SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What are you currently using for PVR/DVR Functionality?
Still using SageTV 188 90.38%
MediaPortal 3 1.44%
Microsoft MCE 3 1.44%
XMBC 2 0.96%
MythTV 0 0%
NextPVR/GBPVR 1 0.48%
My cable/sat provider solution (DVR) 5 2.40%
Other (Please specify) 6 2.88%
Voters: 208. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2012, 10:58 AM
CanadianEh CanadianEh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 433
What PVR/DVR are you using today?

Hey guys,

It's been a little over nine months since SageTV ceased development of their product, and selling new licenses. Due to the fact that I needed additional client licenses, I decided to move away from SageTV and switch to MediaPortal. I still check in here, from time to time, to see if Sage/Google releases an update to their software.

Anyway, I'm curious how many others still check out the SageTV boards on a routine basis, and what they are currently using for PDR/DVR functionality - so I've put together this pretty simple poll. I think it would be interesting to see what we have all done over the past 9 months
__________________
My systems:
Server: AMD Phenom Quad-Core 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, ECS A780GM-A MB, 2x HD-PVRs (connected to DirecTV HD STBs using ethernet channel changing), 1x AverMedia A180, OS RAID-1 mirror - 2x250GB 7200rpm SATA, Media RAID-1 mirror - 2x1TB 7200rpm SATA, USB-UIRT (remote control)
Main Client: Sage STX-HD100 Media extender
Second Client: Athlon XP 4000+, 2GB MB PC3200 DDR, Asus A8N5X MB, 512MB PCI-E ATI HD Radeon 3650, 160 GB SATA - hardware mirrored
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2012, 11:04 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I would rather reimage/reinstall a client running in trial more every 20 days than switch to MediaPortal (or pretty much anything else for that matter).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2012, 01:41 PM
jbrandon's Avatar
jbrandon jbrandon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gladstone, MO
Posts: 153
After looking at the options I couldn't agree more...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I would rather reimage/reinstall a client running in trial more every 20 days than switch to MediaPortal (or pretty much anything else for that matter).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2012, 02:28 PM
CanadianEh CanadianEh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 433
I will agree after personally looking at many of these options. I do have to say I'm somewhat pleased with MediaPortal, however it's a give-and-take between MP and Sage as far as features are concerned.
__________________
My systems:
Server: AMD Phenom Quad-Core 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, ECS A780GM-A MB, 2x HD-PVRs (connected to DirecTV HD STBs using ethernet channel changing), 1x AverMedia A180, OS RAID-1 mirror - 2x250GB 7200rpm SATA, Media RAID-1 mirror - 2x1TB 7200rpm SATA, USB-UIRT (remote control)
Main Client: Sage STX-HD100 Media extender
Second Client: Athlon XP 4000+, 2GB MB PC3200 DDR, Asus A8N5X MB, 512MB PCI-E ATI HD Radeon 3650, 160 GB SATA - hardware mirrored
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:00 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
I'm still using SageTV. It seems to be taking forever for Google to do anything with GoogleTV. Maybe Apple will improve their lousy AppleTV before Google improves their lousy GoogleTV.

If one of my HD-200s breaks, I would have to image back to a pre-SageTV client status, then install the client trial again, every 20 days. But I wouldn't do it manually. I would automate the whole process, so it occurs every 20 days, overnight while I sleep. Then from my perspective, the trial client would work forever without any hassles. If SageTV or Google ever opens the store again, I would buy client licenses in a heartbeat.

It sure looks like we'll have to wait for years for any viable replacement for SageTV to be offered.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:19 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Still mainly using BeyondTV with my addon to handle Firewire recordings...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:19 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Im currently still using sage but have gotten a bug lately that i want to play...so

I have been playing with mediaportal, NextPVR, and the illusive MythTV. I have to say myth has come a long way and isn't nearly as impossible to install and setup as it once was.

I think I am going to get myth under ubuntu up and running in virtualbox, and then get a network boot going on another machine. I LOVE the idea of 1 image sitting on the server ready to go for any client to connect to and consume. it will take some work to setup, but doesn't look impopssible..

Silent front end with no disk, network booting mythtv seems really cool to me.

thats what im doing as of most recent
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:34 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Im currently still using sage but have gotten a bug lately that i want to play...so

I have been playing with mediaportal, NextPVR, and the illusive MythTV. I have to say myth has come a long way and isn't nearly as impossible to install and setup as it once was.

I think I am going to get myth under ubuntu up and running in virtualbox, and then get a network boot going on another machine. I LOVE the idea of 1 image sitting on the server ready to go for any client to connect to and consume. it will take some work to setup, but doesn't look impopssible..

