next.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2019, 10:06 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I have a CableTV tuner attached to my HDPVR for recording CableTV shows.

It decides it wants to either go to sleep or have a screensaver after about 6 hours of unuse. If I wake it up before a scheduled recording, it will record my nightly shows just fine. I can't of course always be home to wake it up manually.

If I use my USB-UIRT to change the channel when it is "not ready", not all the digits work and it ends up on some other channel. The second time it is fine. No amount of fiddling with the Channel Change Prefix Code or Channel Change Confirm Code within the tuner setup seems to work.

I looked for some bogus show to record on a cable channel that was the same every day and nothing exists. The NEWS does, but that doesn't use this tuner. It's relegated to the traditionally Extended Cable channels on the upper range. My second fix is to do a manual recording every night from 7:24pm to 7:26pm. 2 minutes. It's hilarious what channel actually gets recorded, but that is irrelevant. I simply delete the recordings as the pile up.

But that is the issue. It's a manual recording and therefore has no options to limit the number of them I record, like in a Favorite. Does anyone know of a plugin or other mechanism where I can automatically delete these recordings each day or week? I call upon the Sage Gods for assistance.

(PS. The long winded explanation of what & why I'm doing this will hopefully trigger more elegant ideas to my dilemma too!)
Is this Cox by chance? My solution was to set up three, daily favorites, all news, all the same channel, which skirts the six-hour timeout. The problem with Cox box is that they auto-change the box channel to a barker channel, which messes Sage up. Any remote command to the box will avert the timeout - mute, volume up/down, guide info, channel change, etc. A Sage plug-in for this would be great, call it Set Top Box Wakeup.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2019, 10:32 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I had Cox but moved to WOW. Same problem basically.

I use an antenna for broadcast channels and my HDPVR-->USB-UIRT-->Tuner for all other Cable channels. The problem is there is no recurring daily show on the higher cable channels unlike NEWS on ABC, CBS etc.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2019, 10:37 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I had Cox but moved to WOW. Same problem basically.

I use an antenna for broadcast channels and my HDPVR-->USB-UIRT-->Tuner for all other Cable channels. The problem is there is no recurring daily show on the higher cable channels unlike NEWS on ABC, CBS etc.
Why are the ‘higher’ channels of interest with WOW? With Cox, those higher channels are the ones which timeout, due to bandwidth limitations according to Cox (switched digital), hence, if your box is sitting on a switched digital channel for more than six hours, Cox switches to save bandwidth (seems hokey to me).
So the favorite I set up is on a lower, non switched digital channel, which so far doesn’t cause the box to timeout after six hours if left sitting on said channel.
What about PBS - or CPAC, or a shopping channel - they have regular, same-time programming.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2019, 11:28 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is online now
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
Deleting files won't delete them out of the Sage recording list though will it?
It's been a while since I tested this, but I believe that the next time Sage runs a media scan it should remove the deleted recordings from the recordings list. You can adjust the frequency if needed.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2019, 03:10 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
Deleting files won't delete them out of the Sage recording list though will it?
It depends on the file-system and the drive to some extent.

My experience on windows is typically that Sage will immediately detect the file was deleted(probably due to FileSystem update event), and remove it from the recordings list. (So long as the entire directory didn't disappear)

But in the event that Sage didn't detect the file being deleted, the next library scan should be able to correct the situation. (So long as the directory the recording was in still exists)

The only time it will keep a recording it cannot find in the programming list is in the event that the recording directory it is in cannot be accessed, as it assumes that was a drive(/network) failure and preserves the data in event you recover the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-20-2019, 05:04 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,857
I’ve never needed to worry about this with my cable provider, but I’m pretty sure there was a “STB keep alive” plugin for Sage at one time. Is it no longer there or doesn’t it work?
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-20-2019, 05:26 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I've never deleted a file from the recording directory without doing it through Sage. I didn't realize it wouldn't corrupt the wiz.bin or some database. But if that's the case, I can certainly setup a program outside of Sage to delete the files.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-05-2020, 06:13 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Poking around the Web, it appears there is an usbuirtsend.exe program somewhere, but I can't find it. Does anyone have it? I wonder if it would help me with my cause.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-05-2020, 06:45 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
I don't know about the exe that you posted, but I use an executable called uutx.exe to send commands to my USB-UIRT with a windows command file.

For example, I have this syntax in a command file:

echo on
title Power Cycle Xbox
c:\utility\code\uutx -fwmcremote.txt info
TIMEOUT /T 1
c:\utility\code\uutx -fwmcremote.txt power
TIMEOUT /T 10
c:\utility\code\uutx -fwmcremote.txt info
TIMEOUT /T 1
c:\utility\code\uutx -fwmcremote.txt power
TIMEOUT /T 10

That calls the wmcremote.txt file with this:

; Format: <IRCodeName> <IRCode>
power 0000 0072 0000 0022 0060 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0021 0030 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0020 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0021 0010 0011 0010 09E6
info 0000 0072 0000 0021 0060 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0021 0030 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0020 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 09F3

that reboots an Xbox. As I recall, I used the USB-UIRT learn helper to get that code.

www.usbuirt.com/lrnhelper_0_0_2.zip
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-05-2020, 07:07 PM
JustFred JustFred is online now
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I don't know about the exe that you posted, but I use an executable called uutx.exe to send commands to my USB-UIRT with a windows command file.
The uutx.exe command-line utility and info can be found by searching the forum postings on the usbuirt website. The download is available here.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-05-2020, 07:27 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I think that will do the trick! I'll play with it a bit. Thanks.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renaming Manual recordings Jimmy Rivers SageTV Software 1 09-01-2008 11:07 PM
SageTV Recordings only show favorites not manual recordings falltime SageTV Software 2 03-21-2006 04:07 PM
STV 2.1 deleted all manual recordings!? luckya SageTV Software 9 12-24-2004 02:58 AM
Manual Recordings how? silkshadow SageTV Software 2 12-12-2004 11:42 PM
Manual Recordings edmc SageTV Software 11 03-27-2003 01:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.