SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2012, 08:38 PM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
EPG Missing (No Data)

It looks like my SageTV EPG is no longer updating. SageTV says it is updating my EPG data but I am not actually getting any new data past 17 February for any of my channels. I have tried the normal EPG updating activities (force update, edit properties), and it looks like the data has stopped updating from 17 February at 5:00pm MST for me. Zap2It has 3 more days of data than I get. Mine stops on the 17th (10 days), Zap2It stops on the 20th (13 days - the normal amount I have gotten for years). Could this be related to the recent EPG server issue? Is anyone else seeing this issue?
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2012, 08:13 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Just checked mine and I have data through the 20th. Sage's last EPG update was last night @ 8pm Eastern.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2012, 08:43 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Just checked mine and I have data through the 20th. Sage's last EPG update was last night @ 8pm Eastern.
Same for me, got data thru the 20th.

Any changes to your Sage Server or network? i.e. new firewall rules/changes which may be blocking the port for EPG update?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2012, 08:28 PM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
There have been no changes to the server or the network, but it looks like whatever needed to sync up, finally did. After 4 days of automatic updates that did not download new data, after 2 server restarts a day apart, after a forced update, after a forced update by removing the entries from the properties file, and after one more forced update I finally got the missing data. Every so often I do not get an automatic update, but it catches up the next day. I have never seen it go 4 days without downloading data without an EPG issue. Strange. Oh well, it looks like I am back in business now. Thanks.
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2012, 11:36 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 245
Something suspicious must be going on somewhere.

I arrived home last night from work and found that I had almost no scheduled recordings for the next few days. The root cause was a massive case of NO DATA across all channels in the program guide.

Unfortunately, the only thing that seems to work is through the individual channel delete | re-add, and even then the data for the channel does not always come back.

Using the web interface's button to force a guide update did not seem to have much of an effect. Neither did a reboot.

This morning, before leaving for work, I saw that I am about 90 - 95% back. I may have more work to do tonight.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2012, 12:26 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,220
Since I use SJQ, I have a script that runs daily that checks for NO DATA for the next 7 days and does a RED (Critical) System Message if found for any channels. Did that after that last big snafu with the EPG Server.

Attached script for any that wish it. Changed from .groovy to .txt to get around upload filters
Attached Files
File Type: txt EPG_NoData_Check.txt (2.0 KB, 158 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:11 AM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Since I use SJQ, I have a script that runs daily that checks for NO DATA for the next 7 days and does a RED (Critical) System Message if found for any channels. Did that after that last big snafu with the EPG Server.

Attached script for any that wish it. Changed from .groovy to .txt to get around upload filters
graywolf, that sounds like a good idea with the issues that have popped up with EPG since the acquisition. I would like to give that a try, but I never have upgraded from SQJv3 to SQJv4. Mine has worked great for me so I went with "if not broke, don't fix it." But, with the interesting groovy scripts out there it looks like I should take the plunge and upgrade. Thanks for the script.
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:41 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
I just noticed I am having the same problem. I'd say at least half of my channels are showing no data. Has anyone figure out a solution? Should I delete my tuners and then add them back or just wait and hope the data eventually comes back?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:54 PM
jbbtex jbbtex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
Mine too. Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:12 PM
Danielc2 Danielc2 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 5
I'm having the same problem as of today.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:21 PM
cjr950 cjr950 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
EPG (No Data)

I have the same problem with No Data in most of my channels. Just noticed today (Feb 14) but it appears as though this may have been a problem for a few days now.
__________________
CJR
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:27 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Confirmed... starts at 7pm Eastern on the 27th.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:32 PM
Danielc2 Danielc2 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 5
I deleted my video sources and set them up again. After I did that all of my EPG data was back.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:02 PM
BigMac BigMac is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California San Jose
Posts: 39
I think I know what groovey is but what is SQJv3 and SQJv4 and how can I jump on this train. I just noticed that I was missing today's EPG. Yesterday and tomorrow are fine.