Silent front end with no disk, network booting mythtv seems really cool to me.

thats what im doing as of most recent
To be fair, you can network boot windows/sagetvclient as well...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:37 PM
CanadianEh CanadianEh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 433
Pix, I find that interesting. I set up MythTV back before I found SageTV (~2004), but taking a look at their site and the fact that it's not a Windows-based system, I fear incompatibility with stuff like Hulu, Youtube, Netflix and other online types of integrations. I'm curious to hear how you make out with it.

Also, I want my client PCs to be Windows-based....
__________________
My systems:
Server: AMD Phenom Quad-Core 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, ECS A780GM-A MB, 2x HD-PVRs (connected to DirecTV HD STBs using ethernet channel changing), 1x AverMedia A180, OS RAID-1 mirror - 2x250GB 7200rpm SATA, Media RAID-1 mirror - 2x1TB 7200rpm SATA, USB-UIRT (remote control)
Main Client: Sage STX-HD100 Media extender
Second Client: Athlon XP 4000+, 2GB MB PC3200 DDR, Asus A8N5X MB, 512MB PCI-E ATI HD Radeon 3650, 160 GB SATA - hardware mirrored
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:03 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
Not to be rude, but a poll about what DVR/PVR solutions people are using on a SageTV forum is not going to give you any data that means anything. Just a tad bit biased don't you think?

Last edited by simonen; 03-25-2012 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2012, 07:02 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianEh View Post
Pix, I find that interesting. I set up MythTV back before I found SageTV (~2004), but taking a look at their site and the fact that it's not a Windows-based system, I fear incompatibility with stuff like Hulu, Youtube, Netflix and other online types of integrations. I'm curious to hear how you make out with it.

Also, I want my client PCs to be Windows-based....
Myth isn't for u then for sure. For windows based, I'd look at NextPVR or media portal. IMO each has pros and each has cons when compared directly to SageTV...unfortunately this is what we are left with. I have low hopes for the sagetv google offspring, but that's just me

Fuzzy - yes this is true,
But being that I have 1 windows client license, and the way that sage only allows u to use a single client license 1 at a time I'm kinda screwed with that. I have plenty of extenders and such for my tvs, but just looking at something new. Sage plugin debs is dying, and while my system is awesome and stable it doesn't mean I can't play :-D

CanadianEh - I don't have Netflix, don't much care about YouTube or Hulu. I have read that these things are doable in myth though... I can't give nymore info cause I don't know anything about e solutisosn sorry. The new xbmc looks kinda cool also and that is def multi platform and supports everything u mentioned. Ia don't know if they have a stable dvr branch yet, but have heard and read many times that it is in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2012, 09:41 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Fuzzy - yes this is true,
But being that I have 1 windows client license, and the way that sage only allows u to use a single client license 1 at a time I'm kinda screwed with that. I have plenty of extenders and such for my tvs, but just looking at something new. Sage plugin debs is dying, and while my system is awesome and stable it doesn't mean I can't play :-D
Refer to my earlier post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I would rather reimage/reinstall a client running in trial more every 20 days than switch to MediaPortal (or pretty much anything else for that matter).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:17 AM
willplaice willplaice is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 83
Guys,

I'm also looking at all these options, as i'd just like something that has a better UI than sage,

I really like the extenders, and so there's nothing out there i can find that can replace sage, which is a shame, mediaportal v2 might get there, but i'd have to use a pc or a boxee or similar as a client, which sucks.

i'm hoping that the "new" sage is an android app / client type setup with an overhaul to the backend.


i guess i can hope can't I.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:53 AM
Bagal Bagal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 182
I'm still using Sage and can't see myself switching until either my HD300s die or something better comes along.

I used to be a MediaPortal user and while I loved it, setting up multiple clients to playback everything flawlessly and keeping it all up to date was a PITA. Honestly, I can't see myself choosing another solution that doesn't have hardware extenders as they make life so simple, I just wish I'd chosen Sage when I first tried it many years ago but unfortunately it lost the WAF test to MediaPortal due to the UI and cost (though one could argue MP cost me more in the long run due to all the time I spent on it...)
__________________
Server: Win7 64bit; i5 2500; 32GB ram; Blackgold BGT3595; 18TB + 120GB SSD; Edgestore DAS401T; DVBLink; Oscam; Omnikey 3121
Lounge Client: HD300; Yamaha RX-V765 connected to 55" Furrion 1080p LCD; Logitech Harmony One remote
Kitchen: HD300 32" LCD, Bed 1: HD300 - 40" LCD, Bed 2: HD300 - 24" LCD, Bed 3: HD300 - 22" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:50 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
I am using NextPVR with multiple PC clients but am regretting selling my HD300s. I hope that something with similar capabilities comes along soon...
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:46 AM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
I've got two HD100s. One hardly works at all. I may try to replace the capacitors on that one. The one that works - I did replace capacitors (2 of the 3).

