SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2020, 03:43 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 407
HD-300 suddenly cannot play any video

My HD-300 connects to the server, and shows the UI normally.

Any playback, live or previously recorded H.264 from HDPVR or MPEG from HDHR, results in a black screen.

Playing back a show that was previously partially viewed, and saying resume, causes the time marker to jump to zero and not respond to FF.


When I play MPEG content from the SageTV server's Saget TV UI it works. When I play H.264 content from the SageTV server's Saget TV UI, it fails. The entire from the SageTV server's Saget TV UI closes. I'm not sure if that is related to the HD300 issue.

Any suggestions on what to check?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2020, 06:08 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Have you restarted the server?
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2020, 08:41 PM
dannylogi dannylogi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 16
I've had this happen numerous times and power cycling the server (and the HD-300 for good measure) resolved the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2020, 12:59 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 315
When this has happened to me, I had to hard power cycle the HD300. Actually remove the power plug, wait a few seconds, and plug it back it. That usually resolves the issue. I normally don't need to restart the server.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2020, 08:45 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 407
@jpwegas, Thanks! The power cycle by unplugging fixed the HD-300. I had powered it off with the remote, but clearly that is not sufficient.

I still have the problem with the UI on the server computer closing immediately if I play any H.264 video.

Does anyone know of a fix for that issue?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2020, 08:55 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,164
Post a log file from the server after the failed playback attempt. If youíre running the server as a service, you need sageclient_0.txt. Otherwise itís sagetv_0.txt.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2020, 07:08 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
@jpwegas, Thanks! The power cycle by unplugging fixed the HD-300. I had powered it off with the remote, but clearly that is not sufficient.

I still have the problem with the UI on the server computer closing immediately if I play any H.264 video.

Does anyone know of a fix for that issue?
Sorry I figured you had tried unplugging it first. Power cycling with the remote only turns off the display but the extender is still running. The only way to turn off an extender is to unplug the power from it. I always start with that first and then cycle the server if that doesn't work first.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 01:16 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Post a log file from the server after the failed playback attempt. If youíre running the server as a service, you need sageclient_0.txt. Otherwise itís sagetv_0.txt.
@wnjj, thanks for the tip. Server is a service, so here is the end of sageclient_0.txt. I started the client, tried to play the video, and it shut down. All within a minute or so, but the file is 2000 lines and 500K, so not ideal to post as Code here.

Here is a link to the log

I scanned through it, and nothing jumps out as an issue. I see the Weather plugin has some failures, but that probably isn't related.

Do you see any clues?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 04:24 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
@wnjj, thanks for the tip. Server is a service, so here is the end of sageclient_0.txt. I started the client, tried to play the video, and it shut down. All within a minute or so, but the file is 2000 lines and 500K, so not ideal to post as Code here.

Here is a link to the log

I scanned through it, and nothing jumps out as an issue. I see the Weather plugin has some failures, but that probably isn't related.

Do you see any clues?
It looks like it crashes right after rendervideo step 1. Since it’s likely crashing within native code, can you see if there is an “hs_err_pid*” file there with an update time from the crash? Those are log files from when native code crashes the JVM. Post it if you have one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Yesterday, 04:34 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,164
Also, have you tried changing any of the video settings like decoder or renderer? Are your video drivers up to date?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My extender suddenly can't play videos freewheeling SageTV Media Extender 32 09-05-2010 06:39 PM
suddenly, playback client quits if trying to play HDPVR recordings?!? ryanroat SageTV Software 5 03-27-2009 12:13 PM
Video file formats SageTV can use to play video DMBinbc SageTV Software 5 06-14-2007 01:10 PM
Suddenly MP3's don't play... travisbell SageTV Beta Test Software 9 03-09-2007 06:24 PM
No Video or Audio Suddenly paulr SageTV Software 1 03-16-2005 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.