I too like the idea of an alert for future No Data issues. Where do I go to learn more about implementing that script.


Bigmac
__________________
Headless Server: SageTV V7.1.9.256, Homeseer3, HSTouch, Win 7 Pro (64Bit) Intel i3 3.30Ghz, 4G Ram, 8Tbyes,
2 HDHomeRun Primes/SageDCT 2.7.2 and 1 HDPVR (Total of 7 tuners), Intel 1Gb Nic
Client1: Win7 Pro (64bit), Q9450, 2G Ram, 700G of storage, MS DTV-DVD Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Ac3Filter, EVR, LG HD DVD R/W, EN8600GT to HP 50" Plasma
Client2: Win7 Pro (64bit), Intel Quad Q9650 3.00GHz, 8G Ram, Test/Work/Gaming system.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-15-2012, 04:32 AM
rsteele rsteele is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielc2 View Post
I deleted my video sources and set them up again. After I did that all of my EPG data was back.
I ended up doing the same and this seemed to be the only thing that go my data back again. This actually happened once before too, maybe six months ago, and I resorted to the same solution.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:29 AM
FJC FJC is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 44
I ran into this problem yesterday, too. Sage missed recording all my 8pm and 9pm shows due to it.

I did the "delete some lines in Sage.Properties" then forced an EPG update and it started pulling data down again, but I'm certainly worried this is going to happen again.
__________________
--FJC
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:53 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMac View Post
I think I know what groovey is but what is SQJv3 and SQJv4 and how can I jump on this train. I just noticed that I was missing today's EPG. Yesterday and tomorrow are fine.

I too like the idea of an alert for future No Data issues. Where do I go to learn more about implementing that script.


Bigmac
SJQv4 thread (which supports groovy scripts) is located here http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52941

Excellent plugin by Slugger (as all of them are).
Another related plugin would be his EPG plugin (haven't used it yet) which is located here http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57265

You can also read more here http://code.google.com/p/sagetv-addons/
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:25 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
There are no major EPG server issues over the past few days that I'm aware of so far. If you simply did not get any new EPG data on Monday or maybe even Tuesday, that isn't unexpected (happens every week) & it should update today. This would only affect days that are 9-10+ days into the future.

If you were actually missing data for days nearer than that, such as yesterday & today, then that might be related to an EPG server glitch that only affected some people back around Feb 1. That can be repaired by this FAQ, particularly:

Quote:
Close down SageTV and the service and open up your Sage.properties file. Try removing all the properties from the that file that have the string 'server_update_id' or 'expanded_until' in them. Now run SageTV again.
When there are multiple lineups, don't forget that there are multiple properties using the two names to be removed.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:39 AM
aweber1nj aweber1nj is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 139
No Data Today

I know I had (at least partial) EPG data yesterday, because I noticed the show info on-screen when changing channels.

But this morning, I had No Data when I hit "Live TV", and then checked the Programming Guide and everywhere I could see it was also No Data.

I'm trying OPUS's edit/fix and will report back.

-AJ
__________________
"A CPU is a terrible thing to waste."
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:02 AM
aweber1nj aweber1nj is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 139
The edit-properties fix worked perfectly.

Would love to know why that happened to all of us, but the workaround is very good.

Thanks,
AJ
__________________
"A CPU is a terrible thing to waste."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPG data missing for 2 days - V6.6 Rezolution SageTV EPG Service 3 12-28-2011 01:26 PM
Corrupted video files? Missing data - randomly CHANGING missing data? BlueRidgeMark SageTV Software 31 04-02-2007 04:24 AM
Missing EPG data that I used to have pgitta SageTV EPG Service 3 01-25-2007 09:37 AM
EPG missing data on SOME channels Stuntman SageTV EPG Service 2 12-04-2005 10:55 PM
Help! EPG data missing! FamilyMan SageTV Beta Test Software 14 03-16-2004 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.