I've got one HD300. It locks up horribly if the weather outside is over 78 degrees. I've put a fan under it, but it doesn't really help. I may try to replace capacitors on that, or I may end up selling it as is.

I've got 2 client licenses. Up until yesterday, I had one of the client licenses connected in my media room. Not anymore. I still have plenty of Hauppauge MVPs (I've got 3 in use today).

In my media room, I replaced the PC client with a Sony SMP N200 streaming media box - and I couldn't be happier.

I'm using Serviio (free) on my sage server as my DLNA Server and it's working great with the Sony N200. While I don't have meta data with the Sony box, it has organized all my TV (archived & ripped TV, along with recorded TV) into nice Series folders and it's done a fairly decent job of creating Genres for my movies. However, I can also browse my movie folders and browse my sage recording directories just fine with the Sony Box.

This sony box is faster than the HD300 (by a large margin) and probably faster and definitely easier to use than the PC Client. And now Vudu HD & HDX work since I'm no longer on a PC. The only thing I don't have with this is live TV (if that was really important, I could use Nero Home Media and setup a tuner to be used for live TV - but it's not important).

On my other main TV, I have the HD100, and I think I actually prefer the Sony box. I have no problem using a PC to setup my recordings. I guess the only downside to using something like this is it can be a bit of a pain to have to use a PC to delete recordings (although using an iPad or something else with the web interface would be fine).

Obviously this won't work for everyone, but for me, I'm quite happy with this setup.

(and there was a reason I went with the Sony box. The main thing is I needed both component video and optical audio from the same box. I was limited to either the WD Live Hub Plus or the Sony N100 or N200. I imagine the experience would be so much better if you could use a roku (with plex) or a boxee box)

As long as I can get EPG data, I'm good.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-26-2012, 09:02 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Still happily using Sagetv full time, but got nervous last summer and added a backup Shaw Gateway (Arris based hardware, same as Bend Broadband Alpha),

- 6 HD Tuner
- MPEG4, 3D
- DLNA in the works for Videos/Photos/Music
- Ipad/Iphone App in the works
- The Gateway has 500GB internal storage and 4TB Raid esata storage (home brew addon)
- 3 Portals (up to a max of 6) can access all recordings on Gateway
- No commerical skipping, and I can tell you that we hate pressing buttons to skip after being spoiled for so many years....

Funny thing is that Sagetv has actually been more stable than the cable co solution as far as stability and features as they are always finding bugs and working on fixes.

As long as Sagetv keeps working it will be used.

J
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:59 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Refer to my earlier post:
That's fine and u can. I would not like to repeatedly do that. To each his/her own

As to canadianeh

Still using sage and check in several times a day here.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:58 AM
bunch92 bunch92 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France / UK
Posts: 335
Still using SageTV as it is still very stable , I even added a 2To drive lately to my system as I was running out of disk space.
__________________
Server : Asus M4A79XTD Evo / AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.2GHz / 4Gb RAM / Win 10 64-bit / Cinergy 2400iDT (French Freeview - TNT) / 2 * Hauppauge NOVA-HD-S2 (UK Sky) / TT CT-3650 CI / HDD : 4.5 To / Sage V7 / XMLTV Importer / EPG from WebGrabPlus+/ LM DVB Recorder for all tuners / 2 Clients : STP-HD300
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:44 PM
macsupergeek macsupergeek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 161
I would say the Ceton Q and Echo maybe the next real DVR solution to rival SageTV. I might go with the Echos to replace my extender's and then they would connect back to my current sage server just running windows media center, just waiting to see the price point. Only downside I can see is loosing my Playon capabilities and netflix/hulu/pandora integration, but then I was thinking that I could also drop a roku 2 box at every tv and that would also give me HBO GO.
__________________
SERVER: Dual Core Xeon 3.0GHz 5160, 8gb RAM, Win7 x64, SageTV 9.0.13.536 w/ BMT, WebUI, OpenDCT, Java 1.70_79
TUNERS: 2 x Ceton PCIe InfinitiTV - FIOS
STORAGE: UNRAID - 8tb for archived shows, DVDs, pictures and music
CLIENTS: 2 x HD200s, 2 x HD300
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Today gatorwes SageMC Custom Interface 19 01-21-2010 07:00 PM
Got my new Hd200's today. traker1001 SageTV Media Extender 1 10-27-2009 05:05 PM
2.0.16 Today? JasonJoel SageTV Beta Test Software 30 04-15-2004 06:29 AM
.16 today? GbrNole SageTV Beta Test Software 11 04-02-2004 09:58 PM
SageTV 2 Today? kevthor SageTV Beta Test Software 88 01-24-2004 